We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Tiberio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #263 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights at the beginning of March. The hotel is lovely and rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. The lady on reception was very helpful at check in and helped us with public transport information. There is also a free shuttle bus to the town centre or vatican but I would recommend booking in advance as space is limited.

The buffet style continental breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and perfect for setting you up for a day exploring. I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as it was a bit outside my budget but the staff recommended other places nearby which were fine.

The hotel is out of the centre but close to a bus station and metro, and of course there is the free shuttle bus. We had a Roma Pass so it was easy to use the bus and metro but if you buy tickets on a day by day basis you need to validate them by putting them in the yellow boxes on the buses. There is also a small supermarket near the bus stop, just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

The only problem we had was finding it after arriving at the main train station in Rome. This wasn't a fault with the hotel but the man on the tourist information desk at the train station could have been a bit more helpful! I would recommend researching transport options and printing your own maps of the area before arriving rather than relying on the tourist information staff. You will need a ticket before boarding the bus as you can't buy on board. Once we spoke to the receptionist at the hotel though we didn't have a problem with public transport and found it easy to get around - the tourist information staff could learn a lot from her!

Overall it is a very comfortable and welcoming base for exploring Rome and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    401
    169
    54
    40
See reviews for
300
321
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

pros:staff, especially umberto and morning shuttle driver and young female brunettes at desk, clean, free shuttle downtown or vatican, breakfast, close to market,atm, bus stop, metro stop, train stop, tobacco shop for tickets; refrigerator, hairdryer, rooftop,lobby,restaurant servers, fixed odor from sink drain asap, wifi free, female desk clerk arranged fixed price to airport at 5am for 65 euros for 4 people, weather last week in feb. was perfect, no rain, 65 high every day
Cons: good mattress but very firm, restaurant food, rude checkout with African male, no free shuttle on sunday, only one shuttle pickup time at 6 pm, server disconnects at peak times and new password needed frequently, shuttle fills up quickly for free trips,

Room Tip: Room 109 fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeka526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed one night for the Six Nations Rugby 2012 with friends. The hotel was chosen because it had a 4 star rating and to be fair if I was only to judge the rooms then that is a good reflection of the standard.

Room were clean and well equipped, staff in reception friendly and even tho it is a way out from the city centre it is fairly easy to get to and from attractions. The hotel has a shuttle bus (mon-sat), 10 min walk to metro and only 10 Euro in a taxi.

But my impression was spoiled by the resturant. We had lunch there and it was hiddious! My husband oredered tagliatelle with wild mushrooms, but got served tagliatelle with tinned mushroom soup (yes, I swear it is true)! Below par and not what you expect in Italy... My club sandwich was dry, with chewy chicken (frozen, not fresh), horrible bacon and a bad excuse for a lettuce leaf thrown on top. I had to ask for mayo (even tho it read on the menu), and got a simple sachet of the sort. To wash it all down we had a small Peroni each. I could accept this if it had been a 2 star cheap and cheerful pleace, but not in a 4 star establishment. And the price: 60 Euro!!! Service: Horrible and grumpy old waiter, nothing done to please his customers, not even a thank you or a smile. Ruined the start of our day...

So spend your money closer to the centre, cause this is not worth what they charge!! And then you can always pop out for dinner...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaBlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
I’m sorry you did not enjoy the lunch, I just want to say that the price you paid for the lunch, 60,00 euro is not expensive, in that bill there is 8 bears (not 1 each), and each bear cost 5,00 euro, (so 40,00 euro is just for the bears) and then 9.90 for the Tagliatelle and 9.90 for the sandwich which is a really good price for hotel and restaurants in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I booked this hotel room through a travel agent I liked that the hotel was off the beaten track so we got to see non touristy areas which my husband and I love to see. It was easy to walk to the Vatican and the hotel staff was helpful. The rooms where simple nothing fancy bathroom a good size reminded me of staying at a comfort inn. Breakfast wasn't my favorite, variety was fine wasn't anything special in a very special city. They need to step it up a notch otherthan that didn't have a problem with a thing

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertzlyoa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Me and my newlywed decided to go to Rome for a honeymoon. We found a deal for 4 nights in the Tiberio, without knowing much more. When we arrived we saw a very nice hotel (compared to others in Rome, from what we looked at) - but at a place that seemed far from the city center. It was, indeed, a bit far, but after eating Pizza & Pasta there's nothing better to do than a walk back. The hotel seemed clean and comfortable, and the room was nice as well with a big window and a comfortable bed. The main attraction, for us, was Umberto, the night clerk at the desk, that was very nice, helpful, and charming. The minute he found out it was our honeymoon he sent us a big bottle of wine to the room, on the house. The following day (Seeing as we didn't want to drink) we decided to send the bottle back. When he heard about it, he said that he'd find something to suit us. He sent us a charming fruit & candy basket, and we simply fell in love. All in all our stay was very nice, we can definitely recommend it. Downside - location, but although it's a bit far from the city center, it's pretty close to the Vatican, and well worth the quick drive. Make sure to know your way back though, because it is somewhat in a back street (we enjoyed the walk but got pretty tired on the way back, luckily we had a map). We ate once in the hotel restaurant in the evening (first night) and didn't do it again. Expensive and not well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomaiathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked via late rooms and their was some confusion with the room. We are a family of 4, children 14 and 9. So on laterooms I entered 3 adults 1 child (with age). Late rooms offered me a "triple classic". I assumed this was 1 double & two singles. What I didnt know was that in Rome a child of less than 12 can bed share with parents for no extra cost. So that meant there was only a double and a small camp bed sized single in the room. Not good for my big boys. Anyhow after the initial confusion, the manager offered us an upgrade at reduced cost. The next room was really great! It had a huge double (about 7ft) and a sofa bed in one room and a second sofa bed in a side room. We were all very happy with this lay out!. The room had a really high ceiling and was nicely decoarated with a decent amount of storage.

Good:

The evening restaurant staff were excellent and we enjoyed the meals. There was a huge choice and the food was of excellent quality. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpfull. 12pm checkout time good too. Free wi fi.


Could do better:

Hotel shuttle is a people carrier & as a family of 4 we were unable to book it during the stay as it was always booked up or only 1 or 2 free spaces. I think a bigger mini bus would be better as the majority of the people staying in the hotel would not have been able to catch the shuttle. We ended up getting taxis which was fine but there was additional costs!

This is the big point for me,

The breakfast was disappointing! It is winter so were like to have a cooked breakfast however there were only 2 hot items (bacon & scrambled eggs). Also the fruit selection consisted of tinned prunes, tinned pineapple and tinned peaches. Nothing fresh at all! There was a good selection of pastries though. Basically the breakfast was 2 star which pulled my overall review down to a 3. Otherwise I would have given it a 4!

Room Tip: Make sure if booking with a child you get a room with enough beds! Check my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Single lady travelling.

Excellent location for Appiano metro train, 990 bus and free hotel shuttle was great too

Lovely food, bar, terrace, wifi and the rooms were good

Helpful and friendly. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebble191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#317 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#629 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#42 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Property: Grand Hotel Tiberio
Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing