We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,025)
Filter reviews
3,027 results
Traveller rating
2,042
760
161
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,042
760
161
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half price drinks piazza del popolo happy hour in the bar spanish steps flaminio metro station within walking distance complimentary snacks deluxe room pastries turn down service every evening classic room trevi fountain an upgrade hotel bar lovely hotel first floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,027 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2020

The front of the River Palace is deceptive. There is no long driveway only a tram running down the middle of the street and a couple manicured trees in pots by the front door. Not an auspicious start after a 20 hour flight and a 30 minute drive from the airport. But, once you step inside, the decor is “Old World Gorgeous”. Patterned marble floors, gleaming dark wood cabinetry., pan ceilings with beautiful lighting fixtures, a step back in time to an era that was more formal than it is now. The entire hotel is clean and well maintained. Check-in was smooth and efficient. The hotel staff did their best to be sure our stay was pleasant.

The decor in our room also had pan ceilings and gorgeous light fixtures. Wainscotting was 1/2 up the walls. Our room was comfortable with a bidet and heated towel warmers (love towel warmer). Shades of fresh air, the windows opened out to the street. The only negative is our room overlooked the street and the tram that ran from 5:00 am until Midnight. Closing the windows did minimize the sounds and they became part of the background noise. A free buffet breakfast with wonderful coffee and a free happy hour are provided.

River Palace Hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of several Plaza's..

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank DonaldaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2020

Hotel was great, it is kept so well, cleanliness of all areas was excellent, breakfast was great with a hot option too. We had a superior standard, the actually room itself around the bed area was a little small but there was a good sized wardrobe area as you walked into the room and a good sized bathroom. I looked at a standard room and the rooms were small with small bathrooms, depends how long your spending in your room I guess. The staff were very professional and helpful, happy hour 5.00pm to 7.00pm was a great addition. The hotel is in a great location close to the metro and wa;king distance to all sights. Would definitely recommend for a long weekend. Thank you River Palace.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Loved our stay at River Palace. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms are well equipped, bar menu great and reasonably priced and breakfast was good. Conveniently located with everywhere within walking distance. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LindseyR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room, a bit small but we were only in it to sleep. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Great location to visit the main attractions of Rome and close to restaurants. The hotel does not have one so have to go out for evening meal. Would we return? Definitely.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 04mrsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2020

We stayed here for our first trip to Rome and we weren’t disappointed. The location was great and within walking distance to most attractions if you like to walk (we do as we feel it’s great to experience a city better) but there is a metro stop just at the end of the road if you prefer. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and very helpful with regards to visiting attractions and restaurant advice. Breakfast was included and there was a fantastic selection - a huge choice! The bar was great with a well stocked choice of cocktails, beers, wines etc and the happy hour (5-7) was great value. It was certainly popular. Our room was spotlessly clean and beds made, bathrooms cleaned daily with a turn down service and weather prediction too. The bed was very comfortable too.
The only reasons we didn’t give it a give star review were the fact it doesn’t have a restaurant on site ( which is sometimes useful if you have had a very tiring day sightseeing and need to eat without going on another walk to find food) although there are really good pasta/pizza restaurants 10/15 mins away. Also the room we were initially allocated was really small with no coffee/tea facilities so we decided to upgrade for an extra 20 euros a night for a slightly bigger room with said facilities. It did have a bit of a ‘water noise’ ( toilet flushing maybe) which seemed to come from room above ?? which did wake me up a couple of times - but wasn’t really a problem! Overall thoroughly recommend this hotel for its decor, ambience, cleanliness and friendliness.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank T184KBpaulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews