We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a short stay”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #95 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is a short walk from Termini Station whether you come in from the airport by coach or train. The welcome at the hotel was warm and friendly and loads of infomation was offered with maps and relevant brochures for relevant attractions. Just ask the questions the reception staff were willing to answer and spoke good enough english to give informative answers. There is a small life (1 person/1 case), the room had a double bed but again was very small with a small but fully eqipped bathroom.
The hotel is on a traffic-busy road but don't worry there was NO noise inside the hotel - only the other guests going up and down the stairs. The breakfast was basic but certainly adequate to fill up till lunch.
The location of the hotel I found perfectly adequate for exploring Rome. I took the No40 bus to the Vatican and walked back - this took in St Peters, Castel Sant Angelo, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Vittorio Emanuele Monument, the Colosseum and loads more delights in between. You can do all this in one day quite easily without any rush and loads of food and ice-cream in between.
Restaurants - for close to the hotel I would ask at the hotel reception - I was given a card for a place in a near by street - I introduced myself from the hotel and was looked after - the hotel clearly took the introduction seriously. There are loads of good places to eat - but beware in taking a look - like anyware there appeared to be the full range.
Overall this is a friendly clean hotel in a good location taking the price into account - I would return for a short stay.

My top tip for sleep quality would be "pillows", The pillows were extremely firm !!! which affected sleep quality , Ask for others or take your own!!!!!.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for any possible noise from the street
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your usefull review.

We are happy that you have found our hotel comfortable.

Looking forward to host you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Amalfi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent Christmas in Rome and we stayed in this hotel. The staff were very helpful and really nice. Croissant tastes really good! Maggiore church is just a short walk from the hotel. The room was a bit small but It's very clean. maybe 10 minutes walk to the Colloseum. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keziahloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your opinion with TA users.

We are very pleased that you liked the Hotel and its location.

We hope to see you soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A family run Hotel , well located , neat , clean & prompt service . check in & out was meticulous & fast . the hotel staff gives a personalised service with a smile . Breakfast service in the dining room was well laid & catered to all tastes . the manager was helpful in planning our itinerary for visiting various attractions.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road give agood view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musafirhoonyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your kind review.

We're glad that you have appreciated our work.

Looking forward to meet you again!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about this place since we were travelling all the way from India and had done booking based on the reco on this site.. And we were pleasently surprised by this hotel. The hotel reception, Kosimo and his wife/son, were very heartwarming towards and helped us on how to manage our sightseeing itenary complete with maps and tours. It was really very helpful
!! The hotel staff give a personal touch in all the aspects of hospitality be it at reception, inside our room, during breakfast etc. The rooms are pretty spacious (they are more spacious than ibis, alesia (paris)). The bathroom is very hygenic but small. The hotel is located very near to Termini railway station, 10 mins walk from Colosseo and in the heart of the city. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Mo special reco needed but its good to mention that you have read the reviews on the internet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashanthBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your words, which of course made ​​us very happy and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

From the moment we came through the door till the moment we left we felt very welcome at this hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient and gave us lots of useful information about the places to visit showing us on a map and advising us about public transport. The room was comfortable but a little on the small side but the location and staff more than made up for this. As we were at the back we had no view out but it was quiet and we could hear no traffic noise. Its a short walk from termini train station and the maggiore church is at the end of the road which for me was as spectacular as st.peters. The room was cleaned daily but was spotless to start with. The breakfast was continental and we never left hungry as there was an array of cereals, pastries, yoghurts, breads, cheeses and meats.
The hotel is a short walk from the colloseum and the centre of rome and has plenty of good restaurants around it, the one recommened by reception (nipotino del solitario) was execellent and apparantly frequented by Francesco Totti (roma/italian football legend). When I come back to rome I will be definately staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear these words from you.

Our customer is a source of continuous improvement for us.

With the hope to see you again I send my warmest greetings.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Hotel Amalfi is a very friendly and well run little hotel a stones throw from Termini Railway station. The rooms like most city hotels are a little small (but the hotel is only a base after all) but very clean and the staff at the hotel are very helpful and very very friendly. If you read the other reports you will see that the breakfast is mentioned a lot and this is because there is more than enough on offer to set up up for a nice days sight seeing. I would like to thank the hotel staff for pointing out the Nipotino del Solitario as a good place to eat as well as its a little gem of a resturant we would not have found had it not been for them. Also I have noticed that a few reviews mention street noise....my room was on the first floor and I had no issues sleeping, yes there was a little noise but in the centre of Rome I would have been very surprised if there wasnt !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Milez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice review.

We're very happy you had a nice stay at the Hotel Amalfi.

Looking forward to see you in the future!

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Hotel Amalfi was fantastic value for money- although the hotel room was a little on the small side, it was nicely decorated and very clean with good double glazing and a spacious wardrobe and two little desks. The beds were comfy and sheets were changed every two days.

The breakfast was great, with a good selection. The croissants were especially nice! The lady who served the breakfast was lovely, nothing too much trouble. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The location was great- round the corner from the Metro and close to the Termini Station, yet walking distance from the Colosseum.

Room Tip: Although the front rooms have a good view, there is still a little traffic noise despite the double...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andgreyskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We're really happy that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Amalfi.
Thankyou to sharing your thoughs with TA followers.

Looking forward to see you in the future!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,267 in Rome
895 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#67 of 1,267 in Rome
724 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#106 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,267 in Rome
830 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#119 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,267 in Rome
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $105 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing