We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place from which to explore Rome”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IndoGerma...
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place from which to explore Rome”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed at this lovely apartment for 10 nights in July 2014 with two daughters, age 11 and 14. We couldn't have chosen better - the hospitable owners, Cristina and Pasquale, the generous of storage space in the apartment (which helped to contain and disguise teenage clutter), the charming building and unique furniture, the delightful garden, the abundantly equipped kitchen, and the location all made our stay truly unforgettable.

Most major sights were in easy walking distance. Great little coffee shops, grocery stores, restaurants, galleries, and beautiful old churches grace the immediate neighborhood. Best of all, though, was the close proximity of the nightly summer market on the banks of the Tiber, inviting for a late-night stroll and drink. Thank you, Cristina and Pasquale, for this gem of a home-away-from-home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Dear Gabriel,
It is wonderful to hear this. Thank you so much for writing. It is true that a property in Rome with a wonderful garden in the midst of the city is a rare treat.We hope that you will come back and enjoy it again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvo28
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Rome!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me, my husband and my parents stayed here for 9 days in June. We loved the place and instantly felt at home. Plenty space for 4 adults and it was very well equipped, everything we needed was there. It is also furnished with great art and antiques giving lots of character. The garden is a great asset, secluded with plenty shade and a beautiful lemon tree and a drinking water font. We sat out most nights, and one night we heard most of the Rolling Stones concert which was taking place at the Circus Maximus. A small bonus!

The location was ideal. At night we stayed local and visited bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk but during the day we walked for miles visiting the sights, it was a good balance. Our favourite local restaurant was Trattoria da Teo. Great food and very relaxed atmosphere. We also enjoyed the local Indian restaurant and take away pizza from Pizzeria dei Marmi, by repute the best pizzeria in Rome only 5-10 minutes walk. There is so much choice in the surrounding streets that sadly we didn't get a chance to try them all!

We had a great time here and hope to return for more Roman adventures !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Road works outside windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2014
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for sharing this. Please come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatorman3...
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Roman Holiday”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This apartment was exactly as described. We were met by the owners Christina and Pasquale who were very helpful and friendly. They even took us on a neighborhood tour and bought us breakfast. We immediately felt at home. The apartment is very spacious, has a wonderful garden right off the spacious, eat-in kitchen. Being in Trastevere was very convenient. We had many good restaurants, local artists shops nearby and were an easy walk across the Tiber to the historic center of Rome. We would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and true Roman feel of the apartment
Liked least: Window facing street
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2013
We are so delighted that the apartment suited you and that you enjoyed your time in Rome. How could you not like that beautiful garden? Thank you so much for telling us and sharing this .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryloveM
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our extended stay at Il Giardino.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We loved our extended stay at "Il Giardino". I had studied in Rome many years ago, and always wanted to come back here and live for a while as an Italian.I loved Trastevere
because it was so lively, and wanted to live in a friendly neighborhood close to every-
thing I needed--grocery store, restaurants, a good place for coffee and a panino, laundry
and dry cleaners, etc.. Il Giardino is all of that!

The apartment itself is cozy, warm and comfortable--definitely reflects the owners' interest
in art. Everything is close, or if you are seniors like us, an easy cab drive away. I loved
walking over the bridges--Palantino, Sisto, Cestio and Fabricio to all the places I wanted to
visit. After a day of sightseeing or shopping, I especially enjoyed returning to the apartment
and relaxing in the tranquil garden. It felt far from the bustle of Rome .

The real jewels of Il Giardino are the owners who made everything so easy. As an added bonus, Santa Cecilia--one of the more charming but overlooked churches in Rome with
wonderful frescoes--is just around the corner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: street repairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2013
Thank you for writing and for being such delightful guests. I know that Rome is under your skin and that you will want to return again. Imagine what a garden would be like in the summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephL90...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Review of Il Mio Giardino Romano, Rome, Italy”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Review of Il Mio Giardino Romano, Via Pietro Peretti, 24, Apartment 2. Rome, Italy, February 2013, By Joseph R. Lundy, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Location. Mio Giardino Romano (MGR) is perfect for sightseeing and experiencing life in Rome’s oldest and most authentic neighborhood. Located in the residential, less commercial part of Trastevere, there are plenty of small shops with friendly merchants nearby. Within two blocks are many good neighborhood restaurants, two hairdressers, a friendly bar-coffee house, a laundry-dry cleaner, and a food store.

The Apartment. MGR is a cozy, ground floor, three-room apartment consisting of a bedroom with double bed, a living room/second bedroom that can sleep up to four, kitchen with large dining table, and a full bathroom. It faces south and so is light and sunny. MGR has a 32 inch flat screen TV with cable service, and Wi-Fi Internet service. A garden off the kitchen provides a comfortable place to relax after a hard day of work or sightseeing.

Sightseeing. MGR is a 15 minute walk from all of Trestevere, the ancient Roman ghetto neighborhood , the Bocca de la Verità (featured in Roman Holiday), and from Piazza Farnese and the daily markets in Campo dei Fiori. Another 15 minutes walking or a short taxi ride takes you to all of the other important sites in central Rome. A taxi stand is just a few blocks away.

The Owners. MGR’s owners make it truly special. They treat their guests like family, and provide helpful suggestions for local merchants, good restaurants, and interesting sightseeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Too much rain in January
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for writing. I am so glad that you enjoyed your Roman interlude. I know that you took advantage of so much that Rome has to offer. I hope that you will return for more; Rome lasts a lifetime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenM55
Sitges, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, character and garden too!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great to Rome at the end of October, felt like locals staying by staying at Mio Giardino Romano. The apartment is full of character, close to everything and a real gem. Our children 7 and 10 were comfortable sleeping on the daybeds in the living room, and it only took a minute or two to make the beds up in the morning, returning it to a space for everyone. Plenty of storage closets, so no need to clutter up any of the rooms with luggage.

I would not call our children big "walkers", but we never took a taxi during our 5 day stay. They happily walked everywhere, too busy taking in all the sights to think about how far they had gone. In emergencies, apply gelato or hot chocolate to revive!!

Would happily return to this fantastic apartment! The owners were wonderfully helpful and informative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and personality
Liked least: a few more bowls for those who would like to really cook, like me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in "Il Mio Giardino Romano". and that you were able to introduce your children to Rome in such a lovely setting. We really appreciate that you took the time to write. I do hope that you get to come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing