We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, modern shower”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Serena
Ranked #383 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is without a doubt the smallest room I have ever stayed in, that said, I still consider our time here well spent. The gentleman on the front desk was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was descent and I got a kick out of the old fashioned elevator, I haven't seen one of those since I was a little girl. The bathroom was by far the nicest amenity and I really enjoyed the shower, we also thought the location was pretty good for seeing the sights in Rome. It seems as though ice is a luxury in the Termini area and it wasn't until our second day that we were able to get a few cubes to chill our drinks (I think the gentleman on the desk made them for us himself overnight). The hotel is nice and clean and we slept well but I probably wouldn't stay here again due to the size of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satellitesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Serena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very convenient location, close to all means of transport,nice restaurants & also tourist attractions (Santa Maria Maggiore, Colosseum, Via Veneto, Opera house etc).
Adequate breakfast. Small triple room but immaculate clean and recently renovated. Ask for a room looking to the inner yard, if you are a light sleeper....(pretty much noise of the tram passing beside the hotel )

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houzolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A perfect little find after a terrible ordeal with another hotel across the road.

The Serena is perfectly located with an excellent standard of accommodation at a very reasonable rate. The staff could not do enough for us during our stay. Ra'ed is a gentleman and a scholar!!

The breakfast served in the morning suits all tastes and was well presented.

Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Hotel Serena is clean, friendly hotel, just two blocks from Stazione Termini. Termini surroundings have developed huge amount since, let´s say five years ago. There has been done new traffic arrangements and it´s nowadays clean in many ways.
Hotel Serena has one of the best so called continental breakfast if thinking these kind of reasonable price hotels. This time price per day was 65 including breakfast and wireless internet. Connection wasn´t the best possible all the time but anyway working most of the time, some difficulties occure during using Skype video calls. Soundproofing could be better. It may variate depending on location of the room. Now it was faced to the backyard and somehow was a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Risto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Perfect travel spot. Clean, amazing and friendly staff. Typical European room size but spotless. The location is close to the Metro, the train, restaurants and shopping. Across the street is a restaurant that for about 10 Euros offer a wonderful menu and very good service. The elevator is a treat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Couple, 50's . Cannot fault this hotel spotlessly clean , very helpful staff ,polite and informative, only down side no tea coffee facility in room and not available elsewhere in hotel . Little tip ! Turn right out of front door, cross the road and turn left , little restaurant first on right , fantastic, for 10 euros 3 courses and bottle of wine , nice elderly couple .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sparra9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I got this hotel through Bookings.com though it was recommended by Road Scholar and I did research it on TA prior to selecting it. The Serena is a typical small hotel in a commercial building, and when they called it a "single" room they weren't kidding! You won't be able to spread out, that is for sure; I can't speak for the doubles. Even so, it had a new TV, a frig and adequate bathroom and was very squeaky clean. High enough up to diffuse street noises. The staff was exceptionally helpful and got me all the train schedules I needed and advised me on best times to visit local attractions. Breakfast was ample and delicious. I can't find anything negative to say about this place. Got it for 95 euros/night which was a better price than others I checked.

Room Tip: High up and off street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#306 of 1,267 in Rome
855 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#171 of 1,267 in Rome
411 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#290 of 1,267 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#273 of 1,267 in Rome
275 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
872 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#247 of 1,267 in Rome
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $101 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing