We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #77 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in this pretty hotel for 4 nights together with my wife during our New year's vacations. We found it's location excelent. It's just about 10 minutes by foor from Circus Maximus subway station and Circus Maximus itself. At the same time our street was very quiet. There are only private villas on the street. So, almost no cars, no tourists. The location of the hotel is one of the best we've seen in Rome. We had room number 522 on the third floor with big balcony, that had table and chairs. It was so nice to seat on the balcony with a glass of wine in the afternoon. The room itself is not big but clean and confortable. The staff is friendly and always ready to support. We ordered airport transfer through the hotel staff and they did it well. Also they booked for us a restaurant according to our request. We can definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay there again during our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but we preferred room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryRussia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mr Dmitry,
Thank you so much for your positive review and for thinking about us once at home..!!
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you had a very good experience with us..!!
Our Hotel Villa San Pio is located in one of the most beautiful place in the city, on the top of Aventino hill… a special peaceful area, surrounded by green and history.!!
We will wait you again in our beautiful hotel Villa San Pio for another unforgettable trip in the eternal city..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Was supposed to be staying in hotel Aventino but got sent here instead due to problems with that hotel -but was not disappointed! Hotel was amazing, and staff were very nice and friendly. I got my purse stolen out of my bag on the metro (yes be careful!) and on arrival staff were very sympathetic and helpful. Room was lovely particularly the bathroom -amazingly powerful shower! Really good breakfast, value for money, and location. Cannot fault it, would definitely recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flossy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are very glad you completely enjoyed and appreciated the room upgrade we did for you! Especially, we thank you for the nice words about our staff and for the hotel in its whole.

Waiting for your next visit we wish you a joyful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spent 4 nights at Villa San Pio. This was my first time in Rome, so I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. And it was the best decision ever! I was sort of expecting the rooms to be small - but no! The room we got was fantastic! A peaceful refuge from the busy city of Rome, yet only a short walk away from the main attractions - and only a bus ride away from the rest. We managed to see all the landmarks in 5 days - and had plenty of time to rest at the hotel, to eat our breakfast in peace and to see the magnificent Rome skyline from the Giardino Degli Aranci.

Loved the breakfast and the choice of dishes, loved the decor - very rustic! And loved the porter who kept asking us if we needed anything. I really enjoyed being cared for.

I'd also recommend the private car service from the airport to the hotel - very reliable, always on time.

Arrivederci Roma - see you again soon Villa San Pio! Buon anno nuovo!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise - and are closer to the terrace - I'd suggest you'd also get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefaniaCalleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Stefania,
thank you for sharing this beautiful and positive comment with the Tripadvisor community! We are very glad that we contributed to make your first trip in Rome so special, especially as regards the room and the quiet but central location of our roman Villa!
We wish you a Happy New Year and wait for your next return in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I first stayed in the S. Pio in 1998. We keep coming back -- another 15 times at latest count. The hotel is a gem. Nice rooms in the old-world style, attractive common rooms and a lovely garden in the area between the buildings. The staff are both friendly and attentive and go out of their way to be helpful. The location on the Aventine Hill is exceptional. The Aventine is quiet and residential with outstanding views of the Tiber and the rest of Rome and with several attractions of its own. Everyone to whom we have recommended the S. Pio has had nothing but good things to say about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear James,
we would like to give you a special thank for your fidelity to our hotel during all these years!!! We are so pleased to read such a beautiful review from a valuable guest like you are!!! We take in high consideration your positive feedback and we are glad that you appreciate, each time, our friendly staff, the magnificent location and the Villa San Pio in its whole. We are looking forward to pamper you again! We wait for your next return and we wish you a happy holiday season!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My friends and I spent 9 nights at the Villa San Pio and used it as a base to explore Rome and surrounding areas. The reviews were correct about this hotel. It is a peaceful refuge from a busy city, but only a short walk to the colosseum and two metro stops. It is also a short distance from the train to Ostia Antica, the Roman ruins that we were impressed with. We also walked to the Ostiense train station to take the new private high speed train Italo to Florence. There are quite a few good restaurants in the area and it is close to Eataly, which is an amazing Italian food, drink, and eating place that is partially owned by Mario Battali. So the location was perfect for us. There was a grocery store a few minutes towards the colosseum that we used several times.

Our rooms were all nice and quite different from each other. The beds were firm and comfortable. My room was large and had a large tub and no shower curtain, which is common in Europe. It was no problem for me, but you if it bothers you then ask for a room with a shower (my friend's rooms had showers). They had CNN and FOX TV stations along with many Italian stations. The wifi was good, although it sometimes was a little slow, but not too bad.

The breakfast was very good with many selections, both hot and cold. We did not sit outside since the weather was cold, but the area was very nice and would be good in warmer weather. At night they serve drinks with potato chips and peanuts for snacks. We ended many of the days there with a glass of wine and the snacks. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. The man who normally served us wine knew our names and our room numbers after the first evening. We also used their car service to and from the airport and it worked well and was cost effective for 3 of us.

So overall we had an excellent stay and would very much recommend San Pio to others. I hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Jim,
what a beautiful and positive review!!! Thank you very much for your nice words!!! We are so happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and that you really liked our peaceful location, our nice rooms, the excellent service and the friendly staff! We really hope that you and your friends could come back in Rome very soon to enjoy once again the relaxing atmosphere of Villa San Pio hotel… in the meantime we would like to wish you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This review is only 10 years late coming, but better late than never!
My wife and I stayed here in July of 2003. Upon arrival, which happened to be her birthday, the staff surprised her by sending up a complimentary bottle wine along with a tray of cheese and meats! Very thoughtful and observant!
As for the hotel, we loved the fact it is located in a residential section of Rome away from all the traffic and noise. The service was fantastic! They were always will and able to answer any questions we had regarding sights and dining options. The patio eating area is just beautiful! The food was delicious too!
If you enjoy walking, the Colosseum is only about 15 minutes away as well as the Ruins.
I also made a point to stay here during a flight layover in 2008 and unbelievably the staff remember me! Amazing!
I plan to visit Rome along with my wife and two daughters this coming summer and will be planning on staying here again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a great view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWA18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Livonia,
It is very nice to hear about you after so much time! Your beautiful review has surprised us very much! We are very happy that you still keep in your memories the vivid experience you had in our hotel 10 years ago and that your feelings did not change during all these years! We are really glad that you appreciated many aspects of our hotel, from the kind staff to the excellent quality of the food. We are looking forward for you stay this summer and for this reason we suggest you to contact us directly to get some interesting offers! In the meantime, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Villa San Pio is a beautiful hotel in a quiet residential area. In Rome for a long weekend at the end of November, we easily walked to all the touristy places (even in the pouring rain). The rooms are large, clean, bright with marble bathroom, wood flooring, tapestry... The staff was really nice and helpful. We arrived too late for the restaurant of our choice so the receptionist called and booked us in a local restaurant (favoured by Italian - always a good sign) and it was so fantastic that we went back the second night (Trattoria Da Butticano). Forget Paris, now Rome is my favourite european city. We will not hesitate to book Villa San Pio next time we visit Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Christine,
we are very pleased that you enjoyed your roman trip so much that Rome has become your favorite European city and that we contributed to it! Moreover we give you a special thanks for sharing your positive experience with the Tripadvisor community! We really hope that more and more people can appreciate the service of our hotel and the helpful staff like you did!
We look forward to meet you again! Best wishes for a joyful holiday season!
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,268 in Rome
971 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#43 of 1,268 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#95 of 1,268 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing