We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #313 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We found Hotel Paba from reviews right here on trip advisor. Alberta was wonderful we stayed 3 nights, Sept.27-29, before our cruise. You can't say enough for the location it was great we had 2 tours ond the rest we did with the map Alberta gave us and riding the Metro. Cash exchage right across the street that did not charge a commision. the room was large and very clean, the bed was great. We cannot wait to go back and stay again. The breakfast she brought in every morning was amazing. We knew we lucked out when our driver told us we could not be in a better location. Don't hesitate to book Hotel Paba you won't be sorry. She sent our travel agent an email with all details and also set up transportation to the port for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Superb location. Very clean. Simple but tasty breakfast. Alberta, who runs it, is relaxed, unfussy and helpful. If you want a boutique hotel and to lounge around a glitzy foyer, then this is not the place for you. If, however, you want a practical and comfortable base from which to explore the city, it would be hard to imagine anywhere better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My son and I stayed at Hotel Paba in Oct. 2011. What a wonderful boutique hotel. Very clean, good location and the staff was so friendly! Our stay included a continental breakfast that was fresh and delicious! We would definitely stay there again and I would recommend to my family and friends! Thanks Hotel Paba!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The location couldn't be better and the staff was excellent. We walked everywhere and were close to tourist sights and wonderful restaurants. The rooms were basic and spotless. We spent eight nights there, using it as our base in Rome. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the pillows were hard, but our bed was excellent and the room was very quiet. It had heavy outdoor shutters and good windows to block any outdoor noise--if you closed them. Breakfast was good but after a few days we were quite tired of it.
Our only problem was bed bugs. We had a small infestation but the staff was horrified, did an internet search to verify what we had and immediately tore the room apart cleaned and sprayed (with an environmentally friendly spray) everything in our room and all the others. They lined up someone to get rid of the pests after we moved out and took care of us and the problem. My lesson from this experience is to ALWAYS insist on examining the mattress in any room I am staying in. I don't think Italian hoteliers are as aware of the problem as those in NYC and other major US cities.
We would stay at the Paba again because the staff is very conscientious and considerate, the rooms are clean and because it is a perfect base in Rome.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyhawk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just back from two weeks in Italy. We stayed the first three nights at Hotel Paba. If your only concern is location, location, location, this place has it and at a budget rate by Rome standards anyway. Very convenient to the main sights. The rooms are spotless and bathrooms certainly adequate.

Now for the CONS: we stayed in a room on the courtyard side and I have to warn all that the restaurant downstairs is noisy throughout the night until about 3am, moving tables, stacking chairs, staff conversing. Then it quiets until about 5am and starts up all over again. Coupled with the hardest mattress we slept on (and I sleep on a semi-firm at home - this one was very, very firm), and pillows with no give to them, equaled the worst sleep we had while in Italy. As another reviewer mentioned, breakfast was a spartan affair - a croissant, yogurt, juice, and coffee. Again, based on the remainder of our stay throughout southern Italy, this breakfast was lacking in portion and variety, plus there was no dining room. It is definitely a budget hotel. Next time we would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I read other reviews that warned about noise in the rooms that face Via Cavour. I thought the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyr772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is a lovely and small hotel (with only 7 rooms I think). The staff, especially Alberta, were fantastic. This is a small hotel on the second floor, lift, free wifi and just around the corner from the Colosseum. The location is amazing since Rome is a very walkable city. The metro is a couple minute walk from the hotel and just one stop away from the main Termini station.

I highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean, nice large beds, refrigerator/mini-bar (pay) with a small bathroom. The a/c works great and you are served breakfast in you room when you are ready. This is a gem of a hotel in Rome and I had a fantastic time!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We chose the Hotel Paba based on online reviews. We stayed 2 nights in October 2011 prior to a Mediterranean cruise. The hotel is in an ideal location - walking distance to Colosseum, Forum, Victor Emmanuel Monument, Basilica of San Clemente and St. Peter in Chains Church. We also walked to Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps but that might be more walking than you would care for.
I think the hotel is a great value for the accommodations and location. We had a room in the back which was very quiet. It was a double but there was an additional alcove with a bed so it could be used as a triple. The breakfast is served in your room shortly after a telephone call telling the staff that you're ready. It consisted of orange juice, coffee, rolls, yogurt and the best croissants I've ever tasted.
Alberta was a great help in rescheduling our transfer to Civitavecchia for our cruise when a mass demonstration was scheduled for that day and we wanted to leave Rome earlier than first planned. She contacted Romecabs.com and was able to get an earlier pick up for us so we avoided any delays caused by the demonstrations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseybrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#249 of 1,270 in Rome
225 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#513 of 1,270 in Rome
163 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#642 of 1,270 in Rome
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#431 of 1,270 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#777 of 1,270 in Rome
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $77 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing