We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
98
188
186
86
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
188
186
86
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station manzoni arrived late in the evening nice hotel terrace bar city trip shower gel road noise breakfast service transport links minute walk breakfast was included short stay ham location is ideal roof garden light sleeper tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 651 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

It’s a 3 star hotel. Very basic. Room was small n the toilet was stinky. Surprisingly thr was only 1 charging point in the room. We had to take chances to charge our mobile phones. When we tried to plug in the TV plug wud come off. It was very irritating. We were traveling with a child. Obviously pointed out these things requested for sum arrangements to be made. The staff is very polite n caring. Both at the reception n restaurant. They helped us with the whereabouts on the first day as it was our 1st time in Italy. Spread for the breakfast was also good. Hotel is 20 -30 mins walking frm the station straight road.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MadhaviP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

It's a good hotel close to public transport, neat and clean, value for the money you are paying, could do with shower gel in the room, how ever the beds are very comfortable and clean, nice breakfast and helpful staff there are places to eat and around the hotel all and all not bad place to stay

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rezsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Booked this hotel for our trip based on the reviews on Expedia and TA but ended up as a big disappointment. The pictures look good but reality is way different. The rooms are small, the toiletries and towers are the poorest of quality possible. The front desk staff is rude most of the times. The shower area is so small that you could stand but not even turn...the only place you can charge your phone or let me say it in a different way - if you need a plug for any electronics, the only one you can use is in the washroom where the hair drier is plugged.
The only positive things - breakfast (if you are north american) and the distance to Roma Termini.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora_7344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHGportamaggiore, Direttore at SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Meander785321,

thanks for sharing your stay experience at Hotel Porta Maggiore! Whatever You may write it will help us to improve our service! We actually don't think the pictures look different. I assure You we did not use any filter...!!!

We really hope You will give us another chance for your next trip to Rome...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This was my favourite hotel, the built-in ancient reliqs and the beautifully layed tables (with abundant breakfest) made a difference, compared to many other affordable places.There are plenty of shops and restorants nearby and the tram takes to the very city centre. (near Porta Maggiore) Walking the other direction there are quite dirty streets but...

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHGportamaggiore, Direttore at SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Sameriver,

thanks for your review! We appreciate You took time to share your experience at Hotel Porta Maggiore. We are happy to read You enjoyed your stay.

We really hope to host You again at our hotel for your next trip in Rome.


Best regards,

Alessandro Pavan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Went to Roma for my birthday, for my third time in Rome. After booking this hotel via Travel Republic I was a bit worried because of some if the reviews I saw afterwards, but was pleasantly surprised. Staff were very friendly & helpful. The location is great, Manzoni tube is near by (less than 10 mins walk) there is also a tram stop directly outside, if you don't mind walking which we don't the Collosuem is on 15/20 mins walk and its a pretty direct route so we found it fine to walk. There is alot of talk of the towels on other reviews, you do get Italian thin towels but you get plenty of them, and they work fine & are very clean. On our second day too we were given thicker more English style towels so they do have these. Wifi was reliable. We had a balcony room at front on second floor, the traffic was quite noisy but if you close window its not as bad & the air con system did work well & kept us cool. The view from the balcony was lovely, with ruins & buildings & we saw sunsets from there! Breakfast at the hotel was busy, but staff were constantly cleaning up & bringing more items out. There was plentiful cold continental breakfast, basic hot breakfast & the coffee was nice. Just around the corner from hotel you can find a few shops so if you need any drinks/snacka or little souvenirs you can pop here & lovely traditional small restuarants. I would say this hotel is good value choice for a city break an we enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rosaflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews