We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent location, good place to sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pop Inn Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pop Inn Hostel
Ranked #760 of 1,028 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent location, good place to sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

There is so much to do in Rome, one can't expect to stay all cooped in a hostel! My friend and I stayed at the Pop Inn for a couple of nights in the winter. Although there were no heaters, they provided many blankets or warmth. There were no working showers on our side of the building so we would have to leave our floor and go down the hall to the next one. The bathrooms were big and clean and one was always free.

There is no shared kitchen but there is one shared common room. They also have two computers with Internet but it's expensive to use.

The location of the Pop Inn was fantastic. It was right by the train station so it was perfect because there were subways going to all parts of Rome, trains going to all parts of Italy, and there is also a $14 train ride to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kmartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    27
    28
    35
See reviews for
4
25
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

nothing fancy, a fair, cheap choice,
They could have better computers, or they can keep what they have BUT dont charge the use

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demetrius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Booked PopInn with less than 12 hours notice late at night and made clear booking conditional on wifi included, as implied on website. Wifi was extra charge so withdrew booking immediately and stayed elsewhere. They still charged one night even though they could have used goodwill in the circumstances. Not a good ad for either price or customer service. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindab34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My first ever trip to Rome was last September and I stayed at Pop Inn. I had the pleasure of staying in the African themed room and it was incredibly clean, comfortable temperature (it was very hot at this time of year) and the location was perfect. It's literally opposite the Rome Termini station! They also give you a free croissant and coffee in the morning staying there. Also the WiFi is very fast and easy to use. Only downside is they charge a deposit to use towels. The staff weren't great though, I was really sick one of the nights and needed to get to a hospital and they were reluctant to help me book a taxi/give me directions. But to be fair I don't speak Italian and they didn't speak good English so maybe it was a language barrier thing.

Room Tip: Rooms that are private are next to a bathroom usually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samikrimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Negative:
- Uncomfortable beds. I understand that one can't expect hotel beds in a hostel, but these beds were really small and made lots of noise when turning in it.
- Not so clean. Though the showers and sheets seemed to be clean, the floor in our dorm was really dirty.
- On the website it says: '15 Minutes FREE Internet per person per day at an Internet point' but according to the guy at the reception this was not true.
- To get in the building you have to ring the bell downstairs. If you have a room close to the reception (which I had) you hear the bell ringing the whole night.

Positive:
- Location. It's close to Termini trainstation, which is good if you have to go to the airport. On the other hand, the neighbourhood is not so nice and it's like 20 minutes walk from the major sights (colloseum etc.)
- Showers were clean.
- 24 hours reception. There is always someone there.

Room Tip: I would opt for a room that's not too close to the reception, because of the ringing of the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beauo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I recently went pack to Pop Inn Hostel after I stayed there 5 years ago. It's better than it was then. Still very clean but now there are modern bathrooms and bedrooms, a really nice stay. Very clean and neat and dorm rooms with 3-4 people which is ideal if you're looking for cheap accommodation without the hassle of sharing a dorm with 7-11 other people. There's also the option of same-sex dorm rooms if that makes you feel more comfortable.
The staff were friendly and to the point, the breakfast was decent, a coffee and a crossiant, and there is a locker facility provided you have your own lock. It's got really all you need to be comfortable and is a good base close to Termini and an easy walk to the main sights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Although some review are not that great, we had a really nice stay. we arrived really late one night and the guys at the desk were fantastic and made us feel welcome. we were given what I will call the african room and the nyc room. They would know what you are talking about. The nyc room and african room are next to one another with one other room in a little section. These three rooms have to share 2 bathrooms. But there was never an issue sharing and the bathrooms were clean. The rooms were also fantastic and clean and comfortable. This was actually one of the nicer hostels we stayed at. The location is fantastic- right next to train station and train station ammenities like groceries. The free breakfast that is down the street was sufficient. A croissant and coffee. We would stay here again. Just ask for one of those two rooms and you will be safe!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#739 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,149 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,062 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bubbles Roma
Bubbles Roma
#2,445 of 3,659 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#2,504 of 3,659 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Esquilino
Tokyo Hotel
Tokyo Hotel
#2,714 of 3,659 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Inn Hostel

Property: Pop Inn Hostel
Address: Via Marsala 80, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,028 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, just in front of the Termini main station! Pop Inn has no curfew, 24/7 check-in, Free breakfast until midnight, free luggage storage, free lockers and other facilities. Free maps & restaurant discounts are provided. Free Wi-Fi in both private & shared rooms as well as free computer’s use in the lobby (since June 30th 2012); plasma TV with Music & DVD selection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pop Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing