We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
innerkip, on
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have to agree with other reviewers that this a a wonderful hotel. Our room was small but absolutely spotless and decorated in a lovely classic style. The happy hour is excellent! We never even needed to eat supper out (but of course we did :) )with the lovely evening goodies they provide. We too would like to give a special mention to the bartender. He took particular pride in 'creating' his drinks - a real work of art and the best mojito I've had in years! The included breakfast was the best we've had in europe with a selection of anything you can think of and even included mimosas should you want to partake! The staff were all lovely and very helpful. The location is perfect for exploring and within walking distance of the spanish steps, trevi fountain, etc etc. Our stay couldn't have been better! Congratulations to all of the staff for providing a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank da50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    607
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
351
1,445
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel.cant fault at all.very clean.rooms quite small is the only downside.we have superior room which you wouldnt think by the size of it.great selection for breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank buck1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Awesome 4 star hotel. Ok rooms are small but so are most in rome. The service from the staff is superb - special mention to guy in bar, quiet but excellent service. Good breakfast , happy hour is particularly good value. Location is perfect. Would reccomend to any and all

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillanOfBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed at the river palace at the end of march 2012. The kind staff upgraded us to a superior double and the room itself was lovely and decorated in a classic style. The breakfast was great with a large selection, fruit, cereals, pastries, yoghurts, eggs etc as well as teas, coffee and juices. The hotel is situated near piazza del popolo and is within walking distance to many of the sights including trevi fountain, spanish steps, pantheon and the vatican. We flew into ciampino airport and got one of the buses outside the airport entrance which dropped us at the termini station, from here we got subway line A to the Flaminio stop which is a couple minutes walk to the hotel (from the termini station you can also get subway line B to the colosseum). Overall the hotel was fabulous and the staff very friendly, i will definately return to this hotel on future visits to my favourite city!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovesunshine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Friendly staff, clean hotel, good location and great value for money. Happy hour was a great bonus. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold buffet. We had a lovely surprise and was given a complimentary bottle of wine because we were celebrating a birthday. Check out the deals on the website. We took advantage of the " sunday night free" package. For those on a first visit to Rome, ensure you don't miss out on the spectacular views from the Vittorio Emanuele Monument. The glass lift at the side costs 7 euros per person and was well worth it. Only slight minus was that there was no tea/coffee facility in room. Overall our experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a six night stay in Rome. Having never been before wasn't sure what to expect bith from the city and from the hotel we booked, neither disappointed.
The hotel is located near he entrance o the city Piazza Popolo also near the Metro. We did upgrade our room as it was offered and well worth it for an additional £20 euro per night as he room was large and overlooked a court yard (firest floor). First the breakfast which truly is cel lent at his hotel serving everything and more one could expect and the staff are always there but not intrusive (the usual two ladies are very good at what they do). Second there s in Rome what is known as Aperitivo which is basically happy our with food and ths hotel does it brilliantly truly all drinks between 6.00pm and 10.00pm are discounted by 50%, which brings me neatly on to the bartender who really is a nice man courteous, friendly and excellent at wh does. There are other nice touches by too man to mention. All we can say is this hotel is worthy of a stay the staff are very ver good the service is excellent......we loved it and hopefully one day will return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dobson-Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

A long weekend in Rome staying at the River Palace Hotel. Breakfast brilliant with everything you could wish for to keep your strength up for what must be a long day. Situated 15 minutes stroll from the Spanish steps, five more and you are at the Trevie fountain. Another 25 and the Collosium is there in front of you in all it's glory. The receptionist talked us through the map, showed us where to go.
After a meal at any of the hundreds of piazzaria's and restraunts and back to a big comfortable lounge for drinks. Staff brilliant, room that we had could have been bigger, but pristinely clean, big bed and comfortable. We are going back!! Great time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,259 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,259 in Rome
2,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,259 in Rome
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing