We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1-2 nights only.”
Review of Argentina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argentina Hotel
Ranked #553 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very close to teh Termini train station. It is really just a floor within a very old building that houses multiple "hotels" of the same type. It is good for just a night or maybe 2 just before your train or flight the next day. On a very busy street, but the windows seal very well. The hotel is smoke free, but the staff smokes just outside the front door, so you can smell it in the lobby. One thing I didn't like is you have to leave your room key at the front desk when you go out for dinner or something like that. I asked why, and they said it's for security. I asked, what about my security? and their reply, we can go into your room anytime anyway, so don't worry. Wierd. Breakfast is machine made coffee, yogurt, and processed crossiants. Nothing great. Again, if you need a place to crash for a night or two before you move on, this place is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lougatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was the first hotel I stayed at in my adventures in Rome. It was conveniently located to Termini station which was a big plus. Nice friendly service and breakfast included. I had no complaints, tho the hotel does look a little old, but that's part of the culture there, overall great value

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The hotel location is great, about a 5 minute walk from Termini station. Yes, the hotel is quite old but reasonably clean. Even though it's located along a busy street, our room was very quiet. Breakfast wasn't bad with a coffee machine, yogurts, and some pastries. All in all, everything was alright for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oh_my_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

It is just minutes from the Roma Termini. The staff are gracious and the breakfast is great. It is also in walking distance to many historical locations. A great value!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCubbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Clean, comfortable hotel and good value for money. Situated near to the Termini which is great if you travel on the train from the airport into Rome. good size room, small bathroom but clean and comfortable. Fridge, telephone and TV all in room, supermarket around corner and continental breakfast was ample. Great city hotel for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I'm on my Eurotrip with my husband. We chose 4 cities and Rome was the third one. We loved the hotel in London, with a large room and were a little disappointed with the size of the Paris Hotel room, so we didn't know what to expect with this one, The hotel is on the 4th floor of a building in a major street 2 minutes from Termini Station. It's pretty easy to find, not a problem to walk there even with heavy lugagge. There is a elevator and it works just fine. What a surprise to find out that the room was large, the bed was confortable, there was an AC that worked perfectly and the bathroom was great!! Breakfast is simple but included, and it was good enough for us. The ONLY complain I have is the absense of wireless internet conection. Hopefully, by the time I go back to Europe, they will have fixed this "little problem", because I would love to stay with them again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel is located in a large, older building consisting of hotels or pensions on every floor. The Argentina is the highest starred hotel in the building and is on the fourth floor, reached by an ancient and tiny lift, or lots of wide, marble stairs. The hotel itself consists of probably not more than ten rooms and a small breakfast room. It has a permanently staffed reception.

Pros:
Great location for the rail and bus terminals and within easy walking distance of Santa Maria Maggiore, the Coliseum and Forum. We even walked back from Villa Borghese one afternoon in about 20 minutes.
We had a 3 bed room (me and 2 older children) which was spacious enough and quiet with a large, airy bathroom. Both had windows that opened onto a quiet interior courtyard and full Italian style shutters.
Breakfast was fine but not spectacular. We stayed at other three star hotels and had much better breakfasts.
Plenty of restaurants nearby (try the side roads in particular).

Cons:
The breakfast room, reception area was certainly air conditioned. I think the rooms were supposed to be as well via a rather strange central vent in the ceiling, but it only was effective if you were lying directly underneath it. Fortunately, Rome wasn't particularly hot when we were there and we just slept with the sheets on the bed. I imagine the room would have been stifling in really hot weather.
The reception staff was a rather mixed bag in terms of professionalism and helpfulness. One individual encouraged my faltering Italian and had quite good knowledge about bus services etc. Another spent a lot of the time chain smoking in the corridor directly outside the entrance to the hotel, with the result that the reception area and breakfast room often reeked of smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diversitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#334 of 1,272 in Rome
236 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
186 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#255 of 1,272 in Rome
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#610 of 1,272 in Rome
513 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#405 of 1,272 in Rome
74 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#615 of 1,272 in Rome
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argentina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argentina Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #553 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argentina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Practically downtown, a short distance from the Termini station and Fori Imperiali area, the 3-star Hotel Argentina in Rome provides the hospitality of a family-run business with simple and cozy rooms. The hotel is the ideal place for an enjoyable and economic vacation in the heart of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argentina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing