We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs! Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of M&J Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
M&J Hostel
Ranked #661 of 1,087 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bedbugs! Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had an awful time in this hostel.

We found BEDBUGS in our bed in the morning. We've shown the bedbug to the manager who was unwilling to help. He said that he never had this problem and suggested it was our fault. After returning home, we saw plenty of Tripadvisor reviews on the hostel stating they had the same problem and that the hostel had bedbugs before.

Just avoid this hostel because of the mean staff and bedbugs!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviergrattongagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    72
    69
    64
    125
See reviews for
12
56
127
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bialystok, Bialystok, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The rooms are very cold.The smell in tne room is very bad.The price is not good.Just breakfast is okey but the rest is awful.There is no elavator in hostel.Very bad hostel...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I did not plan to go Rome, i made this decision at the last min. I chose M&J coz it is close to the Rome termini and it is actually very central. You can visit many places in Rome starting from here, especially for bus, Metro and train. I love it. Very convenient. Room is worth to your money but I appreciated the support from staffs in the hostel, very helpful, and friendly. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linhhoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

# I stayed at this hostel for a night because I didn't know how long I will stay. It turned out to be really nice. The receptionists helped me out a lot and showed me all the good places to go to. There is so much to do in Rome! So I stayed for another 3 days to see and do 3 days at the hostel. Had loads of fun. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I really made a wrong choice staying in this hostel.

OK! They only accept CASH, no credit card. It's not convenient to me. Well, it's still ok.

The room is not clear as during my stay, I was bitten by fleas. Ooooppppssss..
Per e-mail communication, prices should be included internet and breakfast but the fact is : they have big special offer as long as I pay EURO 3, I can use Wifi till checking out but my Wifi quality is upmost terrible!!!! Breakfast also asks for EURO 3 for one meal!! I hate the cheat behavior so I would rather not EAT!!

Noise problem is serious. The bar is down stairs and it makes noises till middle night.

During my stay, I heard a girl was yelling loudly. She's arguing with one guy in their room and I still remember she's yelling : YOU STOLE MY MOMEY" What a awful hostel!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggykenshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hostel has NO lockers to store your personal items during your stay, unless you count ones only large enough to hold a wallet and cell phone. Only one power outlet in our room of eight people, and the bunk beds were old, creaky, and covered in plastic under the sheets. Not comfortable at all. The bathrooms were decently clean, but with not enough stalls/showers. Had to pay a fee for wifi that was either very slow or didn't work half the time. The "breakfast" you can opt to pay for wasn't worth the cost. Everything just had a dingy feel to it, including the rooms. About the only actual nice thing about this hostel was its closeness to the train station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We can confirm that at least one bed in room 117 is infected by masses of bedbugs. My girlfriend was attacked during the first night by dozens of bedbugs.

The night warden changed her and me (sleeping in the bed below) to a (according to him) bedbugs free rooms. Indeed the rooms seemed to be so.

That means, they know, they have a problem, nevertheless they send the newcommers into the infested room.

The room was not emptied and cleand by a professional next day, they seemed to try to solve the problem with some chemicals. This is not really a professional way to treat a bedbug problem in hotel or private rooms.

All the other services are normal hostel standard.

So, if being interested in not widespreading the problem to other hotels and even your home, stay away!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#30 of 1,087 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#56 of 1,087 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#19 of 1,087 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#43 of 1,087 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Esquilino
Stargate Hotel
Stargate Hotel
#499 of 1,087 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M&J Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M&J Hostel

Property: M&J Hostel
Address: Via Solferino 9, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #661 of 1,087 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your M&J Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m & j Hotel Rome
m And j Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing