We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best camping ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Tiber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camping Tiber
Ranked #109 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
“One of the best camping ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent there two nights in a tent in June 2011. We arrived past midnight and there was a very helpful guy at the reception. We could chose whatever spot we liked. The camping is like an international village: people from all over the world (especially USA) come to enjoy the Italian capital city. Bathrooms are huge, very clean and look new and there is always music. Excellent location: free bus (quite frequent) brings you to a train station where in 20 minutes you reach the Rome city centre (I believe train is 1 €). Then you can get lost in the City - the best city I have ever been. We spent 30 € a night - a bit pricey for a camping but it is what you pay to be so close to Rome (checked all other campings and prices are pretty much all the same)

Definitely go there, anyhow you will not stay in the camping long with such a city to visit....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTraveller8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    79
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
55
82
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Before embarking on our travels around italy, my partner and i researched review after review and after much consideration booked this place. We were pretty disapointed with the experience due to a number of reasons:
1. if your not staying in a tent and have your own car then the camp is really far out of the city which is a drag when you are lugging rucksakes about
2. the surrounding area was unappealing due to the fact it was pretty run down and we could not find anywhere nice to eat round about. one night we ventered out of the campsite into rome in search of a good italian meal. however due to the distance fro city and juggling of train times we missed the last train. eventually we managed to find a bus that took us near by then we had to walk the rest. we did not feel at ease due to the number of groups of dodgy people wndering about.
3. the cabin type thing we stayed in was extremely damp, leaving our clothes stinking. freezing during the night but sweltering during the day. paper thin walls we could hear EVERYTHING the people next door and out side done.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This place is cheap for Rome. It takes about 1hour to get to termini station but the journey is cheap and easy. The park is ok. This is the 2nd time we've stayed there and both times the beds have been either broken or past their best, being very uncomfortable. This year we were kept awake every night until at least midnight with noise from the bar. On the final night we went out to complain at 0100, as we had an airport transfer booker for 0415 to find it was the park staff partying. Even after asking them to be quiet the noise continued...I don't think I'll be staying there again!

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy_why
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We were worried about the travelling to the city center, but it was OK. We stayed in a small mobilehome and only problem was, that the windows cannot be locked, so it is a little bit unsafe. We tried also pool and local restaurant and both of these things were very good, prices in the shop were also OK. If I return back to Rome, I will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The reception were friendly especially Alex, very helpful. Collect a map from reception and ask what time the shuttle bus is to the train station. He pointed out on the map the main places to see in Rome. If you want to leave earlier than the first shuttle bus which is 8am it takes about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the station. We did that because we wanted to avoid the queues for the Vatican museum we arrived 40 mins before opening and there still were aobut 1000 people ahead of us. We did not realise that when tourists arrive they do by the coach load. Good news only waited 20 mins once the doors opened.

The pool was ok but felt warm when you got in.

The shower facilities at least in the middle block (near area B) are lovely, so clean! It looked brand new, I am not sure about the other blocks though. From memory what I did not like about the design of these shower blocks are that the wash basins are located in a room next door to the toilets. The cubicles are large with a seat so you have plenty of space to store your things and you know your clothes are not going to get wet.
There is a wifi area in the toilet block as well if you purchase wifi which is very reasonable only 4 euro for 24 hours. Internet is free in the restaurant but there are only 3 workstations available.

There was engineering works and our station was closed Prima Porta,so you had to catch a bus, then a train to Flaminio, then the metro. So the trip is longer than usual.
Transport only cost 1 euro to take the train into Rome, which included the train, metro and buses and are valid for 90 mins once validated.

We did not try the food at the restaurant, but it is really cool inside the restaurant, Rome in August is really hot. The gelato is quite nice but the size of the serving was really small. The bar staff were friendly.

The pitch sizes were really great we had two large tents and we really liked the shower facilities, it was probably the second best out shower facilities out of the 10 campsites we visited. Overall a nice place stay we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charzi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hi there. And I went back to Campint Tiber for the third time! Being from South Africa and to go back to the same place so often must mean something.
The bar / restaurant definitely offers good value and the atmosphere is wonderful!! I must mention, though, that some of the bungalows do have worn out mattresses and yes, some of the windows don't work well.
Camping Tiber - you must really do something about the shower water pressure and mixing - brrr it is not pleasant when the water doesn't mix well.
And overall - will I return? YES,YES,YES!!!!! I'm busy checking flight availability for summer 2012. See you there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just returned back from a week at Tiber camp site in Rome. Lads holiday, mixing culture and pool side laughs. All was well until day 2, when our cabin, and that of several other guests, were broken into. I had my wallet stolen along with my friends ipod and phone. Other campers lost similar items. The thieves were able to enter through a cabin window, which did not actually close properly. Therefore, we may as well have left the door wide open. Of course this pretty much condemmed the week, but we battled on. To be fair, the restruant on site, is not too bad. However, one night I ordered a pizza- which was rubbish! soggy, and undercooked. not great for an Italien restraunt in Rome! Howevr, this was not the main issue. When I complained to the waiting staff, her reaction was, and I quote, "well you ordered it. It is not my fault if you do not like it". This was a shocking response, which really annoyed me, considering me and my 7 friends had spent A LOT of money in the restraunt and bar! not good enough. To top it all off, on our final evening, we were insulted by the security man in the bar, because we were apparantly making too much noise, despite the fact that we were outside, in a very large group, including other campers from around the world. Again, rudeness. This is what lets the place down. Shabby, lazy, mardy staff, who clearly hate their job and all of the campers. If you are going to Tiber, make sure you check that your windows are locked and be very choosy about your choice of pizza, because to quote once more..."some are good and some are bad" hmmm. I'd leave it. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staffs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
16.0 km away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#505 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
17.5 km away
Residence Santa Rosa
Residence Santa Rosa
#1,114 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
10.7 km away
Camping Village Fabulous
Camping Village Fabulous
#17 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Happy Village & Camping
Happy Village & Camping
#702 of 1,088 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.3 km away
Camping Village Roma
Camping Village Roma
#46 of 1,088 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
17.4 km away
Seven Hills Camping Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Tiber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Tiber

Property: Camping Tiber
Address: Via Tiberina Km 1,400, 00188 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Camping Tiber 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Tiber lies on a green spot just 20 minutes outside Rome, easy accesable with a metropolitain train form Prima Porta train station: With different kind of accomodation (mobile homes with kitchen, twin bedrooms, tent house for 6 people and of course the campsite) Camping Tiber allows a confortable stay for many type of requests and kind of pockets! Multilaguages Receptionists will be available for 08.00 till 22.00, and a night guardian will welcome you if you arrive later. Service at your disposal: - Mini Market from 07h30 to 10h30 & from 17h00 to 20h30 - Restaurant-Pizzeria open for breakfast 07h30 to 11h00 and for dinner from 18h30 to 23h00 - Terrace Bar runs from 07h30 til midnihgt no stop - Swimming pool from 10h00 till 19h00 A shuttle-bus runs from the camping to Vatican Museums 5,00 euros return tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda, PitchUp, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Tiber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Tiber Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing