We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Ranked #304 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
tauranga
Level Contributor
214 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic fantastic”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

where do you start the check in the friendly staff the decor the quaint street and setting
a true gem
Fernando on the front desk a true professional and so helpful when I lost
a front tooth in the evening he rang an emergency dentist appointment made at 8am the following morning
the buffet breakfast is second to none the choice amazing
the hoel is situated near the spanish steps with many arty farty shops in the streets and heaps of cafes and restaurants
well done will return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    203
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
95
231
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location is fantastic................. tucked away in leafy side street packed with artists' stalls but only minutes from the main shopping area and within easy walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are quite small but spotless and everything worked fine. Breakfast is a typical continental affair but do be prepared to wait for a table if you arrive after 10am. On arrival found the member of staff on reception to be competent but rude but in fairness most were friendly which helped disspell the initial bad impression. All in all, the location of this hotel is second to none but the hotel and rooms are quite ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dub58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps in Rome for 3 days in April. It is a beautiful, modern hotel in a former college. The breakfast/bar/dining area is the former chapel and really the onle evidence of it's previous life. The rest is an Architect's dream hotel. Etched glass with St. Peter's Basilica, Leonardo's perfect man, the Villa Palladio, even the Pantheon floor plan painted on the floor. Each floor is a jarring color, we stayed the cobalt blue floor, where sensors illumuniate in floor lighted words on the perimeter of the hall. The green, orange and yellow floors might have been a bit much after too much chianti. The room is small, but so is everything. It served our needs for our time there. The bed was hard, the heat option on the hair dryer was not working. There was no hair condtioner, so americans beware. The breakfast was fantastic and filling, great coffee! The location is terrific, close to the Metro and very close to the Spanish Steps. We walked from the Hotel to St. Peter's, about an hour. We also walked to the Colosseum, about the same time. Front desk staff speak excellent English and were very helpful with great restaurants and information. Wonderful hotel in an artistic, off-the beaten bath; but central location!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard. Our room, on the entrance alley gave us insight to deliveries to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

wonderfull staff! best location!
room clean,medium size.
very nice will come again!

Room Tip: room 306-307 very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michal3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a very special hotel. Top notch service, where they change your towels twice a day if needed. It has a sense of style which is typically Roman, in a little QUIET street full of art galleries and very good restaurants, away from the hustle of the main roads.The reception staff are incredibly willing to help make any arrangements and speak English with great ease.The breakfast is wonderful - start with Prosecco, then fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghourts etc. Then move onto smoked salmon and soft cheeses. Next you can have bacon, eggs and mushrooms, to be supplemented by a typically italian choice of salamis and cheeses. Finish off with croissants and even cream cake. Espresso, cappucino, straight coffee or a huge variety of teas are also available.

The rooms are small, but the plumbing is excellent. So what's the downside? A ridiculously high price for internet, at 8 euro an hour. Pathetic in a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was just reading other reviews of this hotel before I post my own. One commonality I notice among many reviews: the rudeness of the front desk staff and the small rooms. The front desk staff is not particularly helpful or friendly. There are so many wonderful, friendly people in Rome. I would fire these front desk clerks and get people to better represent the hotel. Although they weren't overtly rude to me, they were cold and unfriendly.

It's true the room was painfully small, but the bed was comfortable, the internet very strong, and I did like the bathroom. The location is fantastic...down a small, quiet street lined with art galleries in a very chic part of town. It's a quiet little corner of Rome to escape and relax after a day plying through hordes of people sightseeing.

The team who serves breakfast was fantastic (Breakfast was delicious, by the way. Lovely assortment of fruits, cheeses, juices and wonderful coffee). The wait staff was extremely attentive and polite.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. You don't spend much time in your hotel room in room, and I found the experience overall to be quite pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD_Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed with the location of Hotel Art and the lobby (an old church) is great. However the rooms are rather small, and the staff were rude and unhelpful.

Upon checkout, I was overcharged for mini bar and laundry, I felt like a criminal and had to wait for five minutes to get the bill reprinted. The incorrect laundry wasn't changed and to save mucking around further I jus paid it.

The biggest shock was the breakfast staff - breakfast opens at 7am, but we had a taxi then. The area was fully set up and I asked a staff member if I cold quickly grab a box of muesli, he grumbled but agreed. Upon sitting down I started to get abused about messing up his area and that the rules are the rules! Not a great feeling...

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#290 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#263 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#243 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps

Property: Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Address: Via Margutta 56 | Centre -Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#288 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the verses of poets that guide the steps of guests of the Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps on Via Margutta in the artistic heart of Rome, few steps from Piazza di Spagna. Do not expect signs: the entrance is a minimalist passageway hidden by the many art galleries on Via Margutta.The Hall was once a chapel now below vaults decorated with a starry sky there are the tables of the bar restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing