We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our magical stay at Hotel Splendide 5* Deluxe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #52 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stopped at the Hotel Splendide for our 25th Wedding anniversary, and pushed the boat out and booked the Villa Borghese Suite. The hotel and suite were magnificent and actually exceeded expectations.
The staff were all attentive and very helpful as it was also our first time to Rome, and they made it very easy.
I would like to start by making a special mention however about Ivan the concierge. I had been in touch by e-mail on a regular basis leading up to our holiday, regarding arrangements to pick up from the airport ,to booking restuarants. All which he did and his attention to detail was second to none. Ivan also arranged for us to renew our wedding vows at a very special chapel adjacent to the hotel which was just magical and highly recommend Ivan!
The suite itself was just beautiful, the rooms were highly decorated, had a jacuzzi bath which we all made great use of after walking round Rome!. Luxury was a given here, and to compliment the rooms was a magnificent terrace over looking the Villa Borghese Park. It was outstanding and was certainly the highlight of our suite, every room including the bathroom had a door leading onto the terrace. It was quite private, had luxury rattan loungers, settee and table, as well as our own parasol table and chairs. The terrace was covered in Jasmine and wonderful plants which made it wonderful to sit out on an evening and watch the sun go down over the spanish steps!
We stopped on a bed and breakfast basis, and the breakfast was ample enough to suit everyones taste and choices, I even heard a guest being asked how many minutes she would like her egg boiled for! Again the staff and service was deserving of the hotels status and excellence.
We did dine at the hotel Mirabelle restuarant on the 7th floor for our 25th anniversary meal, which was really spectacular. We had an excellent table on the balcony over looking St Peters and its something we shall remember for a long time. The food was well deserving of its michelin star and was a truly memorable experience.
The hotel is only five minutes away from the spanish steps and is quite central, with some great bars and restuarants around it. Although if in doubt, just ask Ivan, and he will point you in the direction of some excellent restaurants as he did for us.
It was our first trip to Rome and hopefully the first of many to come. If you want a truly special experience, build your relationship with the hotel via Ivan, ask for all those details you want confirming so that when you finally get there is just pure pleasure.
Just before I forget, when we got to our room, the hotel delievered to us complimentary champagne, cake and nibbles with their compliments for 2 nights leading up to our anniversary which also gave it that extra special touch.
I would highly recommend this hotel to stop at for a special occassion or to just have that pure bit of indulgence we all deserve sometimes!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MEGGYMEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2008

We had four of the best days in Rome at The Splendide Royal.
Our room was very comfortable and very very clean.

From the doorman to the housekeeping staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was a variety of hot and cold food, fruit and pastries. All delicious and filling.

We had lunch at the hotel resturant called Mirabella. A wonderful selection of food.
We had the best minnestrone soup and bread! We ate outside on the terrace and the view was magnificent! The service was quick and friendly.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. The recommendations for resturants and shopping were great. The staff couldn't do enough for us.
The hotel is beautiful inside and quiet. It's located on a busy street, but we didn't here any traffic noise.

We mentioned we would be celebrating our anniversary while in Rome. After a day of sightseeing, we were surprised by a bottle of champagne and a lovely note congratulating us on our special day!

It is truly one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We spent three nights at the Splendide Royal in Rome over last weekend. I can only repeat the excellent assessments made by other travellers. Location is convenient, maintenance of the hotel is spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast buffet was for Italian standard by far more than average. We had a superior room, not huge but still decent in size; the bathroom was quite large, unfortunately with a bath tub for showering, which I personally dislike. The room was facing the courtyard, i.e. no view, but therefore very quiet. Also the air conditioning worked smoothly and soundless. I particularly loved the turn down service at night, which is quite rare in Italy (even in 5 star hotels). The bed was comfortable with linen clothes. The hotel is old style, like a castle, the atmosphere calm and elegant. Absolutely nothing to complain about, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

On a side street just down the street from Harry's bar in Rome is the beautiful Hotel Spendide Royal.
We were treated like queens by the fabulous staff
The decor is museum like and elegance is everywhere one looks.
The breakfast room offers up an incredible view of the city and the breakfasts are tasty and well thought out. Fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, breads and yogurts were there in abundance.
I would and will return to the Hotel Splendide Royal on my next trip to Rome and recomend it the highest rating possible.
Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lyric52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed in a Junior Suite with a terrace for 4 nights in June 2008. Our room was about 10m x 3.5m (with a separate bathroom) and the balcony was of similar size. It was the end room nearest the lift and seemed to be slightly larger than the other junior suites, so the length measurement may vary, but the width does not. Overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, these rooms are a superb find in busy Rome. They get afternoon sun, which makes them perfect for sunbaking on a rest day, for drinks before and after dinner, and for breakfast and dinner themselves! The moment of delight as you walk outdoors onto the terrace for the first time after a trip through the busy center of Rome was simply exquisite.

The service at the hotel was extremely good, the rooms were clean and beautifully fitted out.

The location is only a little out of the way from the Spanish steps, but not something a moderately fit person would regard as an issue. In any event it is convenient to the Via Veneto, still a fun place for a nice lunch and a spot of people watching.

The restaurant Mirabelle is a really nice evening, with good food and wine and a simply stunning view over the Rome skyline at sunset. If you can, sit outside on the terrace.

This is only a short review, but this hotel was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Italy. So much so, that every subsequent nice experience on the trip was referred to as a “splendide royal”!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Splendide prior to our departure for a 10 day cruise. We arrived at the airport around 6:30 pm after an 30 hour trip over. We made pickup arrangements through the hotel and found our driver right outside the baggage claim as agreed. The traffic was horrible as usual and we had dinner reservations at Mirabella for 9pm. We arrived at the hotel around 8:30 and they were ready for our check in with paperwork and they had already notified the restaurant that we would not be there till at least 9:30 and told us to take our time and get freshened up and be at the restaurant when we were ready. Dinner was memorable overlooking the city. During our stay we could not have asked for anything more. Our Jr suite had a large porch over looking the Borgese park and museum. Just PERFECT! The breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for a day of sightseeing. Last time in Rome we stayed at the Hotel de Russie. Although it is very nice I prefer Splendide. It is a bit of an uphill walk coming back to the hotel, but nothing a healthy person cannot do. We walked back up the Via Veneto and watched the people go by. I do recommend this hotel and the Jr suites. It and the staff is a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divemaster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

I took my two college-aged daughters and high school senior to Rome with my 85-year old parents and younger brother for six nights beginning May 28. We reserved four double superior rooms. The rooms were excellently decorated and spacious. The bathrooms were fine...tiled floors and walls, nice bath and separate room for the shower and toilet/bidet. Everyone slept well. The breakfast on the 6th floor overlooks Rome and was the perfect gathering spot for our group. The buffet was the same all mornings...scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage on one table with a variety of cheeses; on another table were croissants, rolls and yougurts. There were four juices and several cereals to choose from. Bottled still and sparkling water and champagne were also plentiful. The service was attentive.

The best aspect of the hotel is the service. Fabiola and Ivan were teriffic as conceirges. They recommended a number of excellent restaurants, which we loved. After consulting them via e-mail before arrival, we landed on these for dinner: Colline Emililane; Pierluigi; Agata e Romeo; Da Pietro; Girarrosto Fiorentino; and Mirabelle on top of the hotel. All the staff treated us warmly (six nights x four rooms at 400 Euros =9600 Euros or about $16,000). The exception was the bar upstairs, when one night, my wife, one daughter and i appeared for a nightcap dressed casually...i had to complain to get service (see below)

The American Bar on the same floor as the restaurant, a Michelin-starred restaurant, has a nice terrace overlooking Rome with views of the Vatican, which is lovely at night. Drinks aren't cheap, however, so you may opt to have a late-night appertif near the Spanish Steps. But save a night for Mirabelle (and save your money to pay for it!). The food was excellent and worthy of the rating.

Message to Americans: This hotel is not cheap; with the dollar at a low, it will cost you a pretty penny to stay here. Its worth the money. My only nit is the one evening at the American Bar. I was not dressed with a sport coat and I give the place a black mark for not asking if we were guests as we appeared. I believe they judged us by the way we were dressed and didn't realize i was spending a lot of money with the hotel. But, the other nights we were there, we had no issues(we had sport coats).

The location is great. I must say, my parents needed taxis due to their age, but it is not as tough getting around as some reviews note. The restaurant next door salts their food to oblivion, so be careful there.

Bottom line....Service, solitude, high-quality acommodation, relaxing atmosphere and great place to relax means I'll return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jeffinbloomington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#104 of 1,273 in Rome
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#47 of 1,273 in Rome
676 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#125 of 1,273 in Rome
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $326 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing