We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #54 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

On arrival the hotel was stunning with a very friendly welcome and thorough check-in. We were personally escorted to our room, provided with all the details about the hotel and left to enjoy an excellent stay. Staff were always very happy to help with any queries we had and spoke very good English. Diran (the Lobby barman) is a great guy and made lush cocktails - highly recommended! Room was lovely - deep bath, lots of complementary toiletries, mini-bar, good tv, nice lightling, very comfy bed! Breakfast was good - usual continental style plus scrambled eggs and bacon, cereals, fresh fruit and champagne! Breakfast room overlooked a gorgeous looking swimming pool and garden terrace. Hotel was about a 25min walk (or 5 min courtesy mini-bus) away from Piazza de Spagna. We used the mini-bus throughout our stay as it was raining most of the time, which saved us a lot of money in taxi fares. Chauffeurs were always friendly and helpful. We had an absolutely fantastic time during our visit to Rome and the Aldrovandi Hotel was the cherry on the cake - superb!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    243
    106
    48
    23
See reviews for
240
695
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is close by the Villa Borghese park, and has a shuttle car every 30 min that l bring you to the Spanish steps. This is also the pick up point when going back to the hotel. The rooms are spacious. We ordered an airport transfer from the hotel which was charged with 100 euros. The taxi back to the airport came on 50 euros. This combination suited us best.
We received an upgrade on the room, which was spacious and delicate. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast was ok. Had however expected more from this hotel - no vegetables, and the musli was crumbled cookies, but the breakfast room was beautiful.
Walking distance to the Museum of Modern Art and the Villa Borghese museum. If you like jogging, bring your gear, because the park is perfect for that.
Perfect hotel in Rome, and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here at the end of March for three night and brought my 80 year old grandmother also - She has always wanted to see the sights of Rome. We arrived to the hotel at 8pm and were greeted by an amazing aroma emanating throughout the hotel. The very helpful reception staff checked us in and brought us up to our room. We have a lovely room on the third floor overlooking the front of th hotel. Although the front of the hotel faces onto the main road, this did not pose a problem to us from a noise perspective. Beware, that like most 5 star hotels in Rome, the food is quite expensive. We had something light the first evening in the Bar and you won't see change from Euro100 for two hamburgers, 2 drinks and two coffees.

The following morning, we awoke to glorious sunshine (unexpected at that time of year- and the reason why the swimming pool was not filled), and went down to the breakfast buffet. To be honest, the breakfast was sufficient (albeit a limited selection, in comparison to what I would previously have experienced from other 5 star hotels) and the staff are more than willing to have eggs etc.. cooked to your liking. Also huge thumbs up for the blood red orange juice!! The hotel run a free shuttle bus (which seats 7/8) every 50 mins to the Spanish Steps. I would advise that you book this the night before as there are limited places. Do the same for the return journey from the Steps. The driver will also give you a card for the hotel in case you get lost and also a map of Rome.

The evening, we had a light dinner of toasted sandwiches and chips (x2), as we had a huge lunch on the Piazza Navona that afternoon. This dinner together with bottled water and a coffee amounted to Euro80. We enjoyed it and the staff were very attentive, but bear in mind the expense.

I would highly recommend dining in the Michelin Restaurant downstairs. The staff are very helpful and food is delicious. The tasting menu's start at Euro 110 to Euro 130, or one can go al a carte.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is located about 10 minutes drive from the Spanish Steps and it is nice to retire to the peace and tranquility, away from the hustle and buslte of the city centre. THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro_FoCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My girfriend and I stayed at the Aldrovandi for 4 nights in early April. Three key words: Friendly, Luxurious and Beautiful. What a fantastic experience! The staff is extraordinarily friendly and service-minded all the way through. The location is superb; quiet and just a stroll through the magnificent Borghese park down to the Spanish steps/Piazza del Popolo. The hotel is beautiful and has a luxerious "boutique touch". Breakfast is wonderful and elegant and the room was very nice with comfortable beds and cleaned twice a day (always nice to come back in the evening to find fresh towels, a pair of slippers in front of the bed and tomorrow's weather forecast).

To give you a understanding of the service level I would like to mention the following episode: Upon arrival we decided to enjoy the sun in the hotel's beautiful garden. The pool area is open from mid April to end of September so the sun beds had not been "prepared". However, the staff quickly arranged towels and pillows for us so that we could relax comfortably. The Hotel Manager, Massimo Mainella, showed up and apologised that the pool area was not "officially" open and offered us free drinks and a beautiful lunch as compensation (!!) That's service!!

I will personally never stay at another hotel in Rome. Truly wonderful!!

Room Tip: Garden view is quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. I was a wonderful memory for us! It's located at the central of Park Borghese with very good enviroments. The service were so sood and we felt so happy. It is not far to the Spanish Steps and the free shuttle bus are provided. We also very much enjoyed the food!

Room Tip: rooms facing the court are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhifang w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at the Aldrovandi sadly for just one night. The way we were received was marvelous. We felt great, so much more after a very long flight. They were expecting us with beautiful rooms and a bottle of wine. It is situated in the middle of the park, surrounded by green lush. And quite near the piazza Spagna by a minivan that runs every half an hour from and to the hotel. Just a 5' trip. Very recomendable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irinadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very nice hotel ,frendly service-minded staff from the doorman,concierge,reception,bar,restaurant,breakfast-staff,houskeeping ,everybody is doing an exellent job.Nice big rooms,very nice bathrooms,lovely breakfast including sparkling wine!We could not try the Michelin star restaurant, we had our baby with us on the visit.
Lovely pool area ,could not try too early not warm enough.
Shuttle service to the Spanish steps every half our ,is a very nice service!!
We will come back next time , to Aldrovandi !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stig56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,256 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing