We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thin walls, unfriendly stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Ranked #461 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thin walls, unfriendly stuff”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Walls a so thin, you can hear every noise!!! Personal is not really eager to help, however they do their job. In fact it is one or maximum 2 stars hotel! Nevertheless you pay tourist taxes as for a 4 star hotel.
On the other hand it was a cheap option to stay, good location and though breakfast was bit boring, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emaxphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    168
    68
    43
    13
See reviews for
54
177
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We, me and my family, have been visiting rome and this hotel for the third time. We are swiss and we love to travel around italia with our vAn.
I have told what i disliked this plac in the last resusumes but this time i have to point some features out.
The place is nice, it's cheap and the service is splendid. What we noticed that it is inrpoving over the years. I dedicate this post to the kindness and dedication of the ovners. Go there try it. It's a great place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I read all the reviews before arriving at this hotel and I will try and clarify whey the rating variation. Europe's rating system is very different to the USA. The fact that a hotel has TV, private bathrooms and breakfast may well help a hotel get 4 stars in Europe. 4 stars does not mean Hilton or Marriott the way it may in the USA. It would likely be 2.5-3 stars in the USA.

The rooms are small. The beds are not comfortable and the pillows horrible. Expect brightly coloured sheets, clean rooms, odd furniture, small old style private bathrooms and some road noise depending on the room. There are no insect screens and an open window means getting eaten by mosquitos. The TV reception didnt seem to work but we were not bothered. There was airconditioning but I am not sure about its efficiency

Yes the elevator is tiny. 2 people and baggage is overcrowded but its a modern installation not 100 years old. The breakfast is fairly basic but included. Internet only works in lobby not in rooms. Staff are friendly enough and people feel welcome. There is a hotel cat that will greet you at the front but there was also a friendly rat too that poked its head out from the pot plants.

Its about 10 minutes walk to the subway, no major problem. This is Rome, you must walk to see the sights. There is limited car parking for about 2-3 cars so please call ahead re parking. The furniture/art is eclectic - our room had a large painting of a naked woman with a leg cut off.

If the rate for this hotel is priced right and you are aware of its limitations/style then I don't have a problem recommending it. The fact that it was basically clean goes a long way and we survived. Perhaps just bring insect repellent and your own pillow

Room Tip: Avoid Rome in the peak of summer. Ask for a low floor facing the rear to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The night staff is really rude and not helpful although the day manager was really helpful and good and gave us some tips on where to go for sightseeing. This hotel should be rated 3 Stars at best. The aircon was not working even though it was only Autumn. The bathroom and room was really small. Breakfast was ok but there was no wifi in the rooms. The location is quite central and quite near public transport.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSLaiWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We booked this hotel as one of Expedia's mystery offers. It was promised as a 4 star hotel, but I think it would be lucky to rate a 3.

The hotel was clean and there was a modern lift. The room and bathroom were an acceptable size for 2 for Rome; -small, but we have seen smaller. We were happy to get access to our room prior to the official check in time, and pleased to see breakfast and wi-fi included. There are some interesting pieces ofI furniture in the public areas.

It's handy to transport; from the Airport Express train terminal, a 20 minutes walk, there's a little yellow train that stops near the hotel, or from the main station catch the green tram 5 or 14. (You could catch a taxi, but be prepared for a guided of Rome.) The hotel is in a mostly residential area that feels quite safe, and is about a 5-minute walk from the Metro. There are historical monuments and good restaurants within a short walk.

The downsides? The a/c and ventilation were non-existent. We either had fresh air with the windows open - but disturbed sleep from the noise of the scooters and cars on the cobbled streets, or the room was hot and stuffy (this was late October) and sleep was again disturbed. The room looked tired, with holes in the carpet, lots of scuff marks on the walls, and a lot of black marks near the non-functioning a/c duct. The room safe was not attached to anything; it just sat it the cupboard. The breakfast eggs have more of a future in the Michelin factory than inside me.

I'd stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Perhaps one of the rooms looking out over the courtyard might give you a better chance of some sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birchgrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked this hotel on Expedia as a 4 star hotel. It turns out to be a 2 star Mexican at best. When we arrived it didn't look very promising but as we had prepaid, through Expedia's
Unpublished Rate Offers where you are not told the name of the Hotel until after you book and prepay (can not be cancelled and not refundable), we thought we would "tough it out".
After viewing the "garden", lobby, breakfast area, elevator and our room, all of which are pretty bleak, we decided to try to get a room elsewhere and forfeit our payment. The Hotel
is very old, dark, dusty, very eclectic with a mishmash of old furniture and accessaries and
eccentric paintings. The elevator has room for one person and one bag and it is easier to drag your luggage up the steps. To begin with the room was a fire trap with iron barred
windows, very poor furniture, a bed you would not want to sleep in, dirty looking, small, the air conditioning didn't work all topped off with a lovely portrait in oils over the the bed of a women with blood running down her face. Do not trust expedia's ratings and unless your
desperate you may wish to pick another hotel. We ended up staying at the Bernini Bristol
which was like entering into heaven after the Emona experience but at $400.00 + a night it was a little short of its price tag but a great location and good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AlfCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July. Before booking I had contacted the hotel to make sure they could accomodate us with a room for three people. We were assured this would be fine. However, on arrival, although the room was nicely decorated the door to the bathroom was just coloured glass with no curtain etc, completely unsuitable for three. On request our room was changed the next morning to one that was more suitable although this then became a tighter squeeze.
The staff seemed to be a bit defensive but relaxed somewhat when they realised we were not argumentative. Breakfast was average. Although advertised as having wi-fi this was variable and very slow. The AC did not work at all well and this seemed to be a general complaint amongst other visitors - it was very hot at the time.
Whilst I have made these negative comments, the hotel was in a good location for Rome. The decor was interesting although perhaps not to everyone's taste, the hotel were helpful with keeping baggage on our day of departure. There was a lovely garden area outside and a relaxing lobby area with access to a computer for guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#600 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#280 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Hotel Turner
#696 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#887 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Best Roma
Hotel Best Roma
#830 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#360 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emona Aquaeductus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Property: Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Address: Via Statilia 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emona Aquaeductus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emona Aquaeductus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emona Aquaeductus Hotel
Emona Aquaeductus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing