We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legend covers all your bases (location, price and food)”
Review of Legends Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Legends Hostel
Ranked #222 of 1,206 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Legend Hostel has good transport links as it is only 5 minutes away from Termini station (Coach, Metro and direct train to Fiumicino Airport). This hostel is particularly cheap during the Winter season (only 27 euros for two nights).

The rooms are reasonably spacious fitted with a bunk bed (firm mattress), cupboard, large mirror and a table. This particularly convenient if you are travelling with a friend.

There is only one bathroom per floor, a broken showerhead, and the temperature setting that goes from extremely hot to ice-cold makes everyone a bit grumpy in the morning. The reception staff at times appeared to be indifferent and cold (but some of them were very friendly).

Positive features:
24 Hour Reception
Free breakfast from 8-10am
Free Map at reception and Free Wifi
Check out the Yellow pub (only 10mins away) if you want to go clubbing/have a relaxed drink or even meet other travellers.
Very close to cheap supermarket

Overall I'd recommend this hostel - good transport links, clean rooms, cheap accommodation and free breakfast! What more do you need?!

Room Tip: 1st floor is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoHasan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Clean, reception 24hr, good kitchen facilities & easy walk to Roma Termini.
Our shower often ran out of hot water and had inconsistent pressure.
Not the place to go if you're looking to socialise and meet new people. P.s the pizza nights are a lie.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank KezAus91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Hard to find, no sign.
Small elevator
Entry requires reception to let you in, which means if they're not there / went to pee, you ll be waiting outside.
They throw away things you left in bathroom.

Bed is fine, cozy.
Toilet is not bad.
Foosball is free.
Close to Roma termini
Nearby got supermarket

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank LennyE93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Placed conveniently near the Termini train station, Legends is a cozy hostel with extremely helpful and friendly staff, all of whom speak English well. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the sheets are changed regularly and every bed has its own electricity socket. I enjoyed my stay there and I would definitely choose it again for my next visit. My only problem with the place (or rather, the room) was a nearby restaurant which was quite noisy in the evenings, but the disturbance never lasted into the night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I stayed at Legends Hostel for three nights and it was okay, with some issues. I had to switch rooms every day and the first two rooms were smelling like sausage... At first I thought someone ate sausages there, but then I realized it came from the air condicioning... The Dutch receptionist was very kind and recommended me a great restaurant. I even met her there later, which showed me it was an honest indication! The croissants at breakfast were very tasty as well.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank ceciliamstalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This hostel is very simple but some of my friends stayed at another hostel and it was terrible, so i think this one must be preety nice for roman hostels. It's facilities are not new and you can tell, but it was okay.

It is preety clean, the staff is nice and polite, but the breakfast was a little too simple...

Room Tip: Close to train station :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HH_happinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

But of an outraged review sorry folks! Decided to change my ways and review anywhere I remembered particularly well. I stayed here 4 nights in October 2011. Nice hostel. Best bathroom of any hostel I've been to- still. 1 ensuite bathroom for 4 girl dorm. Clean, hot water and shelving unit so able to partially unpack- little luxury. Super friendly staff. Any time I stayed out late the staff on duty seemed to tell the next person on shift to look out for me so I felt super safe. Big locker area. My room was next to the door and hallway so was noisy with people coming back all night 24hr reception) but I'm a very light sleeper, I'm sure this wouldn't be a problem for most. I changed to a bed away from the wall and was fine.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#177 of 1,206 in Rome
278 reviews
Legend R. G.
Legend R. G.
#773 of 1,206 in Rome
31 reviews
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Yellow
The Yellow
#51 of 1,206 in Rome
1,166 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rome City Hostel
Rome City Hostel
#322 of 1,206 in Rome
59 reviews
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#73 of 1,206 in Rome
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Hostel

Address: Via Gaeta 64, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Alessandro Legends)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,206 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $39 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legends Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Hostel (formerly known as Alessandro Legends), has become an independent hostel after recent renovations with new administration. The hostel is ideal for families and those who prefer cozy and tranquil lodgings as it is in a quiet location. The Legends Hostel is geared primarily towards private accommodations and smaller dorm rooms, either with shared or en-suite bathrooms. Our international atmosphere and English speaking staff help make us a true backpacker's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legends Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing