We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find!”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #82 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Have just enjoyed a wonderful break in this super hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and really went out of their way to be pleasant and welcoming. Our room, breakfast, free wifi, use of computer, slippers in room, complimentary coffee and pastries and even umbrellas (essential in the snow and sleet!) all contributed to exceeding the hotels 3star rating in our opinion. Fab!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moriarty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear guest,
We wish to remember you that Tripadvisor users have special offer.
We really thank you for your kindness, we are really glad to had you as our guest.
Waiting for your return, we send our best wishes,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raffaello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have just returned from a short trip to Rome. We spent three nights at the Hotel Raffaello on Via Urbana. The location is fantastic - truly 10 minutes walk from the Termini train station in one direction and 10 minutes walk from the Colosseum and Roman Forum in the other. Metro stops close by too. We spent most of the trip on our feet, walking to all sorts of wonderful places from the hotel! Tired feet but well worth it.
The hotel is very clean and well-run. We stayed in room 507 which was fantastic, with it's own roof terrace. Very helpful and friendly staff, and a good breakfast with lots of variety. The hot chocolate is lovely!
We whole-heartedly recommend the Hotel Raffaello and would stay there again.

Room Tip: 507 is a great room with a roof terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear customer,
We are really happy to know that the Hotel Raffaello and its Staff made your stay an enjoyable one, thanks to the position of the Hotel you are able to join all the major sites by walking.
We hope to see you soon at the Hotel Raffaello,
Best regards,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just got back from a lovely holiday in Rome - despide the weather at the beginning of our trip... Hotel Raffaello is a very nice place to stay - very clean. The ladies serving during the breakfast were extremely friendly and would always have a smile on their face. The only negative thing we would have to make is that when we checked in - the phone conversations of the receptionist was far more important than showing us any kind of help - my italien is not very good but it was good enough for me to understand that it was a personal conversation. Eventually we got checked in - but without beeing shown or explained about the very nice coffe espresso mashine. Everybody else we met in the hotel was trying to go out of their way to help and to show a friendly face. We did not see the person who checked us in again during our stay.
You will also find books what poeple left - in different languages and that was very usefull. A very nice touch of the hotel are the morning sheets - news in different languages.
We would stay again. Beds are extremely comfortable -.

The hotel is easy walking distance from the trainstation and there are many busses going from 4Euro to 10 Euro. If you go to the bottom of Via urbana and than turn right - you will come to a little place with a restaurant called Wanted on one side, there is also a church - but there is also a place - we could not figure out the name of it - but there is a big sign BAR outside - def. worth going in.... Beer and Wine is very reasonable priced and the nibbles you get are very nice - you dont pay for them in Italy....

Room Tip: Room 106 has got a balcony -
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear guest,
We are glad that the experience at the Hotel Raffaello has been enjoyable,
we apologize not to had give priority to your check-in but we are sure that the receptionist wasn't with a private call but with client, we use friendly behaviour.In all case we are sorry for what happened.
We hope to see you newly at the Hotel Raffaello.
Best regards,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just arrived back from Rome after staying at this hotel.
Situated close enough to walk from the Terminni station after an easy journey from Ciampino airport via Terravision coach (4 Euros). From hotel also able to walk to most of Rome's sights.
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, extensive continental breakfast with all fresh food. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful. We could find nothing to complain about with this hote and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsMollydog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear guest,
We wish to remind you that Tripadvisor users have special offer.
We thank you for sharing your positive review, we always try to offer the best value for money,
and the best service for our clients.
We hope to see you newly at the Hotel Raffaello,
Warm regards,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I can only endorse the consistent high quality reviews for this hotel. Very well placed for Terminii station. Arrived from Ciampino via Terravision coach. Only 20 Euros for 5 of us (booked on-line). Extremely high standard of housekeeping throughout our stay. Very extensive continental breakfast with everything you could wish for. Booked direct with the hotel last Autumn (2011), and both before and during our stay the staff gave very helpful advice and information. Recommended to a local restaurant, literally 5 mins walk away (Ristorante Tema: excellent !).
More general notes: the Colloseum's own guided tour (5 euros) on top of entrance fee was just right. 45 mins of interesting information without "overload". You are fast-tracked to a ticket booth inside the Colloseum if you take up this option. This was via Colloseum staff, not the numerous "touts" outside. Also, the climb to the top of St Peter's dome was a tremendous experience. 5 Euros if you climb all 551 steps; 7 euros if you go part way in a lift (leaving only 330 steps to climb !!!). The grotto below St Peter's houses the tombs of many late popes (John Paul II; St Peter etc) but was not obviously signposted inside the Basillica and was, therefore, very crowd free when we visited. A suggested must-do.

All in all, a great time at a great hotel in a great city !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear guest,
You are great!
We are enthusiastic to read your review, we are happy to have met your family and we hope you will return soon to the Hotel Raffaello.
Best wishes,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in February with my boyfriend and had a really enjoyable stay. Our room (202) was a nice size with a wardrobe, tv and free safe and we found the bed to be very comfortable. As we arrived late, about 11.30pm, we were both in desperate need for some water and so raided the minibar. For a hotel minibar in the middle of Rome it struck us as very reasonably priced! The bathroom had a lovely, if slightly cosy, shower and was large although poorly laid out. There wasn't actually sufficient room to sit on the toilet properly because of it's proximity to the shower and bidet so you had to sit sideways. Whilst we found this amusing rather than a reason to moan, I'm sure it would irritate some people. The room and bathroom were both really clean and our towels were changed daily. I also really appreciated the 'vanity kit' which aside from the usual shower gel contained things I always forget and need like a nail file!

Breakfast in the hotel was good with a nice continental buffet selection but what really struck me was how polite and attentive the breakfast staff were, they do a wonderful job. My only slight criticism would be that for the size of the hotel the breakfast area is small and it was somewhat problematic on the Sunday morning when a lot of people turned up for breakfast at around 9.30 and there weren't enough tables, we had to wait around 20 minutes. However, it was nice that the staff then didn't start clearing breakfast away at 10 like they were meant to and let the people who'd had to wait for their table continue breakfast at a leisurely pace. You could also get free tea and coffee in the lobby all day should you want it.

We also found most of the hotel staff friendly, and the lady, whose name I unfortunately forget, who was always around to help in the mornings in the lobby particularly so. She recommended us a nice restaurant and was helpful in telling us how to get to the Vatican by public tranport and also how to get to the rugby game at the Stadio Olimpico. All of the major sights are walkable from the hotel, we opted to take the metro to the Vatican because of the ice and snow but walked to the colosseum and forum in about 10 minutes at a leisurely pace and the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps and Panthenon is about 15-20.

Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and found it very clean, friendly and welcoming. Should I go to Rome again I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Suites have a balcony/terrace. Don't expect a view with normal rooms, ours was of a brick wall...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear guest,
We thank you for sharing your positive review, we are glad to know that the Hotel and its Staff reach in their intent, to offer you the best.
Unfortunately for the bathroom, the fact is that the Hotel's structure is old of the 19th century, and the plant can not be changed in an excessive way, but surely for your next trip we will offer you another solution.
We hope to see you soon at the Hotel Raffaello,
Warm regards,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

what a great hotel. stayed at this hotel for 4 nights very clean and tidy and close to most of the major attractions. metro station very close but most of the major attractions are very easy to reach by foot and you will find and see alot more. we stayed in room 512 had a nice balcony a good size double with a wonderful shower. breakfast was nice with alot of choice. all staff were very helpfull

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear customer,
We wish to remind you that Tripadvisor users have special offer.
We are glad that the Hotel and its Staff have made your stay a pleasant one.
Thanks to the clients reviews we can be satisfied of our job, and learn how to do best.
We hope to see you newly at the Hotel Raffaello,
Best regards,
Emanuela, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,267 in Rome
894 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing