We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lussemburgo: A Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Lussemburgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lussemburgo
Ranked #609 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Lussemburgo: A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

If you are looking for a special little hotel to stay when in Rome I choose the Hotel Lussemburgo every time. The big part of its unique charm lies in the fact that it is a family run Hotel. Run by owners; Carlo, Lucia, their son Massimiliano, and daughter Margareta. They are very professional and work hard to make sure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Other hotels may offer better locations and more amenities, but the service and warmth of the staff creates an atmosphere that will leave you feeling at the end of your stay as if you are a member of the family. For example: When my friend became ill, Lucia brought her some juice and bread to her room which helped her a great deal. Its very difficult to get personal attention like that in bigger hotels.
Along with a great staff the hotels location is within walking distance to the train station, shopping areas, tourist sites, and many wonderful restaurants that feature typical Roman cuisine.
I have been to Rome many times and I will not even consider another hotel. Hotel Lussemburgo really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    81
    29
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
98
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We liked the hotel very much because the location is a walking distance to Santa Maggiore and centre (10-15 min), econimical price, good for value, rooms small but neat and tidy with private shower facilities, TV inside the room, most amicable staff and very helpful. Excellent breakfasts. My friend and I would definately recommend it for tourists. We felt like home here and are going to choose this hotel during our next visit.
Elena and Natalie from Riga

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_tubelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Stayed for 5 Nights in March 2010. It was brilliant. The owners and an elderly Italian couple and they are extremely friendly. I arrived late at night and straight away was offered something to eat and drink before being shown to my room a couple of floors up. Next day i was given breakfast which i found quite decent and the owner gave me a map of Rome and highlighted places he recommended i visit. Be warned that the owners do not speak English so be ready to make a lot of hand gestures and point at words. I would definitely recommend this place. So great!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Don't stay here. Please. Just don't.
Even if you think you've searched for another cheap, central option in Rome and come up with nothing, I urge you to look again because I can guarantee you that this is the most miserable, disappointing hotel you'll ever have had the misfortune to shell out for. Just a few of the pleasures you can look forward to are a breakfast of stale 'croissants' and radioactive looking 'fruit juice', and the luxury of being woken up nice and early by the elderly owner literally shouting greetings to her guests in lively Italian. Welcome to your relaxing stay in Rome. The only good thing I have to say about it was that the rooms were clean and the owner's son? grandson? was helpful.
The main issue I have is that, for 90 euro a night, I expected at least hot water and the double bed that we had booked. We got neither. At the very least I wouldn't have anticipated the raging rant that we were subject to from the owner when we complained at the lack of hot water and suggested a reduction in our rate. Apparently we were the first people to complain since 1976. The more fools the rest of you, is all I can say.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank siamog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The location was very ideal for me since it was close to some of the major attractions and easily accessible. The service at the hotel was good, room was clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. The fact that they did not speak much English prevented much discussion but they went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. Breakfast was sparse and I couldn't access the wifi connection but there are a number of internet cafes and places to eat close to the hotel that one can use. The hotel is good value for the amount they charge so don't expect any luxury or trimmings. This is just basic accommodation and it suited me fine as I spent my time sight seeing and not sleeping in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

the lady refuses to talk english; very basic rooms and breakfast; not friendly

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — personnel; staff
  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We traveled to Italy last November 2009. After a research here, I chose Lussemburgo for our stay in Rome. The best thing of this hotel is the owner called Lucia. She is very much lovable, gentle and worried about our needs. Everytime she tried to help in spite of not speaking English. Signora Lucia, we miss you very much, we had a real nice stay at your hotel. Unfortunately, we were stolen inside the Alta Velocità. I remember that day when you warned about the suitcases, when we were leaving to the station. A pickpocket took my wallet...Anyway, grazie mille!

Roberto and Débora (Brasile)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Porta Pia Hotel
#506 of 1,259 in Rome
53 reviews
Kent Hotel Rome
#472 of 1,259 in Rome
261 reviews
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#402 of 1,259 in Rome
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#726 of 1,259 in Rome
349 reviews
San Lorenzo
Vibel Hotel
Vibel Hotel
#602 of 1,259 in Rome
15 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lussemburgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lussemburgo

Property: Hotel Lussemburgo
Address: Via Bixio 70, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lussemburgo 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lussemburgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lussemburgo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing