We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value, great staff!”
Review of Hotel Cressy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cressy
Ranked #782 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome value, great staff!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The owner was very nice and helpful, and spoke excellent English. The room was cheap and clean, and was also in a great location. I walked every where I wanted to go, and if you aren't a fan of walking, its only a few minutes away from the bus and train station. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leo0pard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
5
23
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Cressy is a small but very well-maintained hostel that far exceeded my expectations. It is close to Termini (the central train/metro/bus station) so is easy for tourists to get out sight-seeing or to grab a quick and easy breakfast, which is not provided by the hostel. The rooms are a decent size, well appointed without being cramped and very clean and I was pleasantly surprised to find my bed made up each day (towels were not replaced but that's fine by me). Toilets were also kept very clean. The staff were lovely - very helpful and friendly. One thing that I did find difficult were the locks on the doors so be sure you check ensure it's locked before heading out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cengland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

For 50 euro a night in Rome... this place is great! 5 minutes from the train and bus station. Great, fast wifi connection and a room with a view! It's an alley, but because we're on the 5th floor it's actually quite a nice outlook. My only complaint about this place is that the other guests spend too much time in the bathroom! There are two, and every time I want to go, someone is in there having a long, leisurely shower. Well, my other complaint might be that the bedsprings are squeaky and the bed could probably use replacing, but overall not bad.
Check my blog for photos...
www.livingmylifeinreverse.blogspot.com

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andercander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juiz de Fora, Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The place is simple but clean and quite. There is no breakfast, but the internet is free. For 3 days stays is OK. The location is excellent and staff is very nice, in specially Renata, a great girl. Our problem was with the people from Rome in general. They are so stupid and are not prepared to receive tourists yet, although the city to be amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmrpsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Dont be fooled by the entrace to the hotel or the reception. The place is small, clean, the beds are comfy and the restroom are also very clean. There is a nice size grocery store downstairs and the guy who runs that is super friendly and has about everything you can imagine. The place has no AC so I am sure in the middle of the summer not a great choise, but they do have soundproofing windows and they are as quiet as can be.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarlo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed for seven night in Cressy. The room was clean when we arrived. Everyday we got new towels. The staff was nice and helpfull. With open windows it was a little bit noisy in the evening and the morning and you will wake up early because of the light. Just close the screens/shutters and it will be okay. A good choice if you want to stay in the center of Rome, even for a longer stay then usual.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Worst experience I have ever had. Upon returning to my room from an evening of sight seeing, I was first hit by the stench of urine and after turning the lights on saw a large puddle of urine in the middle of my floor. The hotel staff suggested that perhaps I had "forgotten" and urinated on my own floor. The urine was swirled around on the floor with a small mop and I was left with the recommendation of leaving my window open and the fan on to "air it out". I barely slept that night due to the stench and fear that someone would come in my room.

  • Liked — Nothing!!!!
  • Disliked — Unsafe. someone was able to get in my room and urinate on the floor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#988 of 1,259 in Rome
366 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Hotel Cassia
#729 of 1,259 in Rome
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Trastevere Resort
#949 of 1,259 in Rome
99 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#714 of 1,259 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#953 of 1,259 in Rome
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cressy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cressy

Property: Hotel Cressy
Address: Via Volturno 27, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #782 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cressy 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-star Hotel and Hostel Cressy is situated inside the walls of the historic centre of Rome. It is located just 100 meters from Rome's central train station (Stazione Termini), the hub of all forms of urban transportation leading to all points of interest within and near to the city. Guests also have easy access to all major tourist attractions such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, St. Peter's Basilica and more. The family run hostel offers 10 guest rooms. Rooms available include single, double, triple, quadruple end female/male dormitory (max 5 pax). Please note that a few of the rooms have their own private bathroom and the other rooms share bathroom facilities. The hotel is on family running the comforts of an traditional Italian style, where you will are feel right at home. The neighbourhood surrounding the hostel offers every service which may be needed during your stay including restaurants, pizzerias, open air market, supermarket, launderette, internet caf., bars, pubs and all are at reasonable prices for the budget traveler. Have a great time in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cressy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cressy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing