We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food”

Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #111 of 13,749 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$117
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Description: There is a whole different taste when you dine with us. Long moments to be savored in an elegant and relaxed atmosphere, discovering the simplicity of traditions and indulging in the typical products of Italian cuisine. The flavor and appeal of the freshest and finest ingredients are enhanced by the creative preparations, such as smoked food and homemade pasta by our Chefs, Massimo Gonnella and Adriano Grech. True pleasures to smell, taste and enjoy. Nothing less than a perfect culinary experience, modern but also ancient in its way of sensing every nuance of flavor. To enjoy without needing to hurry, but respecting the times and ways of nature and that of our traditional recipes. A real Italian dining experience.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Went here for a family dinner. Nice location situated on the 7th floor of the hotel.

The menu has a decent variety with typical Italian cuisines. The standout dishes include the truffle pasta as well as the steak which is indeed cooked very well here. The wines are fairly priced. The dessert menu is basic but includes a decent chocolate fondant.

The waiters are friendly but seemed to be busy and as such, the overall service was merely average. I would recommend this restaurant for a decent casual Italian meal.

Thank Aneel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Aneel N,

thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Ambrosia Restaurant.

It is nice to hear that your overall experience was to your liking.
We are glad you have noticed the modest but fair selection of dishes in our menu, as to guarantee a dedicated attention to the quality of our food. The same goes for our wine list, which has also been specifically selected to be paired with the food we offer.
We are happy you enjoyed it.
Finally, we apologize if the service wasn't as quick as you expected it to be, it is not our usual standard.

We would like to thank you again and hope to have you back to try our other delicacies.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 721 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Maurizio is the man for making a special drink. The black mojito next to the standard G&T, very effective and delicious.
Been here a few times now and never fails to deliver.
Thanks Maurizio and see you again on the next visit.

1  Thank MercatoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed the hotel for my birthday and it’s a fantastic hotel and the restaurant is lovely.
The staff are friendly and my husband had the best steak he’s ever had there. But to
my disappointment the duck I had was too chewy and I couldn’t eat any of it.

1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Katie H,

We are so happy you chose to stay with us for your birthday and thank you for reviewing us.

We are glad to hear that your husband enjoyed his steak and that our staff was friendly and polite.
However, as much as we love compliments, our main objective is customer satisfaction and it seems like you were not completely satisfied this time.

We are saddened to learn that you didn’t like our browned duck breast with berry sauce. Differently from other types of meet, in order to enhance its flovours, the duck can only be cooked a certain way.
I’m sure you are familiar with the consistency of duck meet that is indeed different from others. In this case we can only suppose that perhaps it was not cooked to perfection, hence the chewy taste that, to a degree, it is its actual consistency due to its pulpous meet.

We regret not having had the chance to make it up to you, we would have been happy to offer a different plate or cook it just right for you.

Moreover, we hope that this experience did not deter you from coming back to visit us in the future giving us a second chance to make it just right.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

I had high expectations, but the food was average, as was the service. We took our two children who are 7 and 10 but I got the feeling they were not particularly welcome. It was expensive for what it was.

Thank F9381VSmoniqueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Monique B,

first and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing to dine with us.

These are the reviews we wish we would never have to read. We are truly sorry to hear we have not lived up to your high expectations in terms of both food and service.

As far as food goes, it is always a delicate and subjective matter especially when serving guests from all different parts of the world and we are aware that it is very difficult to meet everyone's tastes, but what leaves us most concern is that you had the impression that your children were not welcome.

I can guarantee that we love children and that families are always welcome in our restaurant.

I hope my words in this regard have aroused a change of opinion and you are still not convinced, please come back to visit, we will do everything in our power to turn your opinion around.

Thank you so much for trying us and really hope to have you again.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

YOU HAVE TO EAT HERE! YOU HAVE TO GET A DRINK HERE! The service is incredible and the drinks and food are absolutely breathtaking and delicious! Our waiter Emilio was perfect and our bartender was Marizio was AMAZING!!! You cannot miss this experience. There is a gorgeous view as well with an indoor and outdoor dining are!

2  Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing