We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fendy S
Jakarta, Indonesia

Nice hotel in the city center

Review of Hotel Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 10, 2024via mobile
The hotel is located 5 mins from Roma Termini and next to Basilica Papale di Santa Maria Maggiore. It is also next to a great restaurant, Molino. The size of the room is adequate with comfortable beds, clean bathroom and complete amenities. The Hotel also has roof top area to chill. Staffs are really helpful, nice and welcoming, especially the guy and the lady on the night shift as we arrive quite late. They provided us with helpful info, assist our room request and helped to keep our luggage before departure. The Hotel also provided water to refill our bottles and map of the attraction for guidance. Metro's station are conveniently located around the hotel. It is a recommended hotel for leisure. At nitght the door will be closed but can be opened by using the room key provided.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Ask for room that looks to the Santa Maria Maggiore church
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$298
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$300
  • Vio.com
    C$268
  • Hotels.com
    C$300
0.7 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$271
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$283
0.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$329
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
  • Destinia.com
    C$292
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
0.7 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$346
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$346
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$304
  • Expedia.com
    C$346
0.8 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
C$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$160
  • Vio.com
    C$123
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
7.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$118
  • Expedia.com
    C$131
  • Vio.com
    C$103
  • Hotels.com
    C$130
3.6 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$132
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
  • Vio.com
    C$117
  • Hotels.com
    C$149
1.1 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$208
  • Official Hotel Site
    C$208
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
C$136
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$136
  • Agoda.com
    C$136
14.0 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,680
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,681
  • Vio.com
    C$1,469
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,683
0.3 km from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Rome
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station small hotel minute walk walking distance convenient location friendly hotel roman forum main attractions spanish steps vatican maggiore sights bus minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2024

The room, though small, was clean and the view of the church was beautiful. The breakfast was very good and the hotel staff were courteous. Close to most areas including the subway, bus stops and restaurants, especially gelato shops. I'd stay here again if so.

Room tip: Get a lower level room, the elevator is very small.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SimonOnvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Dear SimonOnvacation,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

We're delighted that you enjoyed our hotel's perfect location, allowing you to easily explore the area on foot. Our proximity to various attractions, including being just a 10-minute walk from the Colosseum, adds to the convenience of staying with us.

We're glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and the beautiful view of the church. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast and experienced courteous service from our staff.

Regarding the room size, as an historic hotel, our rooms may be smaller in size, but we're glad you understood this aspect.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back for another stay in the future!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2023 via mobile

The staff was wonderful ! They were extremely helpful . We had about 3-4 different staff and all equally great . Rooms are clean and comfortable . The hotel is very quaint . We walked from termini station and it took about 15 minutes with luggage . Walkable to many sites . I didn’t love this area of the city as much as others. The rooftop patio to me was dissapointing . I wouldn’t bother . If you do you need to get drinks downstairs and bring them up and chairs are not comfortable . Only seating for about 10. The bakery a few doors down is awesome .
I would stay again .

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Monkeytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2023

Dear Monkeytoez,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're overjoyed to hear that you found our staff wonderful and helpful during your stay. It's always great to know that the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms met your expectations, and that our hotel's charm added to your experience.

We're glad that our location was convenient for your travels from Termini station and to various sites around the city. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the area and the rooftop patio. Your comments are invaluable to us as we continually strive to improve our guest experience.

It's great that the nearby bakery was a highlight for you. We will consider your suggestions about the rooftop to see how we can enhance its comfort and appeal.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, and we're committed to making your future stays even more enjoyable.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel.

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2023 via mobile

Clean and safe small hotel in a good location. It’s within walking distance to the Colosseum. The Vatican is a few miles away. The Pantheon and Trevi Fountain are walkable on a comfortable (weather) day but it is over a mile. The Cavour subway station is under a 10 minute walk. The main (train station ( Termini) is walkable as well. There are many little cafes and restaurants nearby. The rooms and bathroom (shower) are small as is typical in Rome. Beds were comfortable. Very nice paintings from Roman/ Greek mythology are throughout the hotel. There’s a mosaic of Medusa at the main entrance. Breakfast was very good (great coffee machine ) with eggs, bacon , pastries , & bread. A bonus to this hotel is the rooftop patio (common area with a number of seats and small tables ) on the fifth floor. Very few affordable hotels in Rome have this. It’s a great place to have a drink (order at the front desk) and get some fresh air above the crowds. Emilio and Francesca at the front desk were very professional and kind to my aunt and I during our stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bartg586
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2023

Dear bartg586,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be a clean and safe "home" during your five days in Rome. We are pleased that the location was convenient for your travels to the Colosseum, Vatican, Pantheon, and Trevi Fountain, with easy access to both the Cavour subway station and Termini train station.

We appreciate your understanding regarding the typically smaller room and bathroom sizes in Rome, and we're glad that you found the beds comfortable and enjoyed the artwork throughout our hotel. It's delightful to hear that our breakfast selection, particularly the coffee, was to your satisfaction and that you were able to take advantage of our unique rooftop patio.

We are especially proud of Emilio and Francesca for their professionalism and kindness. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to them.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your aunt back to our hotel in the future.

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2023

The hotel staff, particularly one young man, were exceptional. We weren't happy with our room - he changed it. We wanted taxis - he ordered them and went outside with us to meet them. We can out of coffee - he was at our door with more within minutes. Always smiling, always a friendly word. The room was small but the bed and pillows very comfortable and air conditioning quiet and effective.. A good range of breakfast choices. Just a few yards from the basillica Santa Maria Maggiore which was amazing and many excellent eating places and gelato shops nearby. The Colluseum a short walk across the park.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CandidaR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2023

Dear CandidaR_12,

Thank you for your positive review. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed a comfortable four-night stay with us and that our location served you well. It's heartening to hear that our staff, especially Alessandro who assisted you, provided exceptional service and was able to enhance your stay through his attentive and friendly demeanor.

We're glad that the room change met your satisfaction, and that you found the bed, pillows, and air conditioning to your comfort. It's also great that the variety of our breakfast offerings was to your liking.

We're pleased you appreciated the proximity to the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore and the local dining and gelato options, as well as the short walk to the Colosseum.

We strive to provide a memorable experience and it sounds like we succeeded with your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to leave a review.

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2023

We loved the Amalfi Hotel and would definitely recommend!! We have just stayed there for three days in order to explore Rome. The hotel is in a great location with lots of cafes, bars and shops around. The staff at the hotel were really helpful and friendly and were happy to give directions and order taxis etc. We loved the roof top terrace and drinks were reasonably priced. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, it’s more continental style but there are lots of options .
The air conditioning made life much more bearable as it was very hot when we were there.
The hotel is beautiful decorated and though the rooms are small , I believe plenty big enough for a short city break . The bed and pillows were very comfortable!!
The hotel could be a little noisy at times as some guests were a little loud!! But that is not a fault of the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2023

Dear sian401,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Amalfi Hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, and the amenities we have to offer.

Our team takes pride in providing excellent service, and we're glad to know that they were helpful in assisting you with directions and transportation arrangements. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the rooftop terrace and found our drinks reasonably priced.

We are delighted that you appreciated the variety of options at breakfast, and we understand the importance of a comfortable room during a city break. While our rooms may be smaller due to our central location, we are pleased to know that you found them to be adequate and beautifully decorated. Moreover, we are glad that the air conditioning helped to make your stay more comfortable during the warm weather.

We appreciate your understanding regarding the noise from other guests. While we strive to maintain a peaceful environment, it can be challenging to control the behavior of all guests. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that this didn't diminish your overall enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you for recommending the Amalfi Hotel. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits to Rome.

Best regards,
Hotel Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews