We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
1,045
298
94
45
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
298
94
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirabelle restaurantvia venetoborghese gardensspanish stepsbeautiful hoteljunior suiteseventh floorbreakfast roomsister hotelmarble bathroomfive star hotelst petershighly recommend this hoteltrevi fountainaround the cornerquiet streetsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed 4 nights. The Hotel restaurant has a Michelin star and is very expensive. Surprisingly, considering their Michelin star, we were a little disappointed with the food. We only ate in the restaurant once and after that went to other local restaurants which were generally very good. The restaurant is at the top of the hotel and has a wonderful view of the Rome skyline. Also the breakfast room is equally well sited and has good views. About a ten minute walk to the Spanish Steps and five minutes from Via Veneto.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassandraBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Having just returned from a 4 night trip booked for my wife's 40th, we were hoping for some special treatment (having mentioned the special occasion on the booking form). We arrived, were greeted by friendly, front of house staff, and we were given our room ( our porter told us, it was a really nice room, on the way there ). Well the view was of the wall around the Borghese gardens, the room was clean, but its overall appearance was of fake antique finish, average size, and with little or no extras to distinguish it from a great 3* or an average 4*. Front of house staff, said they had left a bottle of complimentary champagne, in our room, This never materialised over the 4 days ( we bought our own ). While these all might seem like petty jibes, I have to say that I paid a fortune for this "memorable trip" and I said nothing to my wife, but on the last night, she made the same observations to me. The Hotel is not far away from the Via Veneto, and my advice if you are spending a lot of money, check out the Majestic, the Westin Excelsior, or one of the other 5* on the Via Veneto. And finally, the disappointment of the hotel didn't take away from our fantastic trip to Rome,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevielatphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The last time we were told by an hotel staff while being shown to our room that we were fortunate to have been given a "very nice room", we found ourselves in a cramped and austere cell in the Orient-Express Monasterio Hotel in Cusco. So, when we heard the same thing while being shown to our room in the Hotel Splendide Royal, I couldn't help feeling a pang of apprehension.

My suspicions were unfounded. Our fourth floor corner room is spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed flanked by twin night tables, two chairs, a sidetable, a wingchair, a writing table, a minibar fridge on which perched the (smaller than expected) flat panel TV with cable access and various wall hangings. A full-sized window opens into a courtyard. The large ensuite bathroom has a bathtub, bidet, toilet and a broad vanity counter with twin washbasins; there are clotheshooks, a heated towel rack, amenities by Etro and a wall-mounted hairdryer.

The walk-in closet is oddly triangular-shaped but boasts natural light from a half-sized window. A low chest of drawers upon which the electronic safe sits occupies a good part of the floorspace, forcing us into dexterous poses when hanging clothes.

Our booking thorugh Venere.com included tax but not free WiFi and breakfast.

The Front Desk staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Ian C was especially welcoming during our stay. The bellmen are also efficient and thoughtful.

Overall, we were very pleased with our two-night stay at the hotel and rate it highly versus previous stays at the St Regis Grand Hotel and Hotel d'Inghilterra. The latter is perfect for shopping excursions to Via Condotti, etc, but we like the Splendide Royal's proximity (about 7 minutes' walk) to delightful Villa Borghese and did not mind the easy 10-15 minutes stroll to Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti.

Unexpected negatives are few: bedroom slippers are not provided and on two occasions (around 2230hrs and in the morning) loud pounding interrupted the peace. It sounded like someone trying to demolish a wall in the building; each occasion probably lasted 10 minutes. These aside, it was splendid indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The "Wow" factor is high here; This beautiful and immaculately clean hotel, which is situated in the absolute best location in Rome, near the Spanish Steps, was perfect in every way. The rooms are luxurious, with the most comfortable beds; and quiet, considering Rome is a busy city. We loved the staff, which were so friendly and helpful. The view at the top of hotel, where the restaurants and bar are, are spectacular; you can see the Vatican! We can't wait to stay at the Hotel Splendide Royal again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenuvdaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The smiles, attentiveness, and friendliness of the staff from the front door, the front desk(Ciao Malik), houskeeping, the breakfast room "Limonaia"(Ciao Alessandra) and behind the scenes(Ciao Pasquale), and management (Ciao Silvio) is what made our stay magnifico! The views from the sixth floor balconies, Limonaia and the Mirabella are spectacular! The jacuzzi in room 606 is worth it after a day on your feet sightseeing, although the view as pictured on the web sight is not exactly what you really see. Close enough to the Spanish steps and Galleria Bourghese for walkers and there are a number of good restuarants in and around the Via Veneto just a few blocks from the hotel. Taxi fares to and from the hotel to the major attractions were reasonable and varied depending on time of day and night (5-10 euro). Thank you for making our first trip to Rome an unforgettable experience. AM/USA

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andystassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews