We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful stop in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #53 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Beautiful views, fantastic restaurant, wonderful location, luxurious accommodations --THAT is Hotel Splendide Royal. Brilliantly close to Villa Borghese, this hotel allowed us the chance to explore the wonderful park and museum easily. It's a quick walk to bus stops and close enough to the Spagna train. We loved every thing about this hotel and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVolumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment. It is always a pleasure to read such nice and candid reviews on the hotel and our service. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when your travels will bring you back to the Eternal city.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

had 5 wonderful days and four very comfortable nights , the attention to detail in every department was superb.Just a great hotel in a lovely location, we would go again next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevilleL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated out attempt to provide to our guests the best service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Splendide Royal and it was great for the moment we walked into our room to be greeted with champagne and snacks. Everything was delightful and our only "complaint," if we had one, was the lack of a view; however, it was very quiet.

Definitely opt for the included breakfast at La Limonaia. It was great, especially the view! Service throughout hotel was top notch. The location is great- not totally in the center of things but that is good.

We also had dinner at Mirabelle our first night in Rome and though pricy, it was amazing.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and nice comments. We really work hard to achieve the goal to make every guest's stay in Rome unforgettable, thank you very much for putting a big smile on our faces once again!

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Splendide Royal if you are back to Rome in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our first time in Rome, we stayed here for five nights from 25/5/12. Location is great (although after a day out walking, the short uphill hike was torture on the legs!!). Our room was clean and of a high standard, all the staff were polite, friendly and willing to help. We breakfasted at the hotel daily and the buffet breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for the day ahead. The hotel provided bottled water to the room daily.

If there's one piece of advice I would pass on, it's that if you decide to use the pool/spa facilities of the Splendide's sister hotel, make use of the shuttle bus between the two...it's a lifesaver for tired legs. The spa facility is wonderful and relaxing.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlanetGaffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided a good place to rest and relax after the day in the sun of Rome in May.

Thank you for recognizing our service, our staff's goal is to provide the best service and customize it to the guest requests, we try really to work on that and get it better day by day.

Thank you again for your time and for staying with us. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the future.

kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel, staff were excellent and most helpful? Room and bathroom are a fairly good size. What you see in the traveller photos is pretty much what you get. The bed was large and comfortable the pillows a bit harder than we are used to but fine. There is no tea/coffee making facilities but complimentary bottled water is brought to your room every day so we survived. Breakfast was enjoyable and is taken on the roof of the hotel, it doesn't change much but you have the option of English, continental or fresh fruit and it pretty much sets you up for the day. Important to me was the air con which was very good at keeping our room cool and allowing me to get a good nights sleep.Now back home in England with the temperature as high as it was in Rome and I am struggling to get a good night’s sleep (no air con). I don’t like rooms with internal or courtyard views which ours was (superior room) but it is bright and well lit by sunlight streaming into courtyard.
Hotel location is good, taxi from Termini station to hotel with luggage costs 7 euros. Bus 116 (cost 1 euro coin, pay on board bus ticket machine) has its terminus approx. 1 minute walk from the hotel. Destinations include the pantheon, piazza navona, and the market at campo del fiori and on to via del gianicolo (5 min walk to the Vatican) all well worth a visit. If you prefer to walk and we did the hotel is approximately 10 min from the Spanish steps and a further 10 min to the Trevi fountains all easy to get to. Spent Sunday strolling through villa Borghese park nothing special but nice to take a break from the city listened to classical music played on piano, very good musician. Nice view over Santa Maria Del popolo from the park.
One improvement I would like to see is free access to the internet even if it's just in the hotel lobby computers for a limited time so you can confirm flights and check emails.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Thank you.
Stay 1 week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew10476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying with us and the time spent in writing your review. We are definitely looking forward to having you again with us in the future if you want to visit again the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at this hotel, it is a lovely hotel, nice decor. Good central location. Very accommodating to our baby, washing bottles and providing hot water. The only negative was the very very expensive room service.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

First time in Rome. Part of our group stayed below the Spanish Steps in a more expensive hotel. After seeing both I much preferred Hotel Splendide Royal. The staff at the desk could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Our room was smaller than some others in the hotel, but we loved its comfort and the relaxed beautiful feeling we had in the room. Excellent bedding and comfort throughout. Rome is a very busy place with lots of cars buzzing everywhere at great speed for such small streets. The street is not ugly and hotel entrances I saw throughout the city were no more grand than this one. There is a closed in feeling, that is unusual for an American where we are used to large open spaces, but that feeling grows on you quickly. It felt great to return to the hotel and our room each day. Each time we entered and left we were greeted and assisted by door men and each time we saw desk staff they were outgoing and friendly. We would stay there again. It is worth mentioning their rooftop restaurant, Mirabelle. The web site says that it "is considered to be among the very best restaurants in the city." A late afternoon glass of wine on the outdoor terrace before sunset with its outstanding view and totally upscale feeling was a beautiful highlight for the women in our group.

Room Tip: There is a newer and and older part, ask when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgorwoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time spent reviewing our hotel. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work really hard toward that goal and everytime we succeed is wonderful.

Please come visit us again for a vacation in the near future, Rome is beautiful any time of the year!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#99 of 1,273 in Rome
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#45 of 1,273 in Rome
677 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#122 of 1,273 in Rome
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $328 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing