We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location and Adequate facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Ranked #322 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Central Location and Adequate facilities”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in a double room. The welcome was perfect. They helped us with a beautiful map of Rome and suggested nearby restaurants for dinner. We were very apprehensive of its closeness to the infamous Termini station. We did not have any problem with safety and roamed in the streets till midnight. Piazza della repubblica is just round the corner and Trevi Fountain at 10 minutes walk. The rooms were clean even though they are a bit small. The bathroom was spacious with a small shower. The breakfast was great with croissants, cakes and yogurt. The staffs were friendly and warm. It is not a complete value for money, but adequately served the purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    175
    38
    3
    4
See reviews for
121
145
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed three nights at Hotel Gea. We were not surprised that we could not easily find the entrance, as we had read reviews previously. There are buzzers next to the large wooden door that must be pressed to gain entry. (B2 is the buzzer to press.) The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean with a mini-fridge. Loved the large bathroom, fully equipped with a hairdryer included. As usual in Europe, no washcloths in the bathroom. The wireless internet was flawless. The room didn't have much of a view, but the location was great for us, as we did a LOT of walking and we were in the heart of everything. Breakfast was included and was convenient and sufficient. We enjoyed fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and granola.

Room Tip: We had room 34, which was a triple, and was good sized. I'm not sure what the other rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We got the family room (2 adults and 3 kids) which was very spacious, clean, and beutifully furnished. The staff knew English, (which is not a trivial thing in Rome or anywhere in Italy) and were very helpful and friendly. The only disadvantage of the room was that it had only one shower. Otherwise it was perfect (for its price).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris_Eyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in mid-July before our cruise at Hotel Gea in the quad room located on the curved staircase area. The room was perfect for our needs and had a nice side entrance to quickly get to and from the sights and sounds of Rome. We arrived around 10:30AM after our long flight from Washington DC and were quickly greeted by a friendly face and taken to our room within 30 mins of arrival. Great attention to detail. This is a family run hotel and they made our stay in Rome very enjoyable. We are a family of four with two teenagers and the rooms are clean, large for European standards and the staff is great. If you need a hotel near the train station and walking distance to most sites this is a perfect location.

We came back after our cruise and stayed an additional 5 nights in a larger quad around the corner. The room was huge and really an apartment rather than a hotel room. We will be back. As a note, there is a nice wine store less than 5 mins away along with a good gelato place. Restaurants are very good and close.

Room Tip: The quad rooms are great. Request the larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGICK_HEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Staff - Helpful and professional

Room - Spacious, clean and exactly what we were after.

Location - perfect. 10 minutes walk to the train station, 15 minutes walk to the colloseum, 15 minutes walk to the Pantheon etc ..... can not fault it.

Breakfast (included) - good

Shower - struggled a little with the lack of hot water

M.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hot position nearby the railway station and a the very beginning of the main street (via Nazionale) heading to city center. tea and coffee boiler on the desktop; the bathroom was as small as the room, tv wall mounted had a wrong inclination so that you can't watch tv laying in bed, since my room was facing on the street I couldn't keep the window opened to breath while sleeping (I need it). I didn't like their continental breakfast since croissants and pastry were not well cooked but actually raw (may their oven didn't work well to unfreeze croissants). I expected a better room according to the photographs on the site but I anyway rate my overall staying positive because the hotel is in good central position and clean and smart.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zambo335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

After enjoying two weeks of traveling to many places in Italy.  We were absolutely happy to spend our final days in the most amazing city of Rome, and our stay at this Hotel made the experience even better.  It's within walking distance to a lot of major historical sites, and if you want to go to other areas like the Basilica, this hotel is a block away from the subway where you pay 1 Euro, and your there within 10 minutes or less.  There is also taxis that are at the Piazza Repubblica which the Hotel can call for you.  Which we used to go to the Fiumicino Airport for 40 Euro.  Or, if you would like to go other cities in Italy, Termini Train Station is also very close to this hotel.

The hotel staff and management were an absolute pleasure to talk to, and were very helpful.  The rooms are very comfortable, air conditioned, clean, and well taken care of.  The continental breakfast is great.  The free Internet access worked very well with my laptop.  Best of all it was reasonably priced.  They treated us very well as a guest of their hotel, and they will make sure that you will enjoy your stay in Rome.  We stayed at this hotel over 10 years ago, and got the same service, and I would choose it again if I were to visit Rome for a third time.   Thanks again to Hotel Gea di Vulcano!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACRuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#230 of 1,259 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#206 of 1,259 in Rome
946 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#60 of 1,259 in Rome
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#103 of 1,259 in Rome
811 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,259 in Rome
1,208 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#134 of 1,259 in Rome
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gea di Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gea di Vulcano

Property: Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Address: Via Nazionale 243, 184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
#220 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gea di Vulcano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gea di Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gea Di Vulcano Rome
Gea Di Vulcano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing