We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Nice Staff, central location and clean room.”
Review of Taormina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taormina Hotel
Ranked #408 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I booked this hotel after reading previous reviews and looking at their website, it was easily found just a ten minute walk from the main termini. When we arrived the reception guy was really friendly and showed us to our room ( there was a few flights of stairs but we are only in our 20's so wasn't too much hassle) it may not be so good for older people.

The room was in the newer block and was of good size and the bathroom/shower etc were really good for a 2* hotel, i would rate it 3* with no hesitation. the road can be a little noisy as the trams run by but after a bust day sight seeing i had no trouble falling asleep. the breakfast was very basic but fresh, a mixture of breads, croissants jams etc, and juice tea and coffee. The bar prices in the hotel are really cheap and my boyfriend loved the cappucinos.

There is a great ice cream place a few doors down and also a cheap takeaway over the road for a quick tasty snack. There is a metro staion called emanuelle just at the end of the street where you can get to just about anywhere you need to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel so it's not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlene M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is a good hotel for exploring Rome. Close to Termini & the Metro its a good base for exploring from whilst being just a little bit out the centre that keeps the cost down. Also has a really great ice cream bar just along the street - highly recomended !!

The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and rooms good aswell.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Gray_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here for the weekend and found it to be great - and half the price of everthing else that I looked at. Really good location for getting about in Rome. The breakfast is limited (I then moved to 4* hotel for work and it was much the same though) but fine. The staff are really helpful - my flight was very delayed and I emailed them to let them know and they got straight back and they really do man the reception 24/7. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September of 2011.

Our room was in the "newer" part of the hotel. The furnishings and decor appeared to be brand new. The bed was firm but comfortable and the bathroom was great. The room was very clean and quiet.

We had to pay 5-Euros per night for air conditioning which was the most frustrating part of our stay. I had to get used to using the key to work the lights, but it wasn't a hassle at all.

The front desk all spoke some English and were great to talk to. We were referred to restaurants and sites throughout the city.

The walk from the train station is less than 5 minutes and we never felt unsafe. The neighborhood is great, especially with the giant gelato shop just down the block.

The TV had a lot of channels, but no English-speaking ones. But, we didn't come to Rome to watch TV in our hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aww3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Quite disappointing. Room was accessed down an oddly accessed hall, up a bank of stairs that seemed to be separate from the hotel. Room was only OK, but not up to date or very comfortable. Bathroom was unpleasant with a smell that permeated the entire room. No elevators/lifts. Was close to Termini station, but would stay in a better part of town next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

our Rom trip was a gift so we did not know what kind of hotel we were going to stay. The location is good, close to the main train station and metro station.
We were not surprised when we stepped in the nothing-special hotel lobby because it suits the 2 * hotel image. We found it amusing that our room was actually in another building but it was nice because the whole apartment from inside looks like the one in the movie "The Professional".
Upon arrival we chose a room with air conditioning (costs 5 Euro extra) since it was early September and it was quite hot during the day. We were very pleased with our room since everything looks like brand new. No scratch on the wall and very clean. The only thing i missed is the water cooker but who needs it when you can free water or caffe for less than 1 Euro in the great ice cafe next door .
The staff is quite helpful and friendly. Try the Korean restaurant Bi Won if you want to try something different. Take a walk in the neighborhood to see the real Rom. Just do not have much expectation with the breakfast. It was really not good. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Rom in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

A fantastic hotel for the price. The staff were absolutely wonderful and the room was huge!!! We had a small balcony with a view of the courtyard. Our room was in a building adjacent to the actual hotel. In the actual hotel, you have to go up one set of stairs to the lobby. My advise, when checking in do not bring your luggage upstairs to the lobby. The staff may help you bring it up if your room is in the main building, and if you stay in the adjacent building, there is an elevator in the building. Air conditioning was 5 Euro's per day but it works really well!! There is a free computer in the lobby for your use, as they don't have wifi. Breakfast is very basic, rolls, juice, coffee. It is a short walk from Termini Station and Piazza Vittorio. If you stay here, don't forget to visit nearby Santa Maria Maggorio Church. I believe it is the oldest church in Rome, free, beautiful and houses the remains of Jesus' manger.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Principe Eugenio
Principe Eugenio
#510 of 1,269 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#407 of 1,269 in Rome
259 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#287 of 1,269 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#275 of 1,269 in Rome
716 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#338 of 1,269 in Rome
423 reviews
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#568 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Hotel

Address: Via Principe Eugenio 49-51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#271 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $72 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taormina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taormina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taormina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing