We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
1,045
298
94
45
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
298
94
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirabelle restaurantvia venetoborghese gardensspanish stepsbeautiful hoteljunior suiteseventh floorbreakfast roomsister hotelmarble bathroomfive star hotelst petershighly recommend this hoteltrevi fountainaround the cornerquiet streetsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We had four of the best days in Rome at The Splendide Royal.
Our room was very comfortable and very very clean.

From the doorman to the housekeeping staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was a variety of hot and cold food, fruit and pastries. All delicious and filling.

We had lunch at the hotel resturant called Mirabella. A wonderful selection of food.
We had the best minnestrone soup and bread! We ate outside on the terrace and the view was magnificent! The service was quick and friendly.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. The recommendations for resturants and shopping were great. The staff couldn't do enough for us.
The hotel is beautiful inside and quiet. It's located on a busy street, but we didn't here any traffic noise.

We mentioned we would be celebrating our anniversary while in Rome. After a day of sightseeing, we were surprised by a bottle of champagne and a lovely note congratulating us on our special day!

It is truly one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We spent three nights at the Splendide Royal in Rome over last weekend. I can only repeat the excellent assessments made by other travellers. Location is convenient, maintenance of the hotel is spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast buffet was for Italian standard by far more than average. We had a superior room, not huge but still decent in size; the bathroom was quite large, unfortunately with a bath tub for showering, which I personally dislike. The room was facing the courtyard, i.e. no view, but therefore very quiet. Also the air conditioning worked smoothly and soundless. I particularly loved the turn down service at night, which is quite rare in Italy (even in 5 star hotels). The bed was comfortable with linen clothes. The hotel is old style, like a castle, the atmosphere calm and elegant. Absolutely nothing to complain about, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2008

On a side street just down the street from Harry's bar in Rome is the beautiful Hotel Spendide Royal.
We were treated like queens by the fabulous staff
The decor is museum like and elegance is everywhere one looks.
The breakfast room offers up an incredible view of the city and the breakfasts are tasty and well thought out. Fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, breads and yogurts were there in abundance.
I would and will return to the Hotel Splendide Royal on my next trip to Rome and recomend it the highest rating possible.
Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lyric52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed in a Junior Suite with a terrace for 4 nights in June 2008. Our room was about 10m x 3.5m (with a separate bathroom) and the balcony was of similar size. It was the end room nearest the lift and seemed to be slightly larger than the other junior suites, so the length measurement may vary, but the width does not. Overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, these rooms are a superb find in busy Rome. They get afternoon sun, which makes them perfect for sunbaking on a rest day, for drinks before and after dinner, and for breakfast and dinner themselves! The moment of delight as you walk outdoors onto the terrace for the first time after a trip through the busy center of Rome was simply exquisite.

The service at the hotel was extremely good, the rooms were clean and beautifully fitted out.

The location is only a little out of the way from the Spanish steps, but not something a moderately fit person would regard as an issue. In any event it is convenient to the Via Veneto, still a fun place for a nice lunch and a spot of people watching.

The restaurant Mirabelle is a really nice evening, with good food and wine and a simply stunning view over the Rome skyline at sunset. If you can, sit outside on the terrace.

This is only a short review, but this hotel was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Italy. So much so, that every subsequent nice experience on the trip was referred to as a “splendide royal”!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Splendide prior to our departure for a 10 day cruise. We arrived at the airport around 6:30 pm after an 30 hour trip over. We made pickup arrangements through the hotel and found our driver right outside the baggage claim as agreed. The traffic was horrible as usual and we had dinner reservations at Mirabella for 9pm. We arrived at the hotel around 8:30 and they were ready for our check in with paperwork and they had already notified the restaurant that we would not be there till at least 9:30 and told us to take our time and get freshened up and be at the restaurant when we were ready. Dinner was memorable overlooking the city. During our stay we could not have asked for anything more. Our Jr suite had a large porch over looking the Borgese park and museum. Just PERFECT! The breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for a day of sightseeing. Last time in Rome we stayed at the Hotel de Russie. Although it is very nice I prefer Splendide. It is a bit of an uphill walk coming back to the hotel, but nothing a healthy person cannot do. We walked back up the Via Veneto and watched the people go by. I do recommend this hotel and the Jr suites. It and the staff is a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divemaster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews