We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Smart Small Hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

This is a very smart Guest House rather than a Hotel. It is near the Metro only 4 stops from the Vatican and a bus stop which takes you into the centre of Rome in 20 mins. There are plenty of nice and above average places to eat and drink. Nowhere really stood out but they were all decent quality. I could recommend the Hotel to anyone staying for a few nights but for longer stays, the lack of facilities and limited outside space makes it a bed and breakfast type of experience.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HolbrookeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015

Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your very personal thoughts about the stay in our Hotel Aurelius.

When I read the title of the review and the vote I was worried thinking that something unpleasant had happened.

In reading your words rather well I not understand what the problem is, if there is one.
We do not write that ours is a mega hotel; We do not write that we are a luxury; We do not write that we offer more services than any other hotel in Rome.

In reading your review it seems like you've booked a hotel in the mountains and you complain because no rooms with sea views, a nonsense.

As you can read on TripAdvisor over 93% of the reviewers welcome the Hotel Aurelius just because, being a small hotel, we can give and transmit to each Guest our soul. And that, for us, that makes the difference.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2015

I read other reviews so I knew this hotel would be a little out of the way but the amenities for the price sounded like a good deal. Well it was a Great deal! The hotel is adorable, the staff is exceptional, and the service was outstanding! John Franco and Alesandra at the front desk were so helpful. They told us exactly how to get to our destinations. They can also help with tours but we arranged our tickets before arriving so we didn't need their assistance. The metro station and bus stop just up and around the block were so convenient you can get anywhere! If you are a bit of an adventurer and want to see the sights on your own this is the place for you! You will get so much for your money and receive exceptional customer service! Thank you Hotel Aurelius!

Room Tip: Great for independent travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandRVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for the words that express, on TripAdvisor, so enthusiastic. We want, for those who book with us, staying at our Hotel Aurelius become a beautiful memory to be retained in the corner of memory.

That is why the efforts that we put every day is the same that we would use against anyone who comes to our house.

Come back soon in Rome

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

We were celebrating and anniversary and stayed at the hotel after a cruise.It was very close to metro and bus so transportation was not an issue. Bought the 7 day pass and utilized it well. The hotel was such a pleasant respite after sightseeing in Rome. Loved the decor! All areas of the hotel were spotless. Our room was spacious, immaculate and had a mini fridge and a wall towel warmer/heater The breakfast was excellent many choices to please all!! Especially the bacon thanks to Ihab the breakfast waiter who worked very hard to replenish the food stations each morning.
The most important reason for us to return to Hotel Aurelius was the staff. Renata, Gianfranco, Alessandra and Ihab were the most friendly and accommodating employees we have encountered in our travels. What a team! We were always made to feel that whatever our request it was never a problem. Returning to the hotel after a day of sightseeing was like coming home to family. And as a bonus all of the staff speak very good English so no communication issues for those of us that only speak one language. Would we return to Hotel Aurelius?? In a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: room was 348...very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rsw_luvtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest,

beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful !!! When we read reviews like yours on TripAdvisor related to your stay in our Hotel Aurelius, let's always a great joy. As if we received a phone call from our friends who, after having started from our house, they thank you for the hospitality :-)

We, after all, only try to do our job well. But reading your feedback helps us to realize that we are on the right track.

thanks a lot

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

After much searching for a suitable hotel we settled on the Aurelius for our wedding anniversary - how glad we were! We arranged private transfer from the airport which was easily done via emails. This was 50 euros (taxis are 48 euros), worth the money and we were met an hour early due to an early landing. When we arrived we found we had the room with a balcony as requested (following other Trip Advisor advice) and it was ready several hours early! This was typical of the helpful, friendly staff throughout our stay - this is what good customer service is all about. I'm sure they could teach other hotel staff a thing or two about looking after their guests. The service was second to none.

The whole hotel was spotless with beautiful decor and we loved our room with our terrace and balcony and walk-in double shower! (340). The little touch of leaving quotes and weather updates attached to our door each morning was lovely! Breakfast was very varied and tasty and set us up for the day and we also enjoyed a drink in the little bar.

The hotel was just a few minutes from the Metro - we bought a three day pass for 18 euros which was great value. There were a few good places to eat nearby (Sora Pia and Ferro E Ghisa) and we enjoyed a few cold beers at Antico Caffe Aurelia just a few doors down.

All in all, a fabulous, memorable stay and we will definitely be back - may even bring the teenagers next time!


A few tips when in Rome....

* Book a tour - this is an absolute no brainer. If you want to avoid queueing for hours at the Colloseum, Vatican, etc. We booked tickets in advance but the tour was much better value - we went with RomAround (very knowledgable guides with good sense of humour)
* Ideally wear trainers - your feet will thank you for it
* Remember the rule of three - if you're around any attractions turn your back then walk 3 blocks before eating/drinking. Apparently will be three times cheaper and taste three times better....
* Take a bottle and fill up with water at the fountains - the water is fine to drink
* Ask for house carafe of wine - great value
* There is a lot of graffiti and litter which is a shame but I guess that's a problem in most places.
* Keep alert around the beggars (particularly the women breastfeeding children) - you may need to be more assertive with them

Room Tip: Worth requesting third floor room with balcony if available (340 or 342)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Taffy4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest,

for us it is an honor to have been chosen on the occasion of your stay in Rome to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We really hope that the memory of the days spent in our Hotel Aurelius accompany you during many years of marital bliss.

Thank you also for sharing your comments with all members of Tripadvisor. For us it is a source of new enthusiasm in our work.

thanks a lot

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

As all the previous reviews this one is nearly the same as the others.
We arrived at the hotel after using the Metro from Termini which was great. All the main bus routes go past or are just round the corner as well.
The rooms we spotless and the bonus of a double shower was even better.
The only downside of the trip was at the end we asked to pay an extra 6 Euros per person per night as part of the Romes' city taxes. So this we paid rather reluctantly. Please for future this must be explained to all travellers as this can be be an unexpected shock to many.
On the whole the Hotel Aurelius is one of the best small hotels in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Peter,

first of all thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your feelings about the stay in our Hotel Aurelius. And thanks again for the positive words about our services.

As regards, however, the now famous 'tourist tax' are very sorrpeso to read that you do not know anything. In all the sites where you can book our hotel, in fact, it specifies that rates do not include the amount of € 6.00 per person. The same information is also given by our staff of Front Desk responds to emails when booking.
I'm really sorry also because, it is correct to clarify it, those are money that must be paid to the City of Rome and are certainly not for the hotel.

I hope to see you again anyway in Rome

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed 3 nights while visiting Rome. This is a first class, small hotel with excellent staff and a good location next to the main subway line. The room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast (included) was very good. Staff are extremely helpful on Rome advice as well as nearby restaurants. The decor is unsurpassed, anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Stephen,

thank you very much for speaking on Tripadvisor, about our Hotel Aurelius.
In fact read the comments of so excited Guests, like you, give us the impetus to continue every day to do our best.

Thanks for pointing out how the location of our hotel, although not in the center of Rome, is really confortable. And convenient, I might add.

Thanks a lot

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Aurelius for two nights, after finishing a cruise. It was a great choice: close to the metro, lovely bedroom and bathroom, delicious breakfast with many different foods. That being said, the very best thing about this hotel was the staff. They were kind, friendly, and helpful. They loaned umbrellas, suggested good dining places, drew maps, helped with luggage, offered tips to have a better tourist experience, and generally made the stay fantastic. Nice. Quiet. Great value. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank C1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Dear Guest,

really thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We, as used to say, we only try to do our best every day.

I am happy that your stay was satisfactory. And I am even more gratified to read that you'll be in our Hotel Aurelius when you get in Rome.

Thanks a lot

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#99 of 1,272 in Rome
1,317 reviews
Relais 6
#39 of 1,272 in Rome
1,931 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#108 of 1,272 in Rome
1,524 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,272 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Address: 458, Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#74 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Art Gallery Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutique 4 star Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay. Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 100 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops, and 50 mt to the Sit shuttle Bus to fiumicino Airport. This gives our customers the possibility to get to the heart of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing