We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic staff; really made a difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #37 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff; really made a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Rome on business and as a rule the staff have been really good but they really were exceptional at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable; breakfast great. Unfortunately a party of rugby fans were staying for one of the nights I was there and I had some idiot banging on my door at 2.30am in the morning shouting that "It's not funny, let me in" , rather than have some drunken lout fall in if I opened the door I called the front desk and they immediately sent someone up who spoke very gently to the drunk pointing out they were at the wrong room and managed to deal with a tricky situation with a great deal of aplomb. We also had to make several requests for printing/loan of umbrellas etc. and every single request was met with complete service, polite; efficient and willing. The Hotel is ideally placed but it is because of the staff that I would really recommend this hotel to my colleagues, friends and family, they make the difference

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    386
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
279
656
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The best thing the hotel has to recommend to it is location: you are central and getting around is really, really easy. However, the hotel itself does little to deserve its "official" 4-star rating; it seems to be doing things OK but not really getting the details down that make some hotel stays magical. Little things, like decent coffee at breakfast, or a new bar of soap from the cleaning crew (really, I had to snag a new one off a cleaning cart after our little soap bar was used up and not replaced after two days). The rooms themselves seem slightly shabby. The tub leaked, leaving a huge puddle on the tile floor, but I thought that this probably explained the water stains on the ceiling of our room ... The non-free high-speed wifi is deeply irritating, especially for a hotel that bills itself as business-friendly (they have an attached conference center). You get an hour of "free" wifi with your room each day but at speeds that are glacial (reminded me of dialup). The front desk staff was exemplary, always friendly and helpful; the restaurant staff uniformly grumpy. I've stayed here several times since 2003 and really like the place but I feel it used to be better ... and you cannot beat the location. 3 minutes walk to the Pantheon, 7 to Piazza Navona, Ara Pacis or the Trevi Fountain, 12-15 to the base of the Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter and have a view of the city skyline, including the dome o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deconstructoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is very well situated in the Piazza Colona just off Via di Corso. Warm welcome from staff. .
Continental breakfast excellent. Public rooms spacious and comfortable. Wi-fi not free is my only gripe and €10 a day is a bit rich.
I will stay here again on my next trip to Rome

Room Tip: Request a room on the 5th floor at the back check out the view of the Vatican over the rooftops of R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stazyed there in April 2011 for a congress, arrival was a bit tough because i wasnt prepared for the cobblestones, but soon I fount out why everyone is wearing training shoes in Rome. Got a room on the top floor, which was obviously built later on top of the hotel, wasnt too stylish from utside but provided and asonishing view on the roof garden of the house next door. The rooftop room tended to get very hot in the afternoon even in April but the view over the rooftops was wonderful. The staff was generally nice, althiugh on the day of my arrival i was sleeping in the afternoon when a lady came to check if i needed anything for the night and she actually walked me up so she can ask this. Also, there were workers reconstructing something on the roof, and the workers went outside from the top floor, and were very loud talking in the corridor early in the morning. Also they had a dining room there and were talking there very loudly. When i told the receptionist that the workers wake me up at six and maybe he could ask them not to shout on the corridors he got upset and told me he wont stop roof works for me. I tried to explain that i have no problem when they outside working only when on the corridor but he didnt seem to believe they really walk me up, so eventually i gave up. Apart from that i had no problem with the staff. The location is good, although it is located next to some parliament like building and when people are demonstrating the area is closed and you have to go around, Also taxis cant go straight to the hotel so you have to walk a bit. But all attractions are quite nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
266 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful. Perfect location, just few minutes from the main shopping street Via del Corso. Around 30-40 minutes from Vatican. There are lots of restaurants around offering extensive menus for good prices.The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and a view over the square. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel has spacious rooms and good service. This was a historic elegant hotel, welcoming and beautifully finished. Hotel is located in the heart of Rome's historic center, the hotel is in an 18th-century building, close to the capital’s most famous monuments, and just 100 m from Fontana Di Trevi. The breakfast was very good and good selection of food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odd_Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This has been our second time in Hotel Nazionale and we must confess that it was a 180 degrees change in comparison with our first visit earlier this year.

From the beginning the staff at the Reception desk was very welcoming and they took their time to provide us with maps and information on what to do in Rome during the holiday season before sending our luggage to the room. We were gladly surprised because during our last visit they barely gave us the room key and indicated the location of the lift.

The room assigned to us was well appointed and in much better condition. It really showed that it was recently updated. We had a magnificent view of the famous Roman rooftops along with St. Peter's cupola.

Breakfast was also improved with a wider selection of fruits, cold cuts and bakery. We highly appreciate having the traditional Panettone on Christmas morning.

The staff at the bar was very helpful and cordial. We really enjoyed sharing a glass of Prosecco with our family and friends while waiting for dinner or just before exploring the restaurants around.

Indeed the best asset of the Hotel is its location: just few minutes away from the most famous tourist attractions, archeological sites, nice shopping streets, beautiful buildings and different types of Restaurants.

Overall we had a great time and we are looking forward to return to Rome soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors enjoy better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#51 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#45 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing