We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located”
Review of Milani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milani Hotel
Ranked #451 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well Located”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The room was very basic but if you are only using it to literally lay your head somewhere in between site seeing then this is ideal but if your are seeking something a bit more luxurious i would not reccomend this. Bed was quite hard also.

The breakfast was good and staff seemed friendly and happy to help on reception and had no problem with us checking in quite early.

The location of the milani is very good, a two minute walk from Termini station where most coaches from either airport go to....and only a 10-15 minute walk from a lot of the sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    328
    155
    49
    36
See reviews for
155
280
52
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in room 210.. LHS of reception-- it was just like in the photos . loved the room , would have been nice to have more English channels on the tv.. Had my own WiFi , as you can not always expect to get good wifi for free. there are a couple of cheap WiFi ,around the corner. Great location , near the Termi station. Staff were always friendy and courteous, especially the barman , had plenty of drinks at the bar , before we would go out to dinner--- Breakfast was ok . If we wanted a bigger breakfast there were plenty of other places nearby. Great Dinner restaurants , the Regina around the corner ... best homemade lasagne. Wife loved it

What we found the most of the staff and manager Mr Marrella, was their extreme honesty ..as i left my wallet in my bathroom on the day of departure with over $1600 Australian dollars in value .When i rang the hotel from the otherside of customs at the airport, the hotel staff alerted me to finding it in my room . The manager Mr Marrella did jump thru hoops and spent a lot of his time to help me organise an electronic transfer back to Melbourne Australia . I got my money and he posted my wallets back to me ..It is such a pleasure to recommend this hotel ..and the staff for their efforts.. would stay there again .

Room Tip: All the Rooms on the left hand side of receptionon the 2nd floor are great .the rooms on the RHS of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Rooms are bare, not as they appear in the photos. You had to pay for wireless internet - but the internet was so slow it was a joke. Using the internet in the lobby was equally slow.

Breakfast was decent.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location near to Termini.

I definitely would not stay in this hotel again, I'm very sure you could find better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandoncwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The rooms don't look like what they do on the photos.. I wasn't happy at all. Too many hidden costs. The buffet breakfast was tasteless and terrible. This is more like a cheap and nasty MOTEL not hotel. We were hit with a massive bill at the end. We were that disappointed we stayed somewhere else for a few nights... Avoid this place. The only thing going for it, it is 1 street from train station

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeybods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked our stay at the Milani for 4 nights at the start of our stay, then 2 more at the end. The biggest attraction was that it was literally right around the corner from the Termini, which was great for catching cabs or the Metro and made it easy to jump the train back to the airport. The breakfast included in our stay was good and had a lot to offer. The room we had was very basic and served our purposes. We were able to walk to the tourist sites (Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain). The Colosseum was the furthest away and took about 20 minutes to get to on foot.

As for the bad. The staff wasn't terribly welcoming, and when we asked for information (a good money exchange place, for example), we got blank stares and then a "how should I know?" type of response. On arrival, they asked to see our passports, which is normal. They then told us that they'd be "ready in a half an hour." When they still weren't ready 30 minutes later, my husband put his foot down and told them we'd be more than happy to wait right there until they were finished with them. We didn't necessarily think there was anything questionable going on, but having our most important form of ID anywhere besides in our possession was a little daunting. And after traveling for almost 20 hours, we just wanted to get some sleep.

The other oddity was that we were told on day 3 that we were supposed to be turning our key in to the front desk each time we left so housecleaning could get into our room, and they were quite annoyed with us that we hadn't been. The woman at the desk told us it was explained very clearly in our room, but we looked everywhere and were't able to find any such information. We found it a bit strange that there was only one key per room, but seeing as we were leaving the next day, we weren't too bothered by it.

When we returned to the Milani for the last two nights of our stay, we were put in Hotel Georgi across the street, which is owned by the same people. It was much nicer than the Milani, and we had a balcony attached to our room, which was nice after being out all day. The front desk staff was much more welcoming. If we return to Rome, we'd certainly stay there again, as long as we could ensure we wouldn't be shipped over the the Milani.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nims22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We booked a stay online, based on the offer communicated to us, which said that breakfast was included. On receiving the booking confirmation, we found that we had to pay extra for breakfast. We immediately asked for cancellation of the booking, to which the hotel did not respond. We sent several reminders, but to no avail. We booked another hotel for our trip to Rome and stayed there. 3 months later, Milani charged my credit card for the full cost of 5 days' stay although we had never stayed there and had clearly asked to cancel our booking several times. Even when my credit card issuer took up the matter with Milani, they firmly refused to reverse the charges. I lost EUR 406 for this. Be very careful before you give out your credit card details to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaustuvb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmilani, Revenue Manager at Milani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Sir,

We really regret the fact that you were not satisfied with the online booking for our Hotel.
However, It has always been our endeavor to pursue the interests of our clients to the best of our abilities.
We have controlled your booking details carefully, your reservation was made with a non-refundable cancellation policy on cheaper price (with more days) with excluded breakfast. You should be aware of this.
If you decided to cancel your booking on the next day, you should call us in Hotel and We could accept that as exception. Which department was send your email, we didnt received it.
From the day of your booking check-in the room was prepared for you for 5 days as
reservation was active.
As regards any reimbursement, we afraid that would not be possible as we have provided room for 5 days as promised, and would be against hotel policy.
To finish here, Tripadvisor is the sourse of reviews which are acceptable from real visitors to our hotel and estimate the quality of our service in Hotel after actual check out, your case was NO SHOW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

What a great spot for our first (but not last!) trip to Roma. The Milani was nicely appointed, clean, nothing super fancy, but the desk staff were very helpful and willing to answer all of our inane questions. The bed was put together as a king the first night, but they separated it for us for the second two nights no problem. The breakfast was simple but amazing!! Even the little push button machine cappuccino was better than any I've ever had stateside. The hotel is located right next to the Termini station, which would have been great if we were using the trains and buses, but we ended up just taking cabs everywhere. It was still a nice area, a little off the beaten path, and I think there were a few better restaurants in our area by the hotel as well. Overall a fantastic stay and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Superior Room's have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BiduTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmilani, Revenue Manager at Milani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
We are very appreciate your great review with the photos from the room and Looking forward accommodating you again in any time in Hotel Milani in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#586 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#377 of 1,257 in Rome
664 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#348 of 1,257 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#435 of 1,257 in Rome
641 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#374 of 1,257 in Rome
788 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#342 of 1,257 in Rome
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milani Hotel

Property: Milani Hotel
Address: Via Magenta 12, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Milani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Milani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing