We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
141
213
92
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
213
92
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat poolbreakfast roomswimming poolgreen marblepool attendanttrastevere restaurantstop floorcentre of romemarble floorslovely hotelminute walkbit datedcost eurosthe air conditioningrooms are smallcold meatspastries
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 521 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely week in Rome at grand hotel del Gianicolo. Arrived on the 9th of sept. The hotel is on top of a hill so a lovely view at breakfast as that is on the 4th floor. The food at breakfast was lovely. The hotel had a great pool for a good chill day. As there is a lot of walking to be done. As I said the hotel is on a hill to get back you either have some good hills to walk up or a lot of steps. We got a taxi back a few time price wasn't to bad.
The only downfall for this hotel is that they have privet party's on a Friday Saturday and Sunday. We was on the first floor, the party was on the 4th. The music was so loud and could not sleep with the sound. Just so glad we wasn't on the 3rd floor. But other than that the staff were fantastic. Wouldn't definitely come back and stay here as it is in a very good location. Had a great week

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Don't stay in the 'old centre' when visiting Rome. Stay in the local areas. This hotel is a beauty. Great pool and great positioned. You can travel to the old city in no time and have a great view over the city from the park close by. The hotel itself is very comfortabele. Nice breakfast area with views and proper rooms.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

The hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms need updating. There is a beautiful view of Vatican City. There is a nice pool area with a bar and snack area. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is good because there weren't any restaurants within walking distance. I caution anyone that visits Rome to be aware of the taxi fare gougers. Always request a taxi from the hotel concierge or use the my taxi app.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We recently stayed in this hotel as we were in Rome for our wedding. Upon arrival we received a bottle of prosecco as a celebration for our upcoming wedding day which I thought was a lovely touch by the hotel. The pool was a lovely treat at the end of a day of site seeing and the poolside catering was great.
The breakfast area is located on the fourth floor which provided amazing views of Rome. The decor is a little dated but I think this adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in their saver room. It was tiny but clean and did the job. Very old fashioned hotel. Electrics flickered a lot, shower went from freezing to boiling on it's own accord and the AC was awful. However the pool was a nice touch and all the grounds were lovely. We didn't eat here but had a few drinks. It was 5Euro for a bottle of beer so not cheap but then Rome isn't. Location wise it was about a 15 minute walk up and down a massive hill to Trastevere main square with lots going on there.
I wouldn't stay again due to location and it's not our preferred style of hotel but it's a perfectly adequate choice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vwadlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews