We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful neighborhood-walk to Vatican”
Review of Hotel San Pietrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Pietrino
Ranked #535 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 October 2010

No breakfast (hot water/tea/instant coffee only) served in this two star (because some rooms had outside bath?), but we loved going across the street to the neighborhood bar for coffee every morning to see the same locals(seemed like Cheers). We had a great room with internal bath for only 95 euro per night and we could open our window and watch the neighborhood come alive in the morning. Easy walk to Vatican for an audience with the Pope Wednesday morning. Spend the money to take a tour (lines were horrendous); we got ours at 8 Germanico (forgot the name...SeeItaly?) and the guide was superb!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank annacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon, and greatly enjoyed the very friendly and welcoming staff, immaculately clean room, vintage elevator, free internet service and low (by Roman standards) price.

We didn't have any issues with air conditioning being provided (it was on) despite being there in September.

The only reason I could think of not to stay here would be if you wanted to be right in the very heart of the city (we preferred this location, a few minutes away from the Vatican), or if having a big bedroom/bathroom is a high priority for you (it is cozy).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This is a nice, cozy hotel within walking distance of the Vatican. Room was clean, reasonably priced, and the staff all spoke excellent English to assist with questions, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDonNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed for 2 nights as a solo female traveller in this beautiful little hotel very recently. I was very impressed with the surroundings, the location and the welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeyNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Our family of five stayed at the San Pietrino for three very hot nights in early August. The room was small but managed to fit all five. A set of bunk beds, one twin and one queen. Clean and a bit too cozy...barely room for luggage. The bathroom was also small by American standards with the shower a tight fit for my large husband. The size of the room was fine with us, though, as we didn't plan to do more than sleep in the room. And there was the problem. Upon arriving, we learned the air conditioner was not working. Despite assurances from the somewhat sullen front desk staff that it would be repaired, the ac never worked. We did throw open our window for air but also brought in the sounds of the city at night. Tough to sleep.... I would not recommend this hotel for a summer stay. Hotel staff did comp us for the ac inconvenience to their credit. The location is excellent though. Easy access to the Vatican and Metro stop. Many caffes and restaurants. Tons of shopping. Loved Rome! Didn't love Il San Pietrino.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdibona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel is what others have described. Small hotel, on third floor (fourth to Americans) with a very small elevator access. Only a small sign out front tells you there is a hotel in the building and the rest of the building is used for apartments. Very different than an American hotel, as it has no first floor lobby. Hotel is completely on the third floor. Reception desk, rooms, everything.
Hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up at the Fiumicino Airport and to take us back. This worked great and was reasonable, 40 euro each way. I forget to get receipts for these two drivers, but I wrote the hotel after I got home and they got me the recieipts I needed. Great Service!
To American sensibilities, the room we had (a double) was small, with a Queen size bed and a twin bed at the foot of the main bed. No chairs to sit on to relax, but we only were in the room to sleep, as we were out seeing the sights for 16 hours a day.
These roooms are for sleeping, not to "live-in" for long term.
We had a private bath in our room. It was small, with only a shower, no tub.
Our room was quiet and opened up on the front of the building. The air conditioning was on and worked well, so with the windows closed, no street noise bothered us. Windows did open up and were opened during the day, as the power to the room shuts down with no one in the room.
The hotel is in a neighborhood, so not much nightlife here. A few restaurants are near the hotel, but much more commerce, shopping, etc. is about 6 blocks away toward the Vatican. Access to the Metro is just a short walk to the Octaviano Station.
Hotel staff was very nice and we could communicate pretty good using a combination our very rudimentary Italian and their much better English.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMan3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The San Pietrino is located on the 3rd floor of an intown apartment building just a couple blocks from the Metro Ottaviano Station. The staff was efficient and friendly and the room was clean and appeared to have been newly decorated. A small, rather vintage elevator was available to the 3rd floor as well as a wide staircase. We felt that the room rate represented a good value and WiFi was included. Street parking was very difficult. Many restuarants were within walking distance of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the San Pietrino and would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais San Pietro
#811 of 1,271 in Rome
160 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#553 of 1,271 in Rome
137 reviews
Residence Candia
#373 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#420 of 1,271 in Rome
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietrino

Address: Via Giovanni Bettolo 43, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#188 Business Hotel in Rome
#304 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is beautifully decorated with terracotta floors and tasteful wood furniture. The extras such as TV/DVD/ADSL - are unusual for a place in this category. Housed in a 19th-century palazzo, it's a simple and cosy place, run by young and service-oriented staff providing 24/7 full support to the guests. No breakfast is provided - no great loss as it's surrounded by convenient cafes and restaurants. Some guides consider it the best value for money in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Pietrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietrino Hotel
San Pietrino Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing