We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Rome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giuliana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giuliana
Ranked #118 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central Rome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very central and felt safe as entry was via an intercom. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly and helpful - English speaking also. Our room was pleasant and most importantly the bed was a good size and firm. We would stay again when next in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SArah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    416
    86
    20
    19
See reviews for
205
561
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location wise, this hotel is perfect. It is within 10 minutes walk from Termini station. The hotel room is clean and the bathroom is in good condition as well. If you are willing to walk, most tourist attractions (e.g. Trevi fountain) are reachable by foot, otherwise, there are many buses around the area. We went there around mid February and perhaps that's considered off-peak season for Rome, and hence we suspect that's the main reason why the breakfast quality was rather poor (poor selection and disappointing quality for whatever served on the breakfast corner, including the coffee). However, the staff was very helpful and spoke surprisingly good English. Breakfast wise, there're Mcdonald and other excellend cafes by Termini which can be good alternatives if you are a bit picky when it comes to breakfast. Overall, its still a good choice for those who travel with tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grunstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Although rated 2 star, Hotel Giuliana, and its staff, provided myself and my husband with a memorable stay of Rome. The hotel has a good location to all the famous sights, and is within waliking distance of some very good restaurants. Our bedroom , (Superior), was a reasonable size, with tea and coffee, and most important a safe, all included in the price. The hotel is very , very clean, and for the single traveller you would feel safe and well cared for. We saw Jean each of the three days ofour stay, and she is most polite and hospitable. I have previously stayed in a 4 star rated hotel and it did not compare with the Giuliana. I work as airline crew for BA , and travel the world staying in 5 star hotels, but it was a pleasant change to stay at the Giuliana , small, friendly and hospitable. Thank You for a memorable stay. Angela, and Diethelm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Hotel Giuliana is a family hotel at the center of Rome (10 minutes walk from the central train station and the colosseum). The hotel has nice and clean rooms. It is not a big fancy expensive hotel; its prices are good, compared with other hotels in Rome.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. During our stay, my son had a health problem (stomach pain, fever) and someone of the hotel staff escort me during the night and helped me to find an open pharmacy. They definitely made our stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KidJo k S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Me, my son and sister travelled to Rome last year and for a couple of days we stayed at the Hotel Giuliana. A little hotel ten minutes away from the train station. It was very good - the rooms were clean, the breakfast in the morning was great with many options. Antonio was the night desk person and he was amazing - great help. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel was quite nice. The biggest advantage is that it was very conveniently located, walking distance to a bunch of the major sites, and close to the major train station to take you to the rest of the sites. The breakfast was good (unlimited cappachinos, yogurt, cereal, fruit). The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AStar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in December, three nights at this hotel. We chose this hotel because it was affordable and had great TripAdvisor reviews. Overall, the experience was good. There were some positives and negatives. A positive is that it is downtown, very close to the train station and one of the Holy See basilicas. It was about a 15 minute walk to the coloseum. A negative is that it is a 15 minute walk from the coloseum and other key sites. So, non-ideal but this makes it a cheaper option than something right around the corner from those famous sights which, of course, is a positive. Another negative is that it is in an old building in an area that there was a morning market, which can be loud in the morning. Also, the rooms are what you would expect of a 2 star hotel, so don't expect the rooms themselves to be a 4.5 star room. However, what made this hotel a great experience was the staff. The hotel is family run and they are a very nice family. They are very energetic and will do just about anything you ask. They gave us great recommendations for food and were incredibly friendly. This made it a great experience and I recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#125 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Chroma Pente
#159 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giuliana

Property: Hotel Giuliana
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giuliana 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giuliana is a charming family-run hotel in Rome. It is completely renovated and is ideally situated in the centre of Rome in a street facing the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica which leads to the Spanish Steps - the famous fashion centre with its beautiful shops! Other renowned historial and artistic monuments and sites such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Trevi Fountain and the Opera House are within walking distance. The Pantheon and lovely Piazza Navona is easily reached by bus from the Via Nazionale just 2 mins. From the hotel. The Metro Republica nearby connects directly with St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuliana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing