We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of M&J Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
M&J Hostel
Ranked #657 of 1,032 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Rome. Although the location is great (just a stone’s throw from termini station) the best thing about M & J Hostel are the staff. They are so welcoming and genuinely helpful and friendly - they really made us feel at home and provided us with so many tips and ideas to help us enjoy our time in Rome just that little bit more. Another point to mention is the breakfast (which was 3 euro in March 2012). The food was very delicious and such high quality. Having travelled and stayed in many hostels before, the variety and quality of food was definitely a nice surprise. I would also like to make a personal mention of the manager, Mario. I honestly can’t stress enough how down-to-earth and caring this man is. He went beyond the call of duty to provide me with help and information (I was very ill during this trip to Rome) and he made my stay the most pleasant experience it could be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    70
    68
    64
    123
See reviews for
12
56
122
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is probably the worst experience I have had in Rome. I travel a lot and I will not recommend this hostel to anyone. There were bugs in the bed, the electrical plugs were scary and the room price form at the back of the door indicated a price much lower than we were charged. You have to pay with cash during the chek-in, so once you see the room is too late. They have a video in the web showing the rooms and it is NO EVEN closer to what you find.
The rest of the trip was amazing. I recomend visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hostel. There are many options in Rome, some of them very interesting. But be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The manager is very helpful with customers. He helped us search and book the hostels in the next part of our trip. You can get to anywhere in the city by Rome termini station which is only 5 minute walk away. Try the 3 euro breakfast to save money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baoineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

i had heard only HORRIBLE things about M&J (including recent bed bugs), but i had already reserved a room. i was able to find an even better room at a much better price elsewhere, so i was going to cancel my reservation at M&J. when i got there, the once friendly staff turned extremely rude. the manager yelled at me, a young girl traveling alone, and even referred to himself as a "bad manager". the rest of his staff looked embarrassed and ashamed to even be associated with him and the hostel. i have never been treated so poorly by someone in my entire life and will continue to spread the word of how miserable it is

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had an awful time in this hostel.

We found BEDBUGS in our bed in the morning. We've shown the bedbug to the manager who was unwilling to help. He said that he never had this problem and suggested it was our fault. After returning home, we saw plenty of Tripadvisor reviews on the hostel stating they had the same problem and that the hostel had bedbugs before.

Just avoid this hostel because of the mean staff and bedbugs!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviergrattongagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bialystok, Bialystok, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The rooms are very cold.The smell in tne room is very bad.The price is not good.Just breakfast is okey but the rest is awful.There is no elavator in hostel.Very bad hostel...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I did not plan to go Rome, i made this decision at the last min. I chose M&J coz it is close to the Rome termini and it is actually very central. You can visit many places in Rome starting from here, especially for bus, Metro and train. I love it. Very convenient. Room is worth to your money but I appreciated the support from staffs in the hostel, very helpful, and friendly. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linhhoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,032 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#40 of 1,032 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#50 of 1,032 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Legends Hostel
Legends Hostel
#183 of 1,032 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#39 of 1,032 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M&J Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M&J Hostel

Property: M&J Hostel
Address: Via Solferino 9, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #657 of 1,032 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your M&J Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m & j Hotel Rome
m And j Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing