We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
1,045
298
94
45
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
298
94
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirabelle restaurantvia venetoborghese gardensspanish stepsbeautiful hoteljunior suiteseventh floorbreakfast roomsister hotelmarble bathroomfive star hotelst petershighly recommend this hoteltrevi fountainaround the cornerquiet streetsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

had 5 wonderful days and four very comfortable nights , the attention to detail in every department was superb.Just a great hotel in a lovely location, we would go again next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevilleL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated out attempt to provide to our guests the best service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Splendide Royal and it was great for the moment we walked into our room to be greeted with champagne and snacks. Everything was delightful and our only "complaint," if we had one, was the lack of a view; however, it was very quiet.

Definitely opt for the included breakfast at La Limonaia. It was great, especially the view! Service throughout hotel was top notch. The location is great- not totally in the center of things but that is good.

We also had dinner at Mirabelle our first night in Rome and though pricy, it was amazing.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the internal courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and nice comments. We really work hard to achieve the goal to make every guest's stay in Rome unforgettable, thank you very much for putting a big smile on our faces once again!

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Splendide Royal if you are back to Rome in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our first time in Rome, we stayed here for five nights from 25/5/12. Location is great (although after a day out walking, the short uphill hike was torture on the legs!!). Our room was clean and of a high standard, all the staff were polite, friendly and willing to help. We breakfasted at the hotel daily and the buffet breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for the day ahead. The hotel provided bottled water to the room daily.

If there's one piece of advice I would pass on, it's that if you decide to use the pool/spa facilities of the Splendide's sister hotel, make use of the shuttle bus between the two...it's a lifesaver for tired legs. The spa facility is wonderful and relaxing.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlanetGaffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided a good place to rest and relax after the day in the sun of Rome in May.

Thank you for recognizing our service, our staff's goal is to provide the best service and customize it to the guest requests, we try really to work on that and get it better day by day.

Thank you again for your time and for staying with us. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the future.

kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel, staff were excellent and most helpful? Room and bathroom are a fairly good size. What you see in the traveller photos is pretty much what you get. The bed was large and comfortable the pillows a bit harder than we are used to but fine. There is no tea/coffee making facilities but complimentary bottled water is brought to your room every day so we survived. Breakfast was enjoyable and is taken on the roof of the hotel, it doesn't change much but you have the option of English, continental or fresh fruit and it pretty much sets you up for the day. Important to me was the air con which was very good at keeping our room cool and allowing me to get a good nights sleep.Now back home in England with the temperature as high as it was in Rome and I am struggling to get a good night’s sleep (no air con). I don’t like rooms with internal or courtyard views which ours was (superior room) but it is bright and well lit by sunlight streaming into courtyard.
Hotel location is good, taxi from Termini station to hotel with luggage costs 7 euros. Bus 116 (cost 1 euro coin, pay on board bus ticket machine) has its terminus approx. 1 minute walk from the hotel. Destinations include the pantheon, piazza navona, and the market at campo del fiori and on to via del gianicolo (5 min walk to the Vatican) all well worth a visit. If you prefer to walk and we did the hotel is approximately 10 min from the Spanish steps and a further 10 min to the Trevi fountains all easy to get to. Spent Sunday strolling through villa Borghese park nothing special but nice to take a break from the city listened to classical music played on piano, very good musician. Nice view over Santa Maria Del popolo from the park.
One improvement I would like to see is free access to the internet even if it's just in the hotel lobby computers for a limited time so you can confirm flights and check emails.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Thank you.
Stay 1 week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew10476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying with us and the time spent in writing your review. We are definitely looking forward to having you again with us in the future if you want to visit again the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at this hotel, it is a lovely hotel, nice decor. Good central location. Very accommodating to our baby, washing bottles and providing hot water. The only negative was the very very expensive room service.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews