We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good deal on a quiet hotel in Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariano Hotel
Ranked #539 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good deal on a quiet hotel in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Upon our arrival to Rome our hotel reservation fell through and we were forced to scramble for a hotel by the train station at 10 o'clock at night. We spent the night at the Quisisana for a cost of 85 euros. It was one of the least expensive hotels in the "termini" area, which is one of the cheapest areas to stay in Rome. This hotel,while serviceable, smelled bad and was not very clean.

The next day, for the same price we found the Mariana Hotel. This was a big step up! The hotel welcomes you with a clean, modern lobby and friendly service staff. We booked a double room. The room was very clean and well decorated. We had cable TV and one of the best showers I'd experienced on my travels. The best part was that the area was very quiet at night as the hotel is situated on a nice, well lit plaza. Continental breakfast is included in the price. It wasn't anything too special , but it was better than your average continental in Italy.

The only drawbacks would be that currently they are doing some minor construction on the building during the day ( after 10 AM) and you can here some of the early morning rush if you try to sleep in.

Overall I would definitely reccommend this hotel. Especially if you are on a budget, but would like to stay somewhere decent and clean. We enjoyed it !!

Room Tip: try to stay on the second floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigal78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    247
    169
    45
    42
See reviews for
102
278
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We booked through an internet hotel booking service at 72 Euros per night. The rooms are compact but well appointed. They are also air-conditioned which you need in Rome in summer if you want to sleep well. The bathroom and toilet are very modern but smallish but were still okay. There is no fridge in rooms or internet access. There is a 24 hour receptionist so late arrivals are no problem. The hotel is only 3 blocks from the main train and bus station so it is an easy walk. There are numerous cheap restaurants in the area and at the station. There is a park across the road which is great for sitting down and relaxing. There is also a free wi-fi hot-spot in the park and at the main station. Breakfast was simple but ample for starting off the day. The automatic coffee machine made excellent coffee with lots of crema.

Room Tip: We did not experience any outside noise from our room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greggie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice in Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Location is very near station
Staffs are very kind
But internet can`t use

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Ruidant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The hotel has a great location, 5 minutes walking from the Termini Station. The reception staff is very friendly and the room is very large, although the bathroom is extremely small.
The breakfast is very poor, and the staff of the breakfast room are very rude.
Overall, I would stay again in this hotel for the great location and the cheap price, but would definitely skip breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great hotel good allround helpfull staff close to monuments public transport on the doorstep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank woodgnomeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Walkable distance from Termini easy to find all staff very friendly the guys on Reception very helpfull, giving useful info and directions with a smile. Our room was clean and tidy with good bathroom facilities. We found our travel kettle very useful. We had a front bedroom which had three beds a double and a single it was a little noisy in the morning if you had the window open, the back bedrooms are quiter but smaller. Overall we had a great time and very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was large and clean and it was clearly obvious that it had recently been renovated as it seemed very new, we were on the 5th floor on the back which was recommended for a quiet stay, the view was not great but we were not there to look out a window all day.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and the location was a 5 minute walk from the termini station, make sure however that when you leave the station and turn left as instructed, you are at the very end of the station not the side entrance as you could easily go wrong.

Our only criticism was the breakfast, was basically hard bread rolls, and very sugary croissants, and some cereal that looked like it had not been changed for ages.

Be wary of the City tax that you have to pay in cash when you check out its 2 euros per person per night, there was a sign in reception when checking in to advice.

Chinese food seems to be the norm around the area.








Our









The

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#608 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#950 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#532 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Milo
Hotel Milo
#646 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#879 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariano Hotel

Property: Mariano Hotel
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Italian Officers Quarters dating from 1880 offers modern comfort; located near Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mariano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariano Hotel Rome
Hotel Mariano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing