We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit expensive but perfect location”
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #121 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but perfect location”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I lived in Rome for five years and know the city well. Now when I travel there for work I generally stay at the Hotel Ponte Sisto. The location is the best in the city in my opinion. It's right across the Tiber from Trastevere -- my old neighborhood -- and it's a stone's throw from Campo de Fiori. You can walk everywhere from here or never even leave the neighborhood. The location is that good.

Like lots of Italian hotels, the rooms are fine, not great but adequate. The staff is decent and kind. This is not a five star hotel, just a good, clean place to stay while you explore my favorite city on the planet. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnecticutorAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    552
    106
    35
    15
See reviews for
294
716
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had trouble choosing from all the hotels in Rome but plumped for this as it's in a great location. I was very glad when I arrived as it was pretty stylish and calm, a great haven from the buzz outside.

The bed was fab, the staff chic, the bathroom gorgeous green marble and the room was very quiet.

Easy to get to the Vatican, major shopping and restaurant areas, also Jewish quarter and across the river. The flower market in the square nearby was great. Transport links were great, buses were easy to use. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

When I booked I selected this hotel for location, cleanliness, and a full sized bathtub. Ponte Sisto delivered! Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. We borrowed a converter for our electronics, and got ice every night from the bar. Close to major sights, but chosen for closeness to both sites and restaurants in Trastevere. The bed was hard, but we were so tired from walking all day and enjoying a bottle of wine at dinner we crashed as soon as we laid down. It was warm for us as we're from the northern USA, but we were able to crack a window and be comfortable. Will stay again if ever in Rome as 175 dollars a night felt like a steal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed at Hotel Ponte Sisto because of its location, almost everything is walking distance including Vatican, Colliseum, Trastevere and the various piazzas. 3 of us traveling together, room overlooked the lovely courtyard. The single bed appeared to be a 'cot' and nothing more. The room was very crowded. The marble bathroom was nice. Breakfast buffet while plentiful tasted like cafeteria food. Front desk staff seemed rude and not helpful. Seemed annoyed when a question was asked of them. Entire hotel needs a decorating update. The lobby and breakfast area look like a hospital.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AAEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and in a very good location. That said the room I was given was the smallest hotel room I have ever had in any city - it really disappointed me. Given the price charged it was not value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The hotel is well situated between the Campo de Fiori and Trastevere, breakfast was good, however, all of this was erased by the attitude of the front desk personnel and manager. I stayed a the hotel, in a suite, and my daughter and son-in-law in a deluxe room. It was in the middle of May, and Rome was unusually hot for the period of time. Our rooms were sweltering!!!! I called the management, and was told that the air conditioning wasn't turned on in the building. I said it is really hot. No matter, they didn't turn on the main air conditioner. Needless to say, our stay wasn't very pleasant.
Their advertisment on their web site said "air-conditioned rooms. Not air conditioned when we decide to turn it on."
The became really ugly when I kept asking to have it turned on.
Never did get the thing turned on, and our trip was over.
Never again. Make sure you check the air conditioning at any hotel before you settle down into the room.

Room Tip: Our trip was actually in May 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlbertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of December. It was our anniversary and they marked the occasion by sending up a bottle of Prosecco. The entrance to the hotel is unremarkable, in fact the lobby and reception area could probably do with a freshen-up. Our room however, was lovely. High ceilings, plenty of space, and a great marble bathroom. We looked out over the courtyard which is recommended because it is nice and quiet both at night and in the morning.
Location is excellent. Adjacent to the Campo Fiore, the Ghetto, and the Trastevere, all remarkably atmospheric parts of Rome. There is an excellent trattoria around the corner which the hotel recommended, called La Quercia. Great food and atmosphere and very reasonable. So good we went back a second night. Try the pistachio creme brulee!
So, a reasonably-priced, brilliantly located, clean hotel with spacious rooms, with generally pleasant staff.
Any downside? Nobody said 'you are welcome' when we checked in. One of the young women serving in the breakfast room was sultry bordering on rude. No fresh juice available with an otherwise very good breakfast. Little things like these keep a good hotel from being a great hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holmquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Monte Cenci Hotel
Monte Cenci Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Property: Hotel Ponte Sisto
Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing