We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent and convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Louisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louisiana
Ranked #517 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“decent and convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

An old-fashioned elevator takes you to the first floor, where the reception is located. There we met a kind and helpful guy who gave us a free map of Rome. Our room was on the 5th floor, although small, comfortable enough. There was a twin bed and private bathroom, a TV set and a decent bathroom. The disadvantages of the room were: the absence of balcony and refridgerator and the walls were thin so we could hear voices from the other rooms and the lobby. Generally, we were satisfied as the room was clean and spacious. Breakfast is served in a small area with only a few tables. The coffee machine made an iritatiting noice like a tractor. There was not much variety, nothing special overall. Something also good was that we were not asked to pay in advance and also the reception is open all night. The hotel is covenienlty located about 5 minutes away from Repubblica metro station. We would recommend this hotel as a cheap but decent option for independent travelers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathcliff_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    99
    59
    20
    16
See reviews for
52
107
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Very nice hotel, within walking distance of most of the main sites. Breakfast was a little bit disappointing but it did fill us up. We are happy with our choice and we feel we did get our moneys worth. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_ry_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We where met by a room that felt like a sauna of air freshener, and a receptionist that had no idea of how to turn off the central heating..."it turns off automatically at 23.00"...a bit late for a good night sleep when you are not able to open the window in 1.floor directly facing the street!! I guess they used the air freshener to cover up the fact that all their rooms where smoking rooms, which was not mentioned in our booking site. To be honest the hotel did not really pick up after that! It is a 1 star hotel, and do not expect anything else! If you are in the habit of enjoying hot showers I hardly recommend to be out of bed before 8 in the morning, or you have to wait until 14.00. And the happily we spotted the bloodstains on our bed cover the first night. They say they have wireless internet connection, but that does not work!! As mentioned, not a hotel worth visiting, you can find better hotels in the same street for almost the same price!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laikatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Louisiana for three nights over the weekend in Rome. It was a decent part of town and a convenient location to walk from the train (less than a kilometer). The reception desk was upstairs, which is strange and not perfectly labelled, but there is an elevator to haul luggage up. The hotel staff was adequately helpful, though I wouldn't give them any service awards. The room was clean enough, though the furniture was cheap and seemed easily breakable. There were scuff marks on the walls, which could be easily spruced up with some paint. The bathroom was big enough, though the shower head was old and leaky and the accordion doors didn't want to stay closed. The water temperature fluctuated quite a bit and the shower stall was quite small...smaller than other European hotels we've stayed. There was wifi available in the common area only, and was a little finicky to connect, but usually did so after some waiting. There was an outdoor area in the center of the building which was nice for sitting and relaxing in the evening and checking email, but smokers and mosquitos did hinder our enjoyment. The included breakfast was pretty light compared to other hotels, but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

The hotel is quite central, situated about 5 min from the subway line station. Even if we were shoched when we first saw the building (I checked the adress to be sure), the interior wasn't that bad. The building holds more hotels, our reception was at fist flour and our room at 4th flour. The floor and the rooms were renovated and looked nice and clean, bath was large enough. What I disliked was the fact that the wireless was working only at the first flour, but even if I managed to get a poor connection, at this floor I didn't have network for the telephone! So in fact I did not have any wireless working! Another bad thing was the breakfast - very poor and only sweet, cold things - cold croissants, jam, honey, butter, cereals with cold milk, bad cofee and juice- I hated it from the first day and hated it more every day. It would be nice to have more diversity and not only sweet things! The staff was ok, some more kind than others. Overall, it's a good hotel for a limited budget, cause Rome is quite an expensive city!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonecika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

It's basic but good value for money. It easy distance to main metro stations as Termini or Plazza Republica. We found a small difficulties at finding the hotel as there are few hotels in one building. Staff is nice (if it could be said about any Roman;) in general they are arrogant and rude. The room was nice and clean, pretty big. The only thing I hated was a shower. The size was similar as a matches box. Standard continental breakfast, not many to choice. Anyway I would recommended this base for a sightseeing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewaczek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights there. The hotel is a little bit far from the public transport. You have to walk 15 minutes to the nearst metro station (Plazza Republica or Termini). Our room is on the 1st floor. It's clear and not to small. But the bathroom is tiny :-(. You can only take a shower with very hot or very cold water.
The staff is friendly. There are some restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#248 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#719 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#744 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Albergo Piave
Albergo Piave
#442 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#727 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisiana

Property: Hotel Louisiana
Address: Via Flavia 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louisiana 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Louisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing