We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$315
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$267
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$232
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$313
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$382
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
241
234
82
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
234
82
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsquiet streetgreat locationside streetrooms are smalldesigner shopsmodern designpiazza di spagnavia condottihotel locatedthe hotel staffroman holidayfive star hoteldeluxe roompastriestrevi fountainour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location is fantastic................. tucked away in leafy side street packed with artists' stalls but only minutes from the main shopping area and within easy walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are quite small but spotless and everything worked fine. Breakfast is a typical continental affair but do be prepared to wait for a table if you arrive after 10am. On arrival found the member of staff on reception to be competent but rude but in fairness most were friendly which helped disspell the initial bad impression. All in all, the location of this hotel is second to none but the hotel and rooms are quite ordinary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dub58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps in Rome for 3 days in April. It is a beautiful, modern hotel in a former college. The breakfast/bar/dining area is the former chapel and really the onle evidence of it's previous life. The rest is an Architect's dream hotel. Etched glass with St. Peter's Basilica, Leonardo's perfect man, the Villa Palladio, even the Pantheon floor plan painted on the floor. Each floor is a jarring color, we stayed the cobalt blue floor, where sensors illumuniate in floor lighted words on the perimeter of the hall. The green, orange and yellow floors might have been a bit much after too much chianti. The room is small, but so is everything. It served our needs for our time there. The bed was hard, the heat option on the hair dryer was not working. There was no hair condtioner, so americans beware. The breakfast was fantastic and filling, great coffee! The location is terrific, close to the Metro and very close to the Spanish Steps. We walked from the Hotel to St. Peter's, about an hour. We also walked to the Colosseum, about the same time. Front desk staff speak excellent English and were very helpful with great restaurants and information. Wonderful hotel in an artistic, off-the beaten bath; but central location!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard. Our room, on the entrance alley gave us insight to deliveries to the hotel and neighbors. The neighbor's porch/front door light certainly kept me up an night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

wonderfull staff! best location!
room clean,medium size.
very nice will come again!

Room Tip: room 306-307 very big!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a very special hotel. Top notch service, where they change your towels twice a day if needed. It has a sense of style which is typically Roman, in a little QUIET street full of art galleries and very good restaurants, away from the hustle of the main roads.The reception staff are incredibly willing to help make any arrangements and speak English with great ease.The breakfast is wonderful - start with Prosecco, then fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghourts etc. Then move onto smoked salmon and soft cheeses. Next you can have bacon, eggs and mushrooms, to be supplemented by a typically italian choice of salamis and cheeses. Finish off with croissants and even cream cake. Espresso, cappucino, straight coffee or a huge variety of teas are also available.

The rooms are small, but the plumbing is excellent. So what's the downside? A ridiculously high price for internet, at 8 euro an hour. Pathetic in a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was just reading other reviews of this hotel before I post my own. One commonality I notice among many reviews: the rudeness of the front desk staff and the small rooms. The front desk staff is not particularly helpful or friendly. There are so many wonderful, friendly people in Rome. I would fire these front desk clerks and get people to better represent the hotel. Although they weren't overtly rude to me, they were cold and unfriendly.

It's true the room was painfully small, but the bed was comfortable, the internet very strong, and I did like the bathroom. The location is fantastic...down a small, quiet street lined with art galleries in a very chic part of town. It's a quiet little corner of Rome to escape and relax after a day plying through hordes of people sightseeing.

The team who serves breakfast was fantastic (Breakfast was delicious, by the way. Lovely assortment of fruits, cheeses, juices and wonderful coffee). The wait staff was extremely attentive and polite.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. You don't spend much time in your hotel room in room, and I found the experience overall to be quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieD_Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews