We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a location issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great hotel with amazing services and great rooms, but the location is at Rome suburban area, what could be great as everything is cheaper and also close to a Metro Station, but unfortunately the Rome subway system is, at this time, under maintenance so getting around started to be complicated.
I recommend, but if possible be sure the metro system is working properly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Lovely 4 star hotel with comfortable rooms and a good location only 200 metres from the metro. We stayed here for 8 nights and were absolutely amazed by how friendly and helpful all of the reception staff were. We were expecting only a basic breakfast, but in fact they had a very wide selection with a few hot/cooked options and plenty of cold-cuts and pastries and cereals, fresh fruit etc.

We have been travelling for 7 months now, staying in 4 star hotels the whole time, and found Hotel Aurelius to be one of the best places we have stayed so far. Loved our 8 nights in Rome, and would definitely return to this hotel.

The staff really make the hotel, and earn the excellent TA ratings. They were all so friendly and helpful during our entire stay that we felt compelled to write a review to recommend their hotels to other travellers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich_travels034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I have just come back from a weeks holiday in Rome. Myself and my friend (in our late 20's) stayed at Hotel Aurelius and I was so impressed with the hotel. The breakfast was delicious good selection of food, the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and it had a spacious bathroom. The staff were very helpful and when we slept in by accident one day and missed breakfast we were still offered a cappuccino and croissant. The reception staff also helped with where to visit in Rome, they speak English very well and also advising us on nice restaurants around the hotel which we needed after the evening flight. 24 hours reception staff. The area the hotel is located is safe both day and night and only a 5 minute walk to the metro station which takes you to the centre of Rome in 15 minutes.
The metro runs every 3-4 minutes only disadvantage it stops at 11pm Monday-Thursday (Friday and Saturday until 1am) but after a long day walking around the city this was not a problem for us.
This hotel was recommended to me by my cousin and aunt, I am so pleased I booked Hotel Aurelius and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to request a hotel room out of the main building they are quieter as the hotel is on a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fraz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I'd like to say this for all visitors: this hotel really tries to do their best to be comfortable and to make your stay pleasant for guests. Staff is very friendly and kind. Food at breakfast is enough different and very tasty.
Rooms are clean. There is a minibar and hairdryer.
The arrangement is pretty nice: its 20 minutes walking time from Vatican, 3-5 metro stations from all the places of interest (St. Peter, Spagna, Trevi, Termini). And the closest metro station is 3-5 minnutes from the hotel, so its very comfortable to use metro as transport to get everywhere. You also have to know that all the streets in Rome especially in center are very dirty, but in this area it was pretty clean and not noisy, no homeless beggars etc.
I'd reccoment this hotel to all active travellers.
But people are different, for e.g. some may not like the size of rooms and shower, cause they aren't wide. Big people even may not fit inside, sorry for them.
But for us: everything was great.
Thank you Aurelius a lot, for such a nice and comfortable vocation)))

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kateryna_Chabaniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our first trip to Rome. We were amazed at how friendly the service and atmosphere were at the hotel. We arrived early (around 11:15 am), but were delighted that our room was already ready. We dumped our bags and got some directions from the nice gentleman at the front desk. We were able to start touring this beautiful city right away, and returned to our lovely, cool room in late afternoon. The bathroom was beautifully tiled, and the room was elegant but comfortable. At one point our air conditioner stopped working. Within 30 minutes of reporting the problem we were in a different room with a working air conditioner, and they even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for our trouble. Breakfast was excellent. Close to Metro. We had a casual dinner at a place called Pizza Design near the Metro and were delighted at the quality of the food for a very reasonable price. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very happy we chose this hotel! Staff very friendly and helpful. It seems like it's out a bit, but it's close to the metro. And you are in an area with mainly locals and no overpriced tourist stuff. We got upgraded to a terrace room which was nice. Would stay again

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Damian_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Rome for a romantic city break which this hotel is PERFECT for!

We checked out the hotel online and decided to go for due to the amount of amazing reviews its had and it didnt disappoint.

We arrived in the early evening and check in went swimmingly. The lady behind the reception gave us a map of the city and told us the best ways to get around. After a quick shower, we went in search of food. The same lady pointed us in the direction of some fantastic restaurants where the food was out of this world and the prices were unbelievably cheap (a bottle of wine, 2 starters and 2 mains came to on average 35 euros).

We were in a double room which was very spacious. It was clean and tidy. After we came back everyday from site seeing it was always freshly made over. There was also a mini bar which various drinks and snacks. All were refrigerated.

We made a point of getting up early each morning and so took advantage of their breakfast and were amazed to find it all - eggs, bacon, sausages, breads, cheeses, croissants, cereal, fruit and yogurts. All was self service.

After a long hot day walking around the city we would take advantage of the Jacuzzi, which offered a welcoming relaxation before another superb dining experience.

On our last night there we decided to use the bar in the hotel for a pre dinner drink. It was small but a relatively large selection of beers and spirits were on offer. On our way back to the hotel we picked up some treats from down the road and not only were we allowed to sit in the bar and eat them but plates were provided for our snacking pleasure (Im sorry, I didnt manage to get the name of the polish person who served us that night but thank you, we felt like celebraties!).

The Aurelius has only 24 rooms and it clearly shows in the service provided. Not only do you feel well looked after but its almost like getting the star treatment because the staff know who you are and what room your staying in. They really did go out of their way to make our stay special.

Thank you so so much hotel Aurelius. if we come back to Rome you can expect to see us again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#32 of 1,268 in Rome
1,900 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#103 of 1,268 in Rome
1,490 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,268 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,268 in Rome
757 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Address: 458, Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#29 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $90 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay. Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the heart of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing