We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017

I recently stayed here while on a trip to Rome and the hotel was fantastic. The rooms were large and totally spotless, with working aircon and comfortable beds. En suites were spacious and clean and we had a private courtyard outside our room with a seating area. The staff were very friendly and extremly helpful at all times - on one of the days there was a public transoprt strike but they were able to arrange taxis for the guests very quickly. (They all also speak very good English which is useful if your Italian is lacking).

I was worried that the free buffet breakfast would run out or not be up to scratch, but every morning there was a wide range of food available, from scrambled eggs and bacon to breads, cheese, cold meats, yoghurts, coffee, juice and fresh pastries. You have the option of ordering a 'full breakfast' for a small cost but unless you want to eat after 9.30am when the buffet closes the buffet is substantial enough.

The hotel itself was also very well located. Despite being on a main road there was barely any noise from the traffic and it's only 2mins from the Cornelia metro stop which takes you straight into Rome with stops near the Vatican, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Coliseum (you can get a return journey for 3 euros or a day ticket for just 7 euros). There is a large supermarket in the shopping area just opposite the hotel and a mini market next to the hotel which is great for picking up bottles of cold water. If you want to eat locally we found the restaurants to be much cheaper and nicer than those in the city centre, Gusto Sando and Il Tramburello were both excellent although Joseph's and Sora Pia were also good - all are just a few mintues walk from the hotel.

All in all it was a fantastic stay. I'd 100% recommend it to anyone visiting Rome and wouldn't hesistate to stay there again if I'm lucky enough to return to the area.

Room Tip: Room 344 had disabled access, two en suites and a courtyard in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BethPettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Outside the centre but 50 metres from the metro. Small friendly hotel staff very helpful. Room comfortable and really clean. A great base from which to explore the city and excellent value. Will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Nice and welcoming hotel. The breakfast was very good and plentiful with lots of choice. Location was fantastic for the tube to then sightsee. My only gripe was the size of the room - a bit small, but for somewhere to lay your head - no problem at all.
Good value and well located.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank julesamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Very clean room. Around the corner is a metro station and various busstops. Within 15 minuten you're in the centre. The restaurant Joseph they recommend is a crowded, but very good restaurant. In the morning housekeeping was very noisy.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We stayed for 7 nights as we had a conference at a nearby hotel. I normally stay at 5 star resorts and business hotels and the Aurelius is not that sort of hotel. It is a small hotel located on a busy, dusty and noisy street with rather dated furnishings. The wifi password gives you wifi access for only a single device (I assume you could ask for more but we just used our own router), the shower stall was rather small and the breakfast had relatively limited choices.

Having said all that, I still gave it an excellent rating since it had many strengths. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sound-proofing was excellent. As others have mentioned, the metro is very close by and it took only 15 minutes to get to the centre of Rome. The other notable features were the price and the staff. The price was relatively low for Rome and although there was usually only a single staff member at the reception desk, they were invariably polite and cheerful. They always went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We loved our room and the hotel! The room was spacious, with high ceilings and pleasant decor. We really enjoyed our host, Renata. She helped us navigate our way through the language, easy entry to monuments, as well as informing us about the siesta and dress codes at the religious sites. She made our trip much more pleasant. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent, and the artwork in the common areas was nice as well. I will definitely stay there again!

Patrick Garry and Darcy Williams

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed 1 night pre conference. The check in was fast and efficient. They stored the bags for us while we took off to familiarize ourselves with the city and its transportation system. The Front Desk clerk spoke
good English, was very helpful with instructions and suggestions. The room 326 was small doc or 2 people. But they might have better rooms. Breakfast was a full meal with a lot of yummy Italian breakfast fare. Proximity to the metro station a plus. WiFi was good. Check out was a breeze. Will stay again..

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Zenaida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#99 of 1,271 in Rome
1,317 reviews
Relais 6
#38 of 1,271 in Rome
1,933 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#106 of 1,271 in Rome
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Address: 458, Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: C$79 - C$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Art Gallery Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutique 4 star Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay. Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 100 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops, and 50 mt to the Sit shuttle Bus to fiumicino Airport. This gives our customers the possibility to get to the heart of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing