We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Boutique Hotel Comfort in a Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #359 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
285 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Comfort in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hotel Siena was a welcoming and comfortable place after our cruise. The location was its first appeal. It is walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and the shops at Via Condotti. The hotel staff was helpful and most of them were friendly. As for the others, it's hard to be too friendly when the English is a struggle.They arranged our ride to the airport for the next day and helped us bring our (lots of) luggage up to our fourth floor room in several trips in their tiny elevator (normal for European boutique hotels from what I've seen). The room was clean and comfortable. It was small, which is also normal for European hotels, but we had all the space we needed. I liked the hardwood floor, which made the hotel room seem cleaner than most.The bed was comfortable. Keep in mind there is no A/C if you stay there in the summer. This was not an issue to us in early November, and there is a high-tech fan and a window one could open in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    164
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
154
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

For a first time visitor to Rome, Hotel Siena was in the perfect location. Centrally located, staff was very on point, room was clean and nice. Awesome shower and decent size - nicely appointed. The complimentary breakfast was on point and the woman working in the break ate area- whose name I don't remember, was extremely pleasant and had a wonderful smile... And amadeus great cappuccinos. It was a delightful start to the day and left us well nourished in anticipation of a long day of Cobblestone hopping. Only downside, the walls were a bit on the thin side, and to be in a busy area, it could get a little loud.

As someone who works in the hotel industry food the past 20 years, attention to detail is often in the forefront of my mind and this hotel passed my high standards. Even the professional pictures posted online are a perfect representation and I would have no trouble recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I had the absolute pleasure of staying in this delightful chic little gem of a hotel for 12 nights! I arrived late in the evening and I was greeted warmly and welcomed with a cocktail from their bar. My room was modern with a black leather headboard, large bed, balcony, lovely slick black tiled en-suite bathroom. It contained good air-conditioning (needed in August), a mini-bar, reasonable storage space and a safe to put valuable items. The rooms are cleaned very well by the friendly staff daily. The guys at reception are warm, friendly and very helpful for any queries you may have. They will give you a handy map of Rome to show you were everything is located.
In the mornings breakfast (7.30am-10am) is a self service buffet style affair, you can eat as much or as little as you want, in a clean inviting room with everything you need to get started on your adventures; cereal, cold meats, fruit, croissants, pastries, bread, juice and you will be served coffee to your liking by a very friendly woman who always has a smile!
One of the main advantages of this hotel is just how centrally located you are to so much, Trevi fountain is a few minutes away, so is the spanish steps. Right beside the spanish steps is the Metro/train station 'Spagna" which you go through to a) use the metro system which is very convenient (i.e. only a few stops to the Vatican) and b) you can walk through the tunnel to get to the wonderful Borghese Galleria - it's all signposted and very easy!
You can walk to the colosseum, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo, Museo dell 'Ara Pacis, Galleria Doria Pamphilj, Capitoline Museums and more... for those of you who like shopping you will be spoilt by the high end shops around the corner, i.e Prada, Versace, Chanel, Emporio Armani, Gucci etc However, there are more high street shops on 'Via del Corso' i.e. Gap, Adidas, Diesel, Zara, Levi etc.
In the evenings you're again spoilt by the plethora of restaurants in which you can dine that are close to the hotel...as well as places to indulge in delicious gelato (ice cream)Finally, if you haven't been to Rome before, when you go out and you use the toilet, in some places when you're ready to wash your hands there are no taps! Look at the floor you will see a pedal, press down and hey presto water!
Anyway, I really recommend this hotel - I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flaresBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked five nights at this hotel and left after one night. Other than being clean, although the room had an awful odor from incense oil sticks, I can not say anything positive about our experience. The rooms were very small and when a cot was added to one room for our children, the double bed and cot consumed the entire floor space. The two floors on which our rooms were located were under construction and there was construction debris in the hall. The shower/bath tub had a "window" at one end which opened onto an internal fire escape; however the glass in the "window" was not frosted and there was construction scaffolding erected in the fire escape. The service was non existent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jogger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Excellent location.

Decent rooms, but that fine since you will spend very little time in your hotel room in Rome. Breakfast was quite simple but decent.

One set back was the loo,although sparkling clean,was extremely small. Even the shower cabinet was way too uncomfortable.

But over all good value. and EXCELLENT LOCATION!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yudhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pyatigorsk, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel with friend for a week. The location was just perfect: Trevi fontain and Spanish steps just 5 min walk and the area aroun hotel is nice. Breakfast was average but very good anyway, staff is very helpfull and nice, speaks english fluently. We had a very small room, but it was clean and cozy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asyathesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Good base for exploring Rome,few minutes away from Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountains.Little rooms but that's common in Rome,clean,chic and relaxing,breakfast bit average.Friendly and helpful staff.Definitely would stay there again!

Room Tip: few minutes walk from Spagna Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanillkaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel, Rome
Spanish Art Hotel, Rome
#553 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#560 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#232 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#175 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#404 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: Via di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte 33, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#192 Family Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing