We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and very welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #55 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked for a weekend break in Rome. Staff were excellent and very welcoming, always charming without being intrusive. The room was delightful, far better than expected, a real treat. The bed was super super king size. I requested a room overlooking the Villa Borghese and the request was honoured.

I agree with other reviews the restaurant is good but very expensive, however you don't have to eat there, although the views over Rome are amazing. There are plenty of other excellent restaurants in Rome and the concierge is only too happy to get you a cab quickly.

The spa at the sister hotel 5 mins away is fantastic. Beautiful surroundings, excellent range of treatments and massages for 'her and him'.

There is no hotel bar, but then we didn't need one, plenty of bars around.

We would definitely go back to the Splendid Royal (despite its naff name!)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Villa Borghese to get the views (3rd floor was a bit through the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHobday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel is wonderful and the staff is just excellent!!!!! Congrats you guys!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessi189458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

expensive to get very serious food poisoning, Bruno the manager called me "a problem" and in a sort of way asked me politely to go away. I have come home to UK, private DR who has confirmed serious food poisoning from your "Scallop" Bruno....thanks for your ignorance and arrogance. What a shame as the hotel looked lovely !!!!!!! 500euros to use your toilet for 45min - hour we even left our 160euro bottle champagne on the table. Disgusting service.

Room Tip: dont go to up stair restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you so much for your comments. To say the least, we are flabbergasted by the phrasing of your comment and observations as we have far different recollections of our various telephone conversations in which you have espressed yourself quite differently. In fact, we recall that you wanted to speak to the staff in charge, which you did, to express your experiences at our restaurant.

We are sorry that you did not feel well that evening. We are sure that it had other causes than our scallops, which are always of absolute first quality, something that you confirmed. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant the next time you will be in Rome.

Kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The staff was very hospitable and helpful. Good location, it is easy to some tourist attractions. The room was lovely and the bed turned down every night, it was also very clean. The breakfast was great with fantastic view of the city. Breakfast 35 euros per person, internet 10 euros per hour - very expensive!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Arrived to the Hotel with my fiance December 26th, 2011 and stayed through the New Years. Didn't know exactly what to expect as this was not only the first time staying at this hotel but also our first time in Rome. I searched and searched all possible web sites for choices of hotels with their reviews for weeks before choosing Splendide. Going through the many reviews and photos of all that was available in the 5 Star Range as well as the minimum feedback by a customer being 4.25 or 4.5 out of 5. I was torn by going with a hotel that I have used before in other travels, like the St Regis, but I'm very much happy with my choosing of this boutique hotel, Hotel Splendide Royal.
The Staff are amazing. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by a fantastic young lady, Anastasia at the front desk. She greeted us with great warmth and quickness to get us into our room. She also gave us great detailed information on how to approach our sightseeing and entertainment with a full map, circling areas of interest, and travel time by foot or taxi.
As soon as we walked into the room, we were greeted by the cheerful bellhop who brought our luggage in and placed them carefully spread through the room as we had a few heavy suitcases with us. He too was attempting to be quite informative with anything that we needed or would need to make our stay more enjoyable and impactful.
As soon as we started to unpack, a bottle of champagne was sent to our room by the front desk just because they became aware of my fiance and I's recent engagement when we checked in. The rest of the staff, many that we came across during our stay, were too all as gracious and hospitable making sure everything was perfect for us. The front desk staff are all very informative and willing to help. One gentleman, forget his name, behind the front desk, walked away from his duties to quickly help take pictures of us in front of the hotel and in the lobby without us even asking him to.
The room was nice, nothing to say "oh my god", but we stayed in the biggest superior room. Clearly our intentions for being in Rome wasn't to spend all of our money and time in a luxury suite since we knew that the most time in the room will be spent while we were sleeping at night. But if funds is not an issue, then you should definitely get a suite just to have more room and a better view. Our room had no view, but was extremely quite and private. Room size was fit for a king bed, plenty of room to walk around by two people with suitcases all over, a great sized bathroom with tub, and a walk in closet with a safe. The bed, pillows, and sheets were comfortable. And the maids did their best to keep the room clean every time you went in and out or as you wished.
The breakfast on the 6th floor, TERRACE LA LIMONAIA, is a must. Make sure you get it included with you room. It was such a treat to start the day with amazing eggs, assorted cheeses, the ricotta is unbelievable, fresh fruits and juices, and caffe with a spectacular view including the Vatican. This is the best way to start off a long day of walking and sightseeing.
The restaurant on the 7th floor, MIRABELLE, is too a great restaurant with fantastic views. A quiet romantic restaurant. But if you are looking for a crowd and scene, its not that kind of a place. The terrace at Mirabelle for drinks and Cigars is perfect for the view before going to dinner someplace else if you want a livelier scene. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel, but had lunch and dinner at other places in Rome.
The Location of the hotel was great for us. Close to the Spanish steps, about a 10 minute casual walk. We actually walked everywhere from the hotel as that is what being in Rome is all about. So be prepared according to season and comfort. To the Colosseum took about a 30 minute walk, but you see so much along your walks that the time doesn't matter.The only time we took taxis is at night when we went out to formal dinners dressed accordingly, or when it rained, as the streets get quite slippery to walk on. We had a car service/ driver to and from the airport which I recommend.
I highly recommend Hotel Splendide Royal as I will stay there again when im next back in Rome. Its is not a lower "cheaper" rate hotel, but for the rate that you spend at this hotel, it is the best in comparioson.
Rome is not cheap by any means, so be prepared to spend money. And for the tours, we used a personal guide and not a group guide. Again, not cheap but the ideal way to see Rome and its attractions as you learn and know what Rome was.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, go with a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January 2012. We had a wonderful time. The staff were incredibly attentive from organizing a private transfer, unpacking our bags when we arrived and giving us excellent information and advice on things to visit to welcoming us back kindly every time we returned. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to the Spanish steps and you can walk everywhere from here. Some said the Vatican and Colloseum were too far to walk but we thought it was fine and there’s plenty to see and do on the way. Our room was small but lovely and the turndown service made us feel very cosy at night. Bathroom was big and had everything you’d expect from a 5 star hotel. The robes were lovely. We had dinner in the Michelin starred restaurant on the seventh floor one night and although expensive the food was absolutely delicious with impeccable service. Even if you do not eat here, I would recommend having a drink on the terrace of the restaurant in order to enjoy the beautiful view over the whole city. Breathtaking. We never had breakfast as it seemed quite expensive and we preferred to eat out nearby but if it was as good as our evening meal, I’m sure it was delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We loved the old-world, family-owned nature of the Splendide Royal. Our suite was very comfortable, private and silent with a large terrace. The front desk and housekeeping staffs are outstanding, very responsive. The food and service from Room Service were so delicious and prompt it was almost as though they were standing outside our door. We had dinner twice at Mirabelle -- it is elegant, dressy and sparkling. The food is superb and the view of St. Peter's and the City at night is like a fairy tale.

Until the Four Seasons opens a hotel in Rome, we will call the Splendide Royal home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDKELLOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
1,140 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,271 in Rome
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#49 of 1,271 in Rome
664 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#136 of 1,271 in Rome
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $330 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing