We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler2909

Decent hotel

Review of Hotel Amalfi
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 26, 2023via mobile
Hotel staff is very good & helpful.

The location is about 8 minute walk from Termini and 20-30 minute walk to all attractions which can be a bit hard given the heat & humidity.

The breakfast spread is OK.

The rooms are really small with limited space for moving around or keeping big bags. The bathroom is also small and the shower can feel a bit claustrophobic.

Overall OK.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this review
Responded Jul 31, 2023
Dear 29ektaj,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our historical hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know that you found our hotel staff to be very good and helpful. Providing excellent service is our priority, and we are glad to have met your expectations in this regard.

We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast spread. Our team continually reviews our offerings to ensure they cater to our guests' preferences.

As an historical hotel, we do cherish the unique charm and character of our property. However, we understand that the historical nature of the building may result in smaller room sizes and bathrooms. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will continue to explore ways to optimize the available space while preserving the historical integrity of the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was okay, and we hope that you enjoyed exploring the beautiful city of Rome.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Hotel Amalfi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$298
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$300
  • Vio.com
    C$268
  • Hotels.com
    C$300
0.7 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$271
  • Expedia.com
    C$271
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$283
0.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$328
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$329
  • Destinia.com
    C$292
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
0.7 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$346
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$346
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$304
  • Hotels.com
    C$346
0.8 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
C$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Vio.com
    C$123
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
7.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$118
  • Expedia.com
    C$130
  • Vio.com
    C$103
  • Hotels.com
    C$130
3.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$132
  • Expedia.com
    C$148
  • Vio.com
    C$117
  • Hotels.com
    C$149
1.1 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$208
  • Official Hotel Site
    C$208
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$136
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$136
  • Agoda.com
    C$136
14.0 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,680
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,678
  • Vio.com
    C$1,469
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,681
0.3 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Rome
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station small hotel minute walk walking distance convenient location friendly hotel roman forum main attractions spanish steps vatican maggiore sights bus minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2023 via mobile

My daughter and I spent 4 nights in this hotel whilst visiting Rome for the first time.
It is a listed building with wonderful frescoes throughout. A small family run hotel very near a metro station and 5 minutes walk from the central rail station.
The room was a double, although the bed appeared to have 2 single mattresses on it. The shower was amazing with several different hoses. The mini fridge was well stocked as were the tea making facilities.
Breakfast was very relaxed., although you had to let them know what time you were wanting breakfast. It was a small buffet type breakfast with a pancake machine.
There appeared to be 2 different types of sausages but as they weren’t labelled not sure if one was veggie or not.
It was quite noisy as it is on a main road and not double glazed, however, the ear plugs I had blocked most of the noise. The staff were very helpful.
Located near the Coliseum, Forum and Palatine hill…..about 19 minutes walk. 20 minutes metro ride from The Vatican.

Room tip: Don’t know about parking, but close to all main transport. Several restaurants nearby. Supplied maps and directions.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 375CarolM375
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2023

Dear 375CarolM375,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel near the Coliseum. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us during your first visit to Rome.

We take pride in being a building with beautiful frescoes throughout, providing our guests with a unique and charming atmosphere. Being a small family-run hotel, we strive to offer a personalized and welcoming experience to all our guests.

We are pleased to know that our location near a metro station and just a 5-minute walk from the central rail station was convenient for your travels. It's great that you found the room comfortable. Your feedback regarding the shower is appreciated, and we're glad you found it amazing .

It's wonderful to hear that our hotel's proximity to the Coliseum, Forum, and Palatine Hill added convenience to your sightseeing plans. Additionally, being only a 20-minute metro ride away from The Vatican is a great advantage for exploring that area as well.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your daughter back in the future, providing you with an even more enjoyable stay. Should you have any further suggestions or queries, please feel free to reach out to us.

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2023

Very friendly hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, arranging taxis and providing local information.
Good base for a sightseeing holiday.
Breakfast was basic, but something for everyone.
Spotlessly clean.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TOMASNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2023

Dear TOMASNorfolk,

Great to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay in Rome! It's wonderful to know that the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful in arranging taxis and providing local information to make your sightseeing holiday more enjoyable.

We're glad to hear that the hotel served as a good base for your travels, and that you found the accommodations to be spotlessly clean. While the breakfast may have been basic, it's great to hear that there was something for everyone to enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2022

My sister and I took her granddaughter (age 18) to Rome for six days just after Rome opened up for tourists. We stayed at the Amalfi which was one of the best things we did. The staff were absolutely GREAT and our location was all we needed. Great restaurants nearby and a market close enough to get soda for our fridge. We walked all over the place.

PLEASE NOTE WE WERE NOT THERE IN 2021--MAY 2020

We chose a family room since it provided three beds (with a small alcove for the teen and her STUFF). We were right on the street with a small balcony. EVERYTHING worked and worked well and that's with three females sharing all. The room is not large, but how much time do you really spend in the room? It worked for us whether we there for hours after dinner or minutes during the day.

I celebrated my birthday there and the hotel had a bottle of champagne waiting in the room when we returned from sightseeing. We did NOT mention it at all--they noted the day from my passport and surprised me with a sweet wish and a bottle of wine with three glasses.

I keep looking for excuses to return to Rome and to the Amalfi Hotel.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2023

Dear wareagleontheroad,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

It's a great pleasure for us to hear that the Staff was amazing and that you enjoyed our great location full of restaurants and just a short walk from the most visited monument in the world, the Colosseum.

Our rooms are not large being located in an historical building protected by Unesco. The Staff is always available to help our guest for choosing the right room at the best price so do not hesitate to write us an email for your next stay!

We're waiting for you!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2022

I was very happy and comfortable at this hotel. I spent 5 days there. The staff was very friendly and my room was very clean. It is in an excellent location. The breakfast was good and satisfying. Only one complaint: Wi fi was weak in my 4th floor room. It was easier to do my online work in the ground floor lobby. With this sole exception, my stay there was perfect. I have already planned a return visit to Rome and I will be staying at Hotel Amalfi.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank davidgF643DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2023

Dear davidgF643DA,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about the recent stay with us!

We're really glad you had a great experience and we cannot wait to host you again!

We give great attention to our breakfast and we're adding some new items as the fresh squeezed orange juice and the pancakes machine,

We're sorry about the WiFi problems but very soon we will have new private infrastructure that will offer to our guests not just a standard speed connection but a super fast one.

Do not forget to contact us directly for having the best deals!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2022

We have decided to stay in this hotel for 3 nights based on price and review on Tripadvisor. Now, about our stay and experience.
What I like:
Location. This hotel is close to Termini station, metro, Santa Maggiore Basilica, and walking distance to the main highlights of Rome
What I dislike:
-On our arrival at the hotel receptionist was talking for more than 10min to some of his acquaintances without paying attention to our arrival
-Very very small economy room
-Terrible Wifi
-Below-average breakfast in the very tiny room. I would suggest if you decide to stay in this hotel visit the cafeteria just next to the hotel.
Conclusion: The only way to stay in this hotel is if you can get a good price and don't care about the internet. There are other better options in Rome

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2023

Dear Hulrom,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your honest review and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your time with us.

We're glad you appreciated our location and the proximity to various attractions. However, we're disappointed to hear about the aspects of your stay that fell short of your expectations.

Regarding the WiFi, we're sorry that it didn't meet your needs. We want to inform you that after an infrastructural upgrade, our WiFi connection is now one of the fastest in town and available in every room. We understand the importance of a reliable internet connection for our guests.

Our historical building does come with the limitation of room sizes, and we apologize if the economy room size wasn't as comfortable as you expected.

We're sorry to hear that you found the breakfast below-average. We've taken note of your feedback, and we want you to know that we offer an ample breakfast that includes typical local products, fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, croissants, cakes, and more, sourced with care for an authentic experience.

We're sorry for the inconvenience at check-in and appreciate your understanding. We will address this internally to ensure a smoother check-in process for all guests.

We genuinely value your input and will use your comments to improve our services. If you're open to reconsidering, we'd love the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future. Please feel free to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Best regards,
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews