We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Pavia??? Forget this one!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pavia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pavia
Ranked #1,166 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
California
2 reviews
“Hotel Pavia??? Forget this one!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We were warned to avoid but due to the proximity to the train station and an early departure the next morning we took a chance and booked. A 3 star rating so we were not expecting "luxury." However, room barely held two twin beds, worn and stained carpeting, the shower flooded the whole bathroom--drain in the middle of the floor no less. Fortunately we spent only a few hours to catch some sleep but "escaped" at the break of dawn.. Far overpriced with no ammenities.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    15
    22
    51
See reviews for
18
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We had reserved, through a tourist agent in Greece, two quadruple rooms for three nights and the official internet site of the hotel (www.hotelpavia.it) promised a joyful and nice stay. Unfortunately when we entered the hotel and the rooms on 17/07/2008, we faced a different situation. It was the most dirty and uncomfortable room we had ever seen!
The dirty black wallpapers, the stained floor carpets, the tearing towels like rags, the cracked ceilings, the mould wardrobes, the broken and uncovered lightings and the webs of spiders hanging from the ceilings were really disappointed us during the most important part of our trip in Italy. In addition, the space among the beds was extremely restricted for quadruple rooms and the toilet was separated from the room with a drawn door which did not entirely close. The antennas of the televisions were broken, some of the sockets did not work and the drain system in the toilet was blocked. We were also really surprised when the reception stuff offered us the air condition for an additional rate of 13 euros per day (!!!!).
There is no doubt that we had to leave such a hotel immediately… but we were obliged to pay 13 euros per car (!!!) for using the hotel parking place for 4 hours, until we find the proper hotel for us.
So never go to Pavia Hotel! Never…

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zero100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southern Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed in Hotel Pavia for four nights in March 2009. The room we got was very small. There was one bed and the bathroom was the smallest ever. There was mold on the walls. Disgusting. We asked for a bigger room and got it on the second day. This one was bigger with separate beds. No mold on this room, but there were small ants instead. The room was cleaned and organized (our stuff moved around) everyday so in a way one could say that it was tidy. It doesn't help much when the whole place is in need of renovation.
At night it was quite noisy. You could here noise from outside and also from the other rooms.
A good things about Hotel Pavia is the location near Termini station. The staff was also very nice and helpful. Breakfast was alright too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anulikanuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool200808
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

I went to the hotel Pavia in 2008 for my birthday. The first room I was put in was so dirty and grimey with a toilet that was practically inside the tiny shower. I complained immediately and demanded another room. I was moved the following day onto another dirty room with a tiny bathroom where I could shower, use the toilet and sink at the same time.

I also came away with a 'skin disease' from my stay in this hotel. I came out in a red rash all over my legs on my 3rd day there, this spread up the whole of my body, my GP said she wasn't sure what it was but it was a fungal skin infection of sorts and I'd caught it from somewhere 'dirty'. I can assure you the only 'dirty' place I went to was the Hotel Pavia.

DO NOT GO THERE, IT'S A NIGHTMARE AND WILL SPOIL YOUR STAY IN ROME.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool200808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Arrived with my niece to be greeted by sweaty looking receptionist, shown to room on request. TINY, dirty and smelly with 'balcony'/deathtrap. Ensuite consisted of dated toilet with 'shower' in v.close proximity to toilet (showerhead and dirty curtain = shower ). As it was late we had to stay the night but booked out at dawn without staying for breakfast.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unclean
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank barnetts117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

i think first and foremost it is important to read new reviews of a A hotel. i have stayed in this hotel on two occasions- the first time being 5 years ago and again very recently

the changes are amazing - the hotel is now very clean and tidy, They have obviously spent a lot of time doing this place up

The showers are nice and hot and very clean, the breakfast is prompt and served with a smile

Ok, So this is not the Ritz but it is a friendly, Warm and welcoming little B&B with a central location

I have found the staff very eager to help you and their english has certainly improved since the last time i was there

I would recommend this little hotel to anyone wanting to spend a short break in Rome

  • Liked — Wonderfull Cental Location
  • Disliked — PErhaps a bit too small
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ninzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

A group of 14 came for the rugby,7 couples we checked in to the very cleanhotel where nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The linen was changed daily, the breakfast was excellent.
It felt like home from home, would definately recommend it for anyone visiting the city, it is near the termini and you are able to see the sites. Easy acsess to all areas.!!!!!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourteen-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Baltic
#1,076 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,092 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Sallustio
Hotel Sallustio
#1,003 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#716 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#392 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#852 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavia

Property: Hotel Pavia
Address: Via Gaeta 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,166 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in historical villa with a small garden; situated near the Terme di Diocleziano Gardens and Termini Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing