We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
Ranked #458 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Padova
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in a big city”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I seem to collect quiet hotels and this is one - its fundamental to know that after a hard day touristing or conferencing then you'll get a good nights sleep. This hotel is close to the station - 10 minute walk - and was perfect for the Conference I had to attend last week. Price 130 euros for a queen size bed.Found staff were alert and quick to please - not always easy to find in Italy I must say. Internal garden looked very pleasant for a drink, chat or email session. I was only there briefly but the WIFI worked fine and the breakfast room is a cheery glassed area on the 4th floor - not much of a view - it looks over private flats and houses. There were a couple of homeless in the park out the front but really harmless. For tourism you will need to use public transport to get to sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdayPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    102
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
36
47
20
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Close to the train station - about a five to ten-minute walk to the station and to the plaza surrounding the train station.

The air conditioning did not work during our stay ... and when we opened the window in our room, overlooking the courtyard, bugs came into our room. Our room was on the second floor and was a loft-style room, with steps from the entrance going up to the bed. The television did not work.

Breakfast, however, was very good - a continental-style breakfast with everything from eggs and bacon to croissants and nutella, pastries and lots of Italian coffee.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a large air conditioned room on the 3rd floor. The breakfast room/bar is delightful. It is a roof garden. At ground level there is a nice garden that is totally enclosed by the hotel. The only real downside for the hotel is its rundown location near the Roma Termini rail station. While it is conveniently close, the area surrounding the rail station is pretty run down. So if you have business in the area - especially at the University - I would recommend the hotel. Otherwise there are nicer areas to stay but few hotels are as comfortable or as good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband was attending a conference at the University Sapienza for a few days. I was on my own to tour the city. The desk help was very knowledgeable with directions and recommendations. The breakfast area was lovely but the variety of choices was not plentiful. Again, the service personnel were helpful. The neighborhood was convenient to the University but not to tourist areas. This was ok. I took a lot of buses. The TV only offered News in English. There was WiFi, but worked only 50% of the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Hotel very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Good selection of food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calamityBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.The hotel is an early 20th century liberty style building.The reception staff spoke good English and were helpful.Our room was spacious and clean.We slept well because the hotel was quiet and the bed was comfortable.The free Wi-Fi internet access worked well.
The continental breakfast buffet is served on the fourth floor terrace with good views of the garden.You can buy a drink at the bar and enjoy it in the lounge or out in the garden.The hotel doesn't have a restaurant serving dinner so we ate in the centre of Rome or in the suburb where the hotel is located.Some Americans told us that 4 star hotels in Italy are equivalent to 3 star hotels in the U.S.
The outdoor garden was nice.We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Customer service was excellent. Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping
kept my room spotless! It felt like home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamTamG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurentia
Hotel Laurentia
#250 of 1,259 in Rome
318 reviews
Hotel La Pergola
#639 of 1,259 in Rome
227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#348 of 1,259 in Rome
813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Vibel Hotel
Vibel Hotel
#602 of 1,259 in Rome
15 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#505 of 1,259 in Rome
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel

Property: Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
Address: Via Dei Salentini 1/3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in Rome
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#306 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel housed in refurbished building dating from 1900, conveniently located near the Central Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ateneo Garden Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing