We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were else would you want to stay in Rome?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #396 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel had everything you would want from your stay in Rome.
My wife along with my son have just returned from a week at this hotel,
every member of staff were so helpful to make our stay truly memorable, as others have commented the pool is fantastic and looked after by a great attendant, the breakfast catered for every taste and set us up for the day with a selection that we looked forward to every morning.
The air conditioning worked well and ensured a good nights sleep in a very hot Rome.
Walking down the steps to the old part of Rome, Trastevere was always interesting with great views of the city at all times of the day and evening, here we found numerous places to eat and drink near the square.
The owners and management of the hotel deserve full credit for making our stay so memorable and we applaud all the staff who are a work so hard and go out of their way to help, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Gordon M,

Thank you for your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor and we appreciated that you chose to stay with Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and you found our staff helpful and they made your stay truly momorable.

I will share your feedback directly with the hotel management.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned from this Gem of a hotel ...Stayed with friends from New York and London ..All of us used to 5 star hotels across the world ....This hotel did not disappoint ....Heavenly Pool , Lovely clean rooms , gorgeous friendly hotel staff , lovely Breakfast , great selection of resonably priced wines and fab location to centre of Rome .....An oasis in a very hot and sticky Rome ..thank you ... Will return ....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Lindsay154995,

thank you very much for nice words about our hotel and we are very glad that we have met your expectations.
We are very happy that Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo comparing with 5 star hotels. For us it is very important, because this tells us that we provide quality service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you again for lovely words.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I went to this hotel having read some good reviews. I'd urge you to spare yourself the pain I went through - - the good, the pool is great - no doubt - it's rare in Rome and this one is nice, deep, clean and with a place to get food next to it. The bad - - the place is dumpy - our room had a squeaky bed, squeaky AC (literally you could not sleep with the sound on) and they couldn't or wouldn't even try to repair it - it needed oil on the fan - though they promised it would be fixed; the showers are SO small that you cannot wash your back - you can't have room to move your arm around your back - I kid you not; and the location is on a mountain so to get to the nice restaurant area on Trastevere you need to hike down a mountain (then up the way back). I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-NJ-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear A-NJ-NY,

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you had while staying with us. We are very sorry that your stay at the Grand Hotel Del Ginicolo did not meet your expectations. Contribution is very important for us to improve services at the hotel.
We will do our very best to resolve the issues that you brought to our attention. We would like to inform you that the showers are standard for italian 4 star hotels. We really appreciate that you liked our nice, deep, clean swimming pool area with a place to get food next to it. Yes, the hotel is located in a residential area of Rome, the second-tallest hill in Rome. The hotel is easily accessible both by public transport (in front of the hotel – the bus n.115 goes directly to Trastevere) and foot (10-15 minutes walk).
We would very much like to have a opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Best regards Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is in a wonderful area above Trastevere - make sure you take a stroll through the park for wondrous views of the city.
Undoubtedly the start of the show is the large, calm and fresh pool with perfectly acceptable cafe with reasonable food. Small numbers of locals take advantage of this Roman miracle and that's a good thing. Lovely roof top breakfast room. It does feel a bit dated inside but I enjoyed the green marble.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginaminasnooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Ginaminasnooks,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at the hotel and appreciated the hotel location, swimming area and roof garden with the breakfast room.

We hope we will have a pleasure to welcome you again!

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hmm, some good things and some bad things to say on this hotel. Yes, the swimming pool is excellent and the vicinity of Trastevere with its atmosphere and restaurants is a big asset. But there's something akward about the hotel. The rooms are small for the price you pay. And the management seems slow witted and inflexible. The wifi system dates from Roman times. The breakfast lacks any fantasy and consequently never changes. And for some mysterious reason you can only swim if you have a small cap on your head, which is entirely symbolic and has nothing to do with hygiene. If you don't need the pool, go somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeorgeMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear GeorgeMulder,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you liked our swimming pool and the hotel location. The hotel has standard rooms for double rooms and triple rooms. According to us, breakfast is very good (everyday all home made cakes prepared by our chef) and our international clients appreciated it (see our last review TripAdvisor). The management are always available to clients whenever they want to ask for - 24 hours a day. We would like to inform you that many hotels in Italy, not only our, require that all swimmers (male and female) wear a swim cap. Our pool is excellent because there aren’t wad of hair, every day is clean with the special natural products.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel in July/August 2012. It was a very comfortable stay and the service was very good; particularly by the pool attendant who is extremely attentive and is friendly to the guests maintaining a pleasant, quiet and relaxing atmosphere around the pool. The food on the pool menu was very tasty, as was that ordered through room service. Could be difficult to get the attention of the breakfast staff to request drinks.
Although it does have busy roads around it, the windows did a great job in sound proofing the room we were in. The location is great, with spectacular views of Rome just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Would prefer to have a room with a bath after lots of walking around Rome, but booked late and staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 298Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear 298Tracey,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you liked our swimming pool area and the food on the pool menu which is prepared by our chef. Thank you for your kind comments and special mention about our hotel staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I found all the staff kind, courteous and very helpful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. I was sad to leave as I felt as if I was leaving behind friends. Having a pool was so nice in the heat of Rome in late July and the air conditioning in the room worked very well. The location was great.a lot quieter than most hotels in Rome and as a solo traveller I felt safe. I will return and this would be the only hotel I would stay at in Rome. There were also young families and the hotel seemed to accommodate their needs very well....all in all, a very happy week.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larajay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Larajay9,

Thank you for your fantastic comments and we appreciated that you chose to stay with Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and you found our staff kind, helpful and courteous. I will share your feedback directly with the hotel team.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#274 of 1,271 in Rome
980 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rose Garden Palace
Rose Garden Palace
#80 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#307 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $138 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing