We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs”
Review of M&J Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
M&J Hostel
Ranked #797 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is probably the worst experience I have had in Rome. I travel a lot and I will not recommend this hostel to anyone. There were bugs in the bed, the electrical plugs were scary and the room price form at the back of the door indicated a price much lower than we were charged. You have to pay with cash during the chek-in, so once you see the room is too late. They have a video in the web showing the rooms and it is NO EVEN closer to what you find.
The rest of the trip was amazing. I recomend visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hostel. There are many options in Rome, some of them very interesting. But be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The manager is very helpful with customers. He helped us search and book the hostels in the next part of our trip. You can get to anywhere in the city by Rome termini station which is only 5 minute walk away. Try the 3 euro breakfast to save money.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baoineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

i had heard only HORRIBLE things about M&J (including recent bed bugs), but i had already reserved a room. i was able to find an even better room at a much better price elsewhere, so i was going to cancel my reservation at M&J. when i got there, the once friendly staff turned extremely rude. the manager yelled at me, a young girl traveling alone, and even referred to himself as a "bad manager". the rest of his staff looked embarrassed and ashamed to even be associated with him and the hostel. i have never been treated so poorly by someone in my entire life and will continue to spread the word of how miserable it is

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank worldt144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had an awful time in this hostel.

We found BEDBUGS in our bed in the morning. We've shown the bedbug to the manager who was unwilling to help. He said that he never had this problem and suggested it was our fault. After returning home, we saw plenty of Tripadvisor reviews on the hostel stating they had the same problem and that the hostel had bedbugs before.

Just avoid this hostel because of the mean staff and bedbugs!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviergrattongagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The rooms are very cold.The smell in tne room is very bad.The price is not good.Just breakfast is okey but the rest is awful.There is no elavator in hostel.Very bad hostel...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I did not plan to go Rome, i made this decision at the last min. I chose M&J coz it is close to the Rome termini and it is actually very central. You can visit many places in Rome starting from here, especially for bus, Metro and train. I love it. Very convenient. Room is worth to your money but I appreciated the support from staffs in the hostel, very helpful, and friendly. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linhhoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

# I stayed at this hostel for a night because I didn't know how long I will stay. It turned out to be really nice. The receptionists helped me out a lot and showed me all the good places to go to. There is so much to do in Rome! So I stayed for another 3 days to see and do 3 days at the hostel. Had loads of fun. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#30 of 1,166 in Rome
760 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#74 of 1,166 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,166 in Rome
981 reviews
Esquilino
Stargate Hotel
Stargate Hotel
#724 of 1,166 in Rome
128 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#33 of 1,166 in Rome
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M&J Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M&J Hostel

Address: Via Solferino 9, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #797 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $36 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your M&J Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m And j Hostel
m & j Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing