We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #406 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely week in Rome at grand hotel del Gianicolo. Arrived on the 9th of sept. The hotel is on top of a hill so a lovely view at breakfast as that is on the 4th floor. The food at breakfast was lovely. The hotel had a great pool for a good chill day. As there is a lot of walking to be done. As I said the hotel is on a hill to get back you either have some good hills to walk up or a lot of steps. We got a taxi back a few time price wasn't to bad.
The only downfall for this hotel is that they have privet party's on a Friday Saturday and Sunday. We was on the first floor, the party was on the 4th. The music was so loud and could not sleep with the sound. Just so glad we wasn't on the 3rd floor. But other than that the staff were fantastic. Wouldn't definitely come back and stay here as it is in a very good location. Had a great week

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Don't stay in the 'old centre' when visiting Rome. Stay in the local areas. This hotel is a beauty. Great pool and great positioned. You can travel to the old city in no time and have a great view over the city from the park close by. The hotel itself is very comfortabele. Nice breakfast area with views and proper rooms.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms need updating. There is a beautiful view of Vatican City. There is a nice pool area with a bar and snack area. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is good because there weren't any restaurants within walking distance. I caution anyone that visits Rome to be aware of the taxi fare gougers. Always request a taxi from the hotel concierge or use the my taxi app.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We recently stayed in this hotel as we were in Rome for our wedding. Upon arrival we received a bottle of prosecco as a celebration for our upcoming wedding day which I thought was a lovely touch by the hotel. The pool was a lovely treat at the end of a day of site seeing and the poolside catering was great.
The breakfast area is located on the fourth floor which provided amazing views of Rome. The decor is a little dated but I think this adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in their saver room. It was tiny but clean and did the job. Very old fashioned hotel. Electrics flickered a lot, shower went from freezing to boiling on it's own accord and the AC was awful. However the pool was a nice touch and all the grounds were lovely. We didn't eat here but had a few drinks. It was 5Euro for a bottle of beer so not cheap but then Rome isn't. Location wise it was about a 15 minute walk up and down a massive hill to Trastevere main square with lots going on there.
I wouldn't stay again due to location and it's not our preferred style of hotel but it's a perfectly adequate choice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vwadlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The men at the desk are rude. The pool is green and you can't see the bottom. Wifi hardly works. The bathtub tub leaks so the floor floods when showering. The bathroom door locked me in. The air conditioner didn't work. Water was shut off in the morning with no explanation. Lastly the location was inconvenient. The cabs they called for us ripped us off. They also have late night parties at the pool.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool because of the parties. 3rd floor is noisy and less ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Risla163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We decided on this hotel for its location and pool as it's very hot in Italy during August. It's a very clean and tidy place with a great breakfast clean pool quite rooms . The location is good if you like to walk though and particularly uphill! If you investigate Trastevere you'll need to be a good stair/hill climber not for the less fit amongst us. My tip would be to eat next door at Antico arco it's amazing and will save your legs! Not that much more cost wise compared to hotel prices and portions.
There was not much open nearby in august so be prepared to bus ride into Rome for Only €1:50 it's a bargain. Helpful staff and lovely place to stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#279 of 1,271 in Rome
980 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rose Garden Palace
Rose Garden Palace
#80 of 1,271 in Rome
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
857 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#312 of 1,271 in Rome
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing