We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Stylish, not so friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Ranked #299 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel has a very modern decor and is located right next to the Spanish Steps. I stayed here for three days in Rome. The hotel's modern design was impressive but I would not stay there again for a few reasons.

1. I found the staff to be aloof and unfriendly. When I asked for help, I would get clip, short responses that made me feel I was definitely bothering them. One of the front desk staff even seemed to look away each time I approached the desk obviously about to ask a question.

2. The location was not the best. Near the Spanish Steo you mostly just have a lot of ultra high-end stores and since I was there to see sights, rather than shop, I didn't see much I was interested in. I had to travel out to find the restaurants and sights. I would have preferred to have them within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect, right near Via del Corso, Piazza Del Popolo and the Spanish steps. The interior is very modern and funky, and the staff were really helpful and speak perfect English. Breakfast was also lovely. A great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great location by the Spanish steps and Piazza popollo. Great building.

Beautiful design in the rooms and dining area. Very very helpful and friendly staff! WEre happy to help us with all of our requests. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank StevenM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

No doubts about the location it is perfect and its greatest attribute . The hotel is modern and slick as you would expect from an Art hotel . They can work magic on a small room and a cupboard of a toilet . The rooms are correctly priced . However no wifi in the rooms and you have to pay to access it in the lobby..not modern !! The food and breakfast were of high quality and the general service was up to standard but not extra. We can recommend it as a functional clean modernised centrally located hotel . We would stay here again , I just hope they fix the wifi situation .

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank W4_M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

What a cool place. Tucked away but in the middle of everything, quiet, loved the decor, loved the exclusive feel. Lots of neat art, room size and features as expected and the staff were very willing to go out of their way to accommodate our various requests. Nice selection of breakfast meats, particularly the red-pepper sopressata, which was paired off with a nice fontina, I think. I'd rather stay here than a mainstream hotel every day of the week. You will be thrilled.

Room Tip: We stayed at the end of the hall on the Orange Hall and it was quite fine. Of course, flipping the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Location, ambience, comfy beds, great breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room. We have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. We love the funky multi coloured floors and the clean white background in the lobby which shows up the art pieces. Staff are always pleasant, helpful and polite. The hotel is in Via Margutta which is a nice quiet street only a couple of minutes walk from the Spanish Steps. It is a well-priced and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouiseandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Pros: Really cool art all around the hotel. Bed and pillow were super comfy. Breakfast spread was varied and delicious and the lobby where you eat it is architecturally inviting. Location near the Spanish Steps is ideal. The actual street the hotel is on is very cute and romantic. Room size is fine. Close to Spanga metro station. Tons of shopping in the area. Very quiet at night.

Cons: They only give you wifi for free for 30 mins. Then you have to pay. And wifi only works in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,273 in Rome
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#358 of 1,273 in Rome
777 reviews
Campo Marzio
GKK Exclusive Private Suites
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#342 of 1,273 in Rome
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps

Address: Via Margutta 56 | Centre -Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Rome
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#287 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $208 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the verses of poets that guide the steps of guests of the Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps on Via Margutta in the artistic heart of Rome, few steps from Piazza di Spagna. Do not expect signs: the entrance is a minimalist passageway hidden by the many art galleries on Via Margutta.The Hall was once a chapel now below vaults decorated with a starry sky there are the tables of the bar restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing