We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mecenate Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mecenate Palace
Ranked #173 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This place was perfect! Excellent location, excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hworlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    616
    173
    57
    54
See reviews for
339
662
46
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here last week for 6 nights for a family Spring Break vacation. We stayed in the "newer" section of the hotel, with a separate entrance next door to the main lobby. It was very secure and the room was very clean with enough room for 3 people comfortably. One large king size bed and one fold out couch (double size). All beds were very firm and very comfortable. It is true that they do not provide face cloths (aka wash cloths), so if that is important to you, bring your own. The bath tub had wonderful jacuzzi jets which felt great after a long day of walking. It also had a shower with great water pressure. There was a fridge (mini bar) but we used it for left overs. The TV was small but did have two English news channels and honestly, we didn't miss having TV at all since we were in Rome for sightseeing and after dinner and gelato we were ready for bed. The best part was the breakfast setting, included in the price of the room. It was a lovely dining hall with an attached roof garden patio with an amazing view of the city and the cathedral across the street. I especially liked having the wait staff greet us every morning fully dressed in suits and ties and escort us to a table and bring the coffee (with steamed milk) and tea. Then we'd visit the buffet which was pretty much the same every day but with something for everyone. I loved the giant kiwis. A couple of nights the free wifi in the room didn't work because it was down throughout the hotel, but they helped us out by looking up the weather on the lobby computer or checking on out return flight. The weather had turned surprisingly warm and our room was hot at night, even with the one small window open, so we asked for a fan, which they brought up immediately and it helped a lot. They said the air conditioning doesn't work until May. I also liked that we could drink the water out of the tap and it tasted great, so we saved money by filling our water bottles every day. Because the room was not on the street it was extremely quiet and we all slept great. It was a 5 minute walk to the Termini train station and there were lots of good looking restaurants near by. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples or families.

Room Tip: Our room in the building next door was roomy enough for 3 people and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for an entire week and were very happy with it! We didn't stay in the main building. Two doors down the street they had a few rooms around a courtyard. Our room was spacious with sleeping room for 3. There was a double bed and a pullout couch that was very comfortable. They have free wi-fi in rooms if you book directly with the hotel, just ask for the code. Everything was new and they had a whirlpool tub. The main lobby looked great. The location is wonderful and we walked to the Metro station every day. The walk to get there isn't through a great part of town, but what would you expect from a neighborhood next to the train station? Their dining room at the top level is beautiful! Breakfast is included and the waiters always dressed like they were serving at a 5 star restaurant. The only not so great thing was the breakfast itself. We could tell that the pastries were packaged and they all tasted the same. Their kiwis were amazing though!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloclo_105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

A family visit to Rome for 4 days, staying at this hotel. Rooms much smaller than shown at the web when we made our reservation. Staff OK but did not really try to get us better rooms.
Breakfast at terrace on the roof was good and the rooms where quiet and fairly clean. In short, the best thing with this hotel is the location, most of the sights in the sity within 30 min walking distance

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBxGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Location and descriptions in the on-line oirtals are true: near Termini, opposite Santa Maira di Maggiore. Old-fashioned, but nicely equipped, windows can be opened. Room to the yard was very quiet, could sleep with open window. Nothing to be heard from the other guests. Room rather small but sufficient space for two, bathroom large and comfortable, however, no tissues provided among the amenities. Otherwise ok.

Breakfast very nicely on the terrace with good selection of pastries and other food, but not an American breakfast, however, really ok for Northern Europeans.

REception personnel English speaking and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small which was expected for Europe. However this hotel was dated and badly in need of repair and refurbishment. They had a small pc monitor size tv in rooms. There was no access to English stations such as CNN or CNBC. In the bathrooms there were bath towels and hand towels but no face cloths. When you showering you either use a hand towel or your HAND to shower???

Staff not very friendly at all especially male desk clerk who works weekdays during the day shift.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwattley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I had stayed at the Mecenate Palace before. This time walls had stains. Bathroom fixtures rusting, missing bits. Overall the hotel is getting rundown. Top sheets on the bed had small holes and tears. The location is great, you can walk to all the top sites. The hotel just isn't a four star anymore. Beware the "deluxe room" standard room at the front of the hotel overlooking the noisy square.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#68 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#152 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#160 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#69 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#101 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#180 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Palace

Property: Mecenate Palace
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mecenate Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a 4-star luxury hotel, located in the historical centre of Rome, near by Colosseum and Roman Forum, overlooking the breathtaking façade of Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Eternal City's unique skyline.Dimora dell'800 confort del 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Mecenate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome
Mecenate Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing