We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly family operated hotel in awesome historical center of Roma”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #198 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly family operated hotel in awesome historical center of Roma”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Third time staying at this quaint family owned and operated hotel - and just as enjoyable a stay as previous visits! Located in centro storico Roma within view of the mighty Roman coloseum. There are plenty of little restaurants, coffee shops, and tiny grocery stores in the vicinity. A tasty buffet breakfast is served each morning in the rooftop terrace dining room - including custom made delicious cappucini! :) Many, many thanks to the delightful family and staff of Hotel Apollo. We appreciate all your kind care & thoughtfulness. We look forward to our next trip to Rome and again staying at your hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank our_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    315
    80
    17
    16
See reviews for
257
249
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Hotel Apollo was an amazing find ! The location cant get any better, the colosseum being a short walk from the hotel. What is also extremely convenient is that the Metro station Cavour is just a 5 min walk so we could explore Rome extensively by using the train. The Trevi fountain as well as Campo di Fiori markets are also at a walkable distance. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and well equipped and we loved the breakfast on the rooftop terrace especially the freshly made coffee and hot croissants.The only things we were not too happy about were that the bathrooms expecially the shower box is very small and secondly there were mosquitos in the room but they didnt have and couldnt provide any mosquito repellants in the room. Inspite of these minor defects we would still stay here on our next visit to Rome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at their apartments in front of Cavour station, the environment was superb, we walked and enjoyed the cafes, restaurants and shops around the hotel. So close to the colleseum that was unreal. You can't afford not to stay here, specially if traveling with kids as the unit will fit easily 5 person (we are 4) the staf really helpful and the rooms impeccable clean. It maximized our experience in Rome, I'm looking forward to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Apollo is a 24 room family owned and run hotel. It is very conveniently located with 10 to 15 minutes walking distance of several of Rome's main tourist attractions eg Colosseum and Trevi Fountain. There are four storeys of guest rooms, serviced by lift and stairs. The breakfast room is located on the fifth floor, accessible only by stairs; less mobile guests might need to enquire about room service.

Our double room was spacious and beautifully finished. Clearly it had been designed to impart "classiness" to its functionality. The spacious bathroom had been designed the same way.

The buffet breakfast is excellent with abundant supplies of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads and spreads, cold meats and cheese. Fresh juices, tea and coffee are complemented by cappuchinos on request.

Massimo the proprietor is a charming host who ensures a warm welcome.

We did find our room a little too warm even with the airconditioner on. We solved this by opening the windows, although this allowed some traffic noise in.

Overall, we found the Apollo to be a friendly comfortable haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome. We would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 4, 5, or 6 are further back from the street and may be quieter if the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ozgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Very pleasant family run hotel. The rooms were small but clean and delightfully Italian Mama in their decor. It was a short walk to the Colosseum and about 15 to 20 minutes to The Pantheon. The breakfast on roof terrace was a great way to start a Roman day. Great stay fantastic service and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The neat thing about this hotel is that it does actually look exactly like the online pictures, no surprises. It was clean and the front desk recommended some nice restaurants and gave us a wonderful map.

Now, just FYI kind of things - the shower is SMALL. It looks exactly like the picture, but it is small. The towels are huge, but thin (probably so they fit into the shower with you... ).

Our room was on the front of the hotel, and we could see the Coloseum when we looked to the left. We had noise reduction shutters, which, while it wasn't terribly noisy, they definitely made a difference.

It is a great central location, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel suprised us in so many ways. The family were unbelievably friendly, their English was perfect (they helped me with my broken Italian), the location was excellent (5mins walk from the Colosseum, 15min from from the centre of town), breakfast was very good and on the top balcony, the room was refurbished and the bathrooms exceptional by Rome standards! The WiFi was 5 Euro for 3 hours but the connection was fast and consistent. The local area had some really good restraunts, expecially as you turn right out of the hotel. I would recomend this place to anyone looking to stay in Rome. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Aparently the street side room was a bit noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chodoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,261 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#230 of 1,261 in Rome
538 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#171 of 1,261 in Rome
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,261 in Rome
284 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#182 of 1,261 in Rome
1,050 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#250 of 1,261 in Rome
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#309 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing